We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
US$316
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank Street Lodge(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
316
95
18
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
95
18
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch shiellog firebonnie prince charliejacobite suitedining roomfront lawnstunning locationantique furnitureentrance halldrawing roomben nevishunting lodgefour posterspa bathscottish experiencesteam trainscottish hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel, as soon as you step in, with the fireplace welcoming you, you know you're going to have the best of stays. It really feels like a home away from home. Very caring, attentive and friendly staff whether at reception, at the bar, or in the dining/breakfast room. Food is excellent, very well prepared and you can taste that it has been freshly prepared for you. The rooms are cosy, offer lovely views, character and all the old-times charm of a manor house.
We'll be back soon, and will bring friends who,I am sure will fall in love with this little gem of a Scottish country hotel! Thank you all for the great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlantic333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and we are very pleased to see how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Cant' understand why the people who stayed recently only gave 1 star,this was certainly not our experience, some people are never quite happy. As our second visit following our marriage there last year we yet again found all the staff very welcoming and the food up to Duncan's tremendous standard.Manja and the staff will go out there way to assist with anything you may find helpful, so review very unfair. We will certainly be back next May and look forward to the service of this atmospheric and wonderful hotel.

Richard and Jenny

Room Tip: Go for loch views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Jenny & Richard,
it is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again and it was great to see you all. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very worn and run down, the food was very over cooked and tasteless they choice for children was not any better chicken strips tasted strange so asked for pasta was so over cooked. Breakfast was ok need real coffee as the coffee was very weak ..starved of fresh veg in our time we stayed. Staff nice
stunning location with plenty of accommodation
Very unorganised

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would have mentioned your concerns during your stay we could have done something about the issues. If you wish to discuss this further you can contact me on availability@glenfinnanhouse.com. Once again let me apologise that you did not enjoy what the majority of our customers enjoy on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. A four poster room with amazing views of Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and a monument to Bonnie Prince Charlie. After a short walk to see the Church we returned for a drink in the garden. In the evening we had dinner in the bar (the same menu is available in the dining room). Excellent food. We had smoked salmon and pate for starters followed by delicous trout for me and slow cooked pork for hubby! The menu is extensive and there is also a "specials board". Breakfast was very good and have to say the bacon is to be recommended!! The rooms are decorated and furnished in country style. Open wood fire in the entrance hall, comfortable sitting room and dining room. No TV and no key for your bedroom door unless you request one! All very relaxed.
This is my second visit...the first being over 20 years ago!!! Won't be leaving the next so long.!!
Check the website....www.glenfinnanhouse.com

Room Tip: A room overlooking the loch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here on Sunday night as part of a group of 12 people. The location & facilities were outstanding & the food was restaurant-quality. It was my first visit here but I'm sure that it won't be my last. Thank you for your amazing hospitality!

Room Tip: No man-made swimming pool but there is an extremely large natural one immediately in front of the hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews