We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school has something to it, but the food is disappointing (had oven chips?)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old school has something to it, but the food is disappointing (had oven chips?)”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Food was disappointing, they served oven chips with the meal !!!! Food is mediocre not great not bad.
Staff is maybe a bit scruffy, I like the old carpets, the real fire place always going, old furniture old doors and locks, lovely sleigh bed, beautiful views but it's run down and some bits are too modern -so mixed feelings. Be careful with the prices as they vary massively online, this is a £60 a night hotel charging significantly more

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rayno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We are taken all your comments into account. I can assure you that we certainly do not serve oven chips with our meals and all of our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy it as much as we would have hoped.
You were able to take advantage of a last minute booking offer which varies from our normal tariff but this is standard procedure in a lot of hotels.
We hope to welcome you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    85
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
91
209
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time and liked it very much (again)! The weather was stunning and the view from the hotel is great. Food is very good value for money and the bar is nice and cosy. Staff is friendly although some needed a bit more training as it was beginning of the season and they clearly were new to the team. Love the fireplaces and will definitely come back next year again! Very relaxed and comfortable stay in an ultimately relaxing environment. Simply love it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your comments. We are still training some of our staff and thank you very much for understanding. We hope to welcome you back another time at the Glenfinnan House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights this week. We ate in every night in the dining room as the food and service were so good. The windows open out to the lawns and the loch with the Glenfinnan Monument and mountains beyond. On the first night we had red deer wandering in front of the windows and strolling down to the loch to drink, as we ate our meal.
The hotel is such a welcoming place. There are huge log fires in all the public rooms and plenty of varied places to sit and relax in comfortable chairs.including a drawing room, complete with games, a broad hallway and welcoming bar. All the public rooms look to the loch.
Nearby are walks, the monument and famous viaduct-no steam trains yet but a wonderful site and there is a lovely easy walk up Glenfinnan. This is near Fort William, and even has a station, but feels far away from any hustle and bustle.
Thanks to all staff for a lovely few days. This is the best of Scotland and must give such a good impression to overseas visitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunaverty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Stunning Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,267 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was trying to work out just what The Glenfinnan House Hotel does so well to make it one of our favourite hotels that we have ever stayed in and then the word came to me......everything :-). They somehow manage to capture the historical atmosphere of days gone by combined with class but at the same time ensuring that there is a relaxed home from home feel to the hotel. We stayed in the Four Poster room and the views were simply stunning. The Glenfinnan Monument off to the left, Loch Sheil right in front and a snow capped Ben Nevis in the distance. The room had everything we required for a perfect stay and we loved the fact there wasn't a TV in the room to spoil the ambience (there is Wi-Fi though for those who need their gadget fix).
The staff were excellent from David (the resident artist) the barman to Fiona at reception and of course not forgetting the management team of Duncan and Manja. There is a really cosy rustic bar that is frequented by locals and visitors alike (and is also dog friendly) which as well as being the home to some great music nights it also has the same menu as the restaurant and every meal we have ever had here has been beautifully presented and just delicious.
Breakfast again didn't disappoint with a nice selection of cereal, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meat and pastries as well as a choice of cooked items. We both went for the full Scottish breakfast and it was great (though not surprising) that each item was of very good quality. I am running out of superlatives to describe our stay so I will end by just thanking the whole team at the Glenfinnan House Hotel for making our stay absolutely perfect and we will be sure to return real soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and nice comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just returned from our second stay here. This is a superb hotel, expertly run with great attention to detail. There are lots of things I could write about but I will just commend the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff, the open fire always blazing in the entrance hall, and particularly the cuisine - local produce prepared with flair and imagination, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Overall excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and the nice comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and hope it will be another one of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Planned a day kayaking on Loch Shiel on a glorious sunny March day. Had seen on Internet that Hotel is ok with using their car park as long as they're not busy. On arrival checked and friendly lady confirmed that was alright. After our trip we popped in and and a drink in the Hotel Bar, very friendly staff and fires stoked throughout hotel! Very atmospheric and full of history with stunning views over Loch with Ben Nevis in far distance. Lots of Awards displayed for food, child friendliness etc.
Next time we're in Scotland we'll look at treating ourselves for a night! Special offer in early season £40 pppn bed and breakfast :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RossMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcome you back another time. We usually have special offer for the opening week and throughout the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a lovely family stay at The Glenfinnan House Hotel last October half term. Our first visit to Scotland and the Hotel came on recommendation and it didn't disappoint. The Hotel is in its own grounds with stunning views over a Loch. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a good one. The rooms were lovely and warm and comfortable. The food was gorgeous, the loin of venison was amazing and so was the smoked salmon with poached eggs and chive sauce for breakfast. My 11 year old son almost became addicted to the black pudding at breakfast time!!! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesfamilyChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
871 reviews
13.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Property: Glenfinnan House Hotel
Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing