We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just had a fantastic stay (again) at GHH; where Manja, Duncan, Pawel and all of the staff are extremely friendly and could not be more helpful if they tried. We had a lovely night in the exquisite four poster room which is full of character. When we arrived in the room there was a lovely note welcoming us back, which my husband and I loved for the personal touch. It is this attention to detail that make you feel so welcome and makes Glenfinnan House stand out from the rest.
When eating our meal at the window seat looking out over the lawn, Loch and Monument a stag appeared and grazed on the lawn, followed by another 3 stags. Where else can you see this? It made the evening all the more special. Duncan, as always, had a fantastic menu on offer. Our meals were presented and cooked to perfection with incredible bursts of fresh flavours.
Looking forward to going up this week for a meal and day out in this wonderfully relaxing location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much and this is what we like to provide a 'Home from Home' . See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just had a 1 night stay and loved every minute. All the staff were very friendly and made our visit very pleasant. The house itself was full of charm, each room having loads of character. The menu was mouth watering and we can certainly recommend the very moreish sticky toffee pudding. The surroundings/views were stunning and certainly worth sampling. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We actually came to the hotel to check out the cruise on the loch, but as it was not running that day, we decided to stay for a leisurely Sunday lunch instead. However, as there's not a separate review section for the restaurant at this hotel, I'm adding it here.
The service, from the friendly barman/waiter was good, without being obtrusive and the menu offered an interesting variety, to cater for many tastes.
On the menu there is a note about the food being freshly prepared and not 'fast', but not only do we appreciate that approach, with a view of the loch and the Glenfinnan monument, it was a wait we enjoyed.
The meal was certainly worth the wait.
My husband enjoyed the chicken, which was delicately infused with flavour throughout, (well, I had to taste some, it was so good!), and as a chef himself, he can be rather critical when we're eating out. The accompanying salad was full of fresh tomatoes, (had a single piece of sun-dried tomato at another place in a so-called 'salad' recently!), and the sautéed potatoes were crispy on the outside and not at all oily.
I had the grilled venison sausage, with onion gravy, (real onion), though requested sautéed potatoes instead of creamed ones and green beans, (which were listed on another dish), as I don't like mushrooms, which the sausage dish originally came with. I appreciated the willingness with which these changes were made, as well as the meal itself.
The sausage was subtly flavoured, not over-powering, and the good serving of beans was perfectly cooked.
I finished the meal with a beautifully cooked sticky toffee pudding - another hearty serve - in butterscotch sauce with quality ice cream accompaniment.
A very good lunch, in a lovely quiet setting - what Sundays out are all about!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hoe to welcome you back another time and hopefully the cruise will be running then as it is well worth it. Our separate review for food is under Glenfinnan House Hotel Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've just had a 2 night stay at glenfinnan as part of a tour of the highlands. If the other hotels are as good as this one we are in for a treat. Lots of characters and history and a location to die for. We moved rooms between nights. A loch view was unforgettable on the first night but even though relegated to a side view on the second night the room in many respects was better so no complaints. Very friendly and attentive staff make this a welcoming place to stay. Gorgeous views and such a quiet location. Not being fans we were pleasantly surprised to find harry potters train passing over the nearby viaduct twice daily. I would definitely recommend the loch shiel cruises just a short walk along the loch. It rained throughout our trip but couldn't dampen our enjoyment of a leisurely 2 hour cruise. Traditional Scottish music filled the bar on Thursday and added to the unique experience. We even managed to find a route to jog along - turn towards the monument path but bear left and you will come out on the forestry commission road on the opposite side of the loch. Shall we return - definitely

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wensday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The setting is a knockout and the people are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with a traditional scottish breakfast as well as fresh fruit, etc...something for everyone. The house itself is very charming and the rooms are well equipped. This is not a motel/hotel with your own AC controls and TV. It is a place to enjoy conversation and the beautiful Highlands. We loved it! Word of warning. There are midges, tiny biting insects, in the Highlands. Bring some sort of repellent. If you forget, they sell some at the hotel. Follow Duncan's advice and keep the lights off at night when you open your windows! It's a great place to stay if you are taking the Jacobite Steam train, just 20 minutes from Ft. William. The night we arrived there were musicians playing in the bar which made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Glenfinnan House Hotel is an old country manor house converted into a hotel. It has a pretty setting on a freshwater Loch at the site of the Glenfinnan Monument (Bonny Prince Charlie's return from France to unite with the Jacobites) with the famous Glenfinnan viaduct only a couple mile hike away. The house has character with wood paneled walls, crown moldings and antique furniture. The sleeping rooms look slightly tired. The restaurant and bar serves up a very good meal which is good because you are a little ways away from other places to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Wonderful traditional music session on Thursday night's, excellent bar meals, friendly and efficient, and a most beautiful country style house in magnificent grounds right by the loch. Definitely a place to make for! Idyllic!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
305 reviews
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
161 reviews
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
354 reviews
13.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: £65 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing