We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Innseagan House Hotel(Fort William)
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
322
95
18
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
95
18
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch shiellog firebonnie prince charliejacobite suitedining roomfront lawnstunning locationantique furnitureentrance halldrawing roomben nevishunting lodgefour posterspa bathscottish experiencesteam trainscottish hotel
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Glenfinnan House Hotel for 2 days and found it an absolutely fantastic place to stay. We enjoyed sunny days and warm nights and this good weather may have contributed to our thoughts on this hotel, but not so much. Situated beside Loch Shiel and a short distant from the Glenfinnan monument this hotel is considerably better than excellent. The main lawn leading down to the lake had deer grazing on it when we arrived and walking into the high entrance porch you are greeted with reminders of the origins of this building - for the privledged few in a time when life for most was much harder. Enter the entrance hall with its huge fireplace and magnificent staircase and you are greeted as though you are the owner of such a grand building. Our bedroom - the size of a tennis court (or so it seemed) looked over the loch and the hills towards Ben Nevis. The bathroom was bigger than most peoples lounges with efficient plumbing. Dinner was in keeping with the building with almost faultless cooking that should warrant a one Michelin star - the ambiance of the restaurant was enhanced by a large window overlooking the lake and joy of joys a reasonably priced wine list. The bar here - also used by the 'locals' - stocks far more different whiskeys than anyone could sample not only in two night but in a week.
In summary a quite, enchanting, hotel oozing with charm that is close to being the definitive Country House Hotel. Will I return - absolutely yes (just hope they find a room for me!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Book a room with a view - its worth it! The trees, the jumping fish, the stars on a clear night - all add up to a relaxing holiday. The real fire to sit next to and read away the late afternoon before dinner was a real treat.

Ths staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was so comfortable. The only shock in a morning was when the shower stopped, or tunred cold, but once you learnt how to handle it it was part of the charm!

This was our second time here, and it won't be our last!

Room Tip: One with view of the loch is a must!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen-affric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have now changed the bathroom in Room 3 and the water supply so those surprises should be a thing of the past.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for three days with some friends and we all had a really good time. The staff were friendly and very efficient, the food and choice was excellent. Very welcoming with nice log fires.Will certainly visit again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank nearLeekMolax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were in Arisaig on holiday,, and decided to visit Glenfinnan House on the advice of David the owner of the Cnoc na Faire,,, it was well worth the round trip of 40+ miles. The Glenfinnan is pure magic, from the aroma of wood as you walk through the entrance, to the sumptuous decor and furnishings. The bar area is do die for. If you imagine an old Scottish Hunting Lodge,,,this is it.The food we ordered was fantastic, freshly cooked and served with a smile, and tasted out of this world,,brilliant views over Loch Shiel and the Jacobite Monument,,, this has to be a must to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wabs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review and comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for my grandsons wedding food was good not the best I have ever had but it was very good ,staff were very friendly and nothing was any bother to them .I loved the log fire in the sitting room ,rooms were spotless and the views are spectacular .I am disabled and my room was upstairs which I found very I difficult .

    • Value
    • Service
Thank anne208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sadly we do not have any rooms on the ground floor or a lift which makes it difficult for people with walking difficulties.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews