We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was hard to rate this one as I thought many things were great. But keeping in mind the rate is on the high end I did expect excellence but came away with "okay that was nice but not great". The area of Glenfinnan is so beautiful and the house hotel itself is both historical and mostly well taken care of. The wood burning fireplace in the lobby is a nice touch, the run down dining room not so much. I found it very odd we weren't given a key to our room but "if asked for could be provided-we don't have a problem". Well yes, nobody has a problem until there is a problem and then it's too late. The furniture in our room was beautiful and the view was outstanding. The overall decorations seemed somewhat thrown together or oddly placed and the bed linens while clean were fit for a cheaper chain and definitely a step down from the B&B from the night before. Dinner was excellent, and with meal, dessert and drinks high(about 75 pds) but I felt reasonable for the quality. Breakfast, included, was adequate. My shower was moldy with pink and black mold, I had to ask it to be cleaned which they did but I shouldn't have mold to begin with. All in all it was a nice stay/experience but one I wouldn't repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and I am sorry to hear that you found your stay 'just ok'. We work very hard to make everybody's stay with us very enjoyable. Over the past 12 years Duncan & I have redecorated all the rooms and public areas and the dining room is getting a 'fresh coat' this winter. Sadly we are not able to do everything at once even if we would like to. The key or no key policy was introduced by the owners when they first opened in the early 70's as we like to treat the hotel like a highland home and we do of course give guests the option. We don't have the facilities do our own laundry for the bedding and there are no options from the supplier on other linen. The B&B's are a lot smaller and can usually do their own laundry and choose their bedding. There is no excuse for the mould in the corner of the shower and I apologise for that and I have addressed the issue with our housekeeper.
I know this was a special weekend for you and I do hope that we can welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We would all like to thank Duncan, Manja and staff for making our daughter's wedding so special last Saturday. The food was superb and the service and attention from staff excellent. Rooms comfortable and location and facilities ensured a wonderful day was had by all. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your day with us. We look forward to seeing you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

All you would expect from a highland hotel, fabulous location on one of the most beautiful lochs in Scotland, really old inside with creaking wooden floors and stairs ( no lifts here), a room that is full of old furniture, and great Scottish fare. We had our evening meal there and thought the food was excellent although arrive early as some of the other guests seemed to be waiting rather a long time. The breakfast was top class and very filling. We chose the hotel however so we could walk to the Glenfinnan viaduct and the monument when the tour buses have gone home. It was great and there is a walk ( bit rough in parts) from the viaduct back to the station where we had super views over the loch. Only disappointment was confusion over being picked up from the train station so we got lost trying to walk to the hotel however they did make up by taking us up when we were leaving, so make sure you confirm pick up if coming by train.

Room Tip: you do not really need a loch view, just sit by it instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and it is lovely to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer the train pick up from Glenfinnan station but the arrival time does need to be confirmed. There is also the station museum which can phone us to pick guests up if they have not confirmed with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A beautiful old building with wood panelling and dramatic oil paintings everywhere. Welcoming fire and helpful staff. Plenty of atmosphere.
The room was a good size, comfortable and with a great view. We sacrificed a bath for a shower and lake view and it was worth it.
The evening dinner was exceptional as was breakfast - both porridge and kipper were excellent (especially the kipper!).
Although a little more expensive than we might have expected when we booked, it turned out to be worth the money in all ways.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and it is lovely to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This establishment is a true country house hotel, designed to encourage relaxation and tempt you to live in every available room. Reception is hidden away in a tiny space in the entrance hall where the feel is immediately that of an old style family home. Log fires grace the hall and drawing room where after-dinner coffee can be enjoyed in tranquillity ... for not a single TV is to be found anywhere. Bliss. Keys are unnecessary but provided if you are twitchy about such things. Our room and bathroom were comfortable and spacious and came with free water, fruit and biscuits and tea/coffee etc. The 'back' stair to the room could do with some TLC to bring it to the same standard as the rest of the house but that it a minor gripe. Dinner can be taken (same menu) in the dining room or the bar; we opted for the dining room where service is good and formal but avoids being unnaturally stuffy. The evening food was tasty with a range of specials. Breakfast is the expected range of cereals, fruits and cold platter with cooked breakfast fresh to order including some good local specialities.

The point of the trip was to unwind and feel looked after - mission accomplished.

In terms of improvements, the bar area is looking a little tired but it is easily avoided. It certainly won't stop a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJGscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and it is lovely to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a night here on my own due to work and so glad I did. Comfortable room with fruit and chocolate. No TV in the room but a great bath. Pleasant bar has excellent local beer, a good menu and terrific view or there is a peaceful lounge as an alternative. Excellent kipper from the good breakfast selection. Free Wifi is also available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything about GHH is good in my opinion... The welcome is always warm... The service is always good... The food is always amazing and the location is one of the nicest in the area... I would recommend this hotel to both locals and visitors.... Just writing this makes me want to go back... Think it's time for another visit!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and it is lovely to hear how much you enjoy staying with us. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
306 reviews
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: £65 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing