We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville
Nearby Hotels
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana(El Soco)(Great Value!)
US$216
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Silvestre(La Romana)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Real Resort(Juan Dolio)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel River View(La Romana)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emotions by Hodelpa(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,857 results
Traveller rating
1,693
704
304
85
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,693
704
304
85
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablobutler servicela romanaluxury bahiaquiet poollobby baranimation teama la carte restaurantssister resortbeautiful resortbrazilian restaurantjacuzzi tubdominican republicbeach clubocean frontlobsterassistant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,428 - 1,433 of 2,857 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our vacation was March 2014. Bouganville is the place to go for a relaxing vacation. Beauitful beach, gorgeous rooms, good food, friendly staff and managers who will greet you at the door.
Definitely will be making a 4th visit to this resort.
We want to thank especially Manuela and Mario for making our stay so memorable.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your beautiful comments, we' really happy that you could have a great time with us. It's a pleasure to have guest like you in our hotel, thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations.

We would be honored to welcome you again in our hotel: the best hotel of Dominican Republic and make you live the most amazing moments in your life.

Our best wishes,

Ivanna Ozuna
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 5 days and it was amazing, so far the best value for money. we visited 10-15 Aug, got 5 days of straight sunshine. Pool & Beach were amazing and very well kept. Extremely nice and helpful staff even with language barrier. Eduardo, Adolfina were just great at serving the drinks at the pool bar and keep the party going. We did not had to rush in the morning to get a good beach chair or pool chair, they were plenty available at noon when we would go to the pool after are brunch. the dinning facilities were great, we enjoyed the buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner, great variety and food was not bad at all. Room was very spacious and clean, bathroom was the same. we rented JetSki right from the beach and it was great! NOTE: if you don't have kids then you should ONLY book at Don Pablo Collection. the other Bahia Principe is for kids and its a circus! Don Pablo is totally worth the few hundred dollars more.
Also IMPORTANT to note is book the flight to La Romana Airport its much more convenient. we messed up and booked at Santo Domingo and it costed and $60 each way and an iPhone.

Room Tip: get a junior suite and you wont be disappointed!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Asim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Asim,

It's music to our ears, to read so cute comments. I am really happy to know that you enjoyed most of your holiday, knowing you have the best memories of all our team.

We hope to welcome you again in La Romana, and in a very special way make you live unforgettable moments in our esteemed hotel, where you always will provide the best hosting service that may be under the Sun.

Hugs and Kisses from La Romana,

Ivanna Ozuna
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Negatives First: We booked directly through the USA reservation call center for our Honeymoon & they assured me that we would get the 'honeymoon treatment.' Didn't happen. Upon arrival we weren't given a cool towel & cold drink like we observed later in the week that other people got. Asked for champagne to be sent to the room upon check in- didn't happen. Asked the concierge the next day- didn't happen. We asked everyone possible (except the manager) for some champagne since it was our honeymoon (and it's free being an all inclusive) and no one obliged. Didn't even get a Honeymoon banner. At times we felt ignored and not like guests, but nevertheless our overall stay was great because we made the best of it.

All of the grounds are lovely, pool is beautiful, trees are lovely and our room was amazing...just as described on the website. Every day we marveled at how the flora was groomed to perfection. Kudos to the staff. There are people working around the clock to make this property spotless. I'm not sure if too much cleaning is a bad thing, but there was literally someone cleaning something every second of every day we were there from the gardeners to the brass polishers. Everyone is very friendly and always greeted us with a 'good morning' or 'hello' which was appreciated.

This part of the property is adults only and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here if you could afford it to get away from screaming kids and obnoxious parents. The other side is within walking distance or you could get a 2 min ride from the front of the lobby since you will have acess to everything on the family side as well. Our room was on the third floor of building 54. Being our Honeymoon and everything is supposed to be "perfect," Our view sucked but nevertheless the room was awesome. At first there was a strong odor of paint, and wood etc. but I packed some Febreze which came in handy, opened the door for a couple of minutes and it was fine. Every room looks like the one on the website and the bathrooms have a jetted tub which we didn't use, separate shower and toilet and counter sinks for two. There are no elevators so beware when booking to ask for a ground level room if you need it.
Room Service was efficient and was able to take my order in English and delivered what we ordered everytime. Room service was sometimes more delicious than eating at the cafes since it seemed as though they prepared the order fresh.

We had just arrived from another all-inclusive resort on a different island and the food here was superior and very good. There were some things like anywhere that will be hit or miss but for the most part we had no complaints. The breakfast & lunch buffet had something for everyone. They have an omlet station, pancakes, cereal, as well hot meal dishes. The dinner buffet is a different theme every night. Italian, American, Mexican etc. Asian night is definitely a must for the fresh sushi. Also sushi is a nice change from eveyrything else offered throughout the week. Thank you Haundry for always welcoming us with a smile every night!Little Jose & his buddy Jose at the dinner buffet were amazing. Thank you for your genuine hospitality. We requested to sit in his section every night after him serving us once. Your glass will never be empty! Make reservations for the restaurants. The French restaurant is a hit or miss. The Italian was amazing. The Mediterranean restaurant's dishes were our favorite especially the surf and turf. Los Corales for lunch was a must. Paella everyday! Delicious. The abundance of fresh fruit and salad and deserts complemented all meals. However, one thing about the chefs there, they don't know how to prepare lobster. About 90% of the lobster we tried were mushy and gross. You had to hunt for a well cooked lobster. We ordered the romantic lobster dinner and cancelled after trying the lobster at the restaurants.
Drinks were on point! They have top shelf liquor (which is a lot cheaper there than in the US) nevertheless, the bartenders were not skimpy with the alcohol. Ramon was always happy to serve us and was great. We definitely had a good time at the lobby bar and pretty much everywhere there was a bartender. I will say that they should offer some variety of beer instead of just one Presidente. I get supporting local but it would be nice to have options when hard liquor has been exhausted. The champagne was not great but easy to drink. Must have drank a couple bottles each day. White wine, red wine, ok table wine nothing special.

The pool was amazing. It's grand and lit beautifully at night. The pool bar was always lively and drinks were always flowing. They always have some pool activities going on that can be fun if you are in the mood or that drunk. There are few attendants that walk around for drink service. Getting thier attention was difficult. I know they are busy but could make an attempt to hit everyone at least once. There was a separate pool with jacuzzi in the back with more cabanas and lounge chairs and a separate walk up. It was very quiet there. Took naps there a few times. Cabanas were plentiful at this time and so were lounge chairs on the beach under the huts too. I'm not sure what it is like in the winter months but we never had any problems getting a primo spot at any time of day.

The beach is extremely disappointing. The water is murky and it's rocky. If you are going here for the beach don't go you will be disappointed. If you want to go to a better beach, take the snorkeling trip to Catalina Island. I would highly recommend it. The captain and the crew ensured that we had a good time. Frank with the yellow sunglasses on the property, Thank you for hooking us up with the excursion. I would recommend taking sanitizer or your own snorkel gear because they do not wash or clean the snorkel equipment between uses because I asked and they said no. Also when you get off the boat after the first snorkel spot all the gear goes in a big tub and then for the second spot you just grab one and go (that someone else just used). Oh well. Catalina Island was a good time. The only negative is the vendors hassling you to buy stuff so beware. A firm "no thanks" should be enough.
There are free activities provided by the hotel on the beach. Kayaking etc. Be sure to check it out.

Our Spa experience was good. The spa rooms could be updated a bit, however Maria and Nancy did a wonderful job at the couples massage package. We felt great afterward and wanted to go back everyday!

The disco was fun for the two nights we went. Thanks Amismendy for your great bartending service. Casino is very small but worth checking out if you want a spot with really good AC.
There are souvenier shops on the property. Beware of the ones I think there are two with no prices clearly marked. They try to upsell Everything! So annoying and a waste of time. There were many things I liked there but would not be cheated out of my money. The resort should make prices marked mandatory.
If you can't figure out the free WIFI ask the front desk as it can be tricky. It's only one hour per day but it's a vacation that's more than enough to check in with loved ones, post a few pics, check e-mail etc. If you need to do work then pay for WIFI.

Even though they don't expect it, it's always nice to tip the people serving. We always do and it goes a long way.
Overall we had a great time despite minor hiccups at Luxury Bahia Prinicipe La Romana and we will more than likely be researching other properties to visit based on the reviews.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. If you need a Grand View ask for one. No elevators so be mindful of that.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Trini4life25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Trini,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to know that you had a great time with us. We really appreciate your opinion about all our services.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel: the best hotel of Dominican Republic: where you always have your host from Coast to Coast.

Our best wishes,

Ivanna Ozuna
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I am going to keep this short and simple. This resort is amazing from the minute your arrive to the second you depart. The grounds are well kept and always pleasing to explore. If you like to walk this is the place for you. The grounds are large due to the fact that it is 2 resorts in one. This to me is a major positive because you don't feel constricted and trapped. There is plenty space to stretch your legs at this resort. There is a casino and a night club within close proximity to the main building. Everyone has a smile on their face and is more than willing to offer assistance at your request. I stayed at the adults only portion of this resort and I must say that it was delightful. There is a dining area only for guests staying at that portion of the resort. The food is to die for. In my opinion the cuts of beef used were top quality and cooked to perfection. I did make reservations for the steak house almost every night of my stay. The only thing I can say is that the food is amazing. Like I explained earlier the cuts of beef are top quality and should be enjoyed by any food lover. There is a bar in the lobby that has top shelf liquor that is included for guests at that area of the resort. The bartenders make a decent drink and will alter it to your liking as you desire. Remember to always smile and tip well as your servers will remember you and take care of you during your stay. The room I stayed in was beautiful, spacious and not a speck of dirt can be seen. Turn down service is prompt and accurate. Like I said earlier make sure to leave a reasonable tip on a daily basis. The bathroom was large and comfortable with 2 sinks a shower and a separate tub with water jets. All in all this resort was a great pick as well as a deal. The only negative I can think of was the ocean. The water is dark and murky. However the beach it self is beautiful and extensive with plenty of real estate to stretch your legs on and never a shortage of beach chairs.

Room Tip: One hour of free wifi is available in the lobby every day. Adults only is always a good choice when on vacation.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Raticate1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to know that you and your mom had a great time with us. We really appreciate your opinion about all our services.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel: the best hotel of Dominican Republic: where you always have your host from Coast to Coast.

Our best wishes,

Ivanna Ozuna
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

A beautiful quiet hotel steps from the beach.. Pool is beautiful.. we stayed on the adult only side.. so it was completely relaxing and quiet.. staff is amazing, food is great.. rooms and property are gorgeous!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and we never heard any noise from anywhere.. it was perfect..
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hankster333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest:

It's music to our ears, to read so cute comments. I am really happy to know that you enjoyed most of your holiday, knowing you have the best memories of all our team.

We hope to welcome you again in La Romana, and in a very special way make you live unforgettable moments in our esteemed hotel, where you always will provide the best hosting service that may be under the Sun.

Hugs and Kisses from La Romana,

Ivanna Ozuna
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews