We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Maramures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Ranked #1 of 12 Vadu Izei B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Maramures”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The room was comfortable, clean and a good size. The family are welcoming and dinner, a home cooked Romania meal was delicious and hearty, the homemade brandies were pretty good too! If you are lucky, the local band may be playing traditional music with some dancing as well. Look out for the sign "Ileana Teodora Teleptan" and you will have arrived at the only place to stay in Maramures! Hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NK_2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

If you want to experience local Romania – stay at the Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean. The rooms are basic (very clean but very sparse and simple). But, the overall experience is terrific. The family cooks dinner every day and you truly get a feel for Romanian life in the Muremures region. No English is spoken but they do speak a little French - but don't let this intimidate you. They staff is so friendly and made sure we had a wonderful stay. This is such a beautiful area of Romania - you really need to visit! http://donaldandcathy.typepad.com/donald_and_cathys_europea/2011/07/romania-dracula-castles-and-horse-carts-what-an-adventure.html

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
294 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stayed here 2 nights with a private tour guide on a 4 night trip through Maramures region. This was, overall, my favorite place to stay in the whole country. The pension is beautiful, tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The rooms are quite large, and the bed was very comfortable. The family is very friendly, although their English is quite minimal (luckily I had my guide to translate). Vasile knows some german if you speak that.

Ileana is a FABULOUS cook - her meals were the *best* I ate during my 2 weeks in the country. When they found out I like juice for breakfast, instead of coffee or tea, she ran to a store to purchase some for me. Much of the food (meats, cheeses, milk, etc.) is either made by them or in their village. The husband, Vasile, shoes horses for a living, and I was able to watch him doing this.

I don't know the cost to stay here as it was part of my tour, but I'm sure it is extremely reasonable. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Western Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We had an amazing two night visit in this delightful pensiune. We had a room with 2 single beds and a sofa bed. The room was basic, and the beds not particularly comfortable, but the experience of the stay made up for that. The family made us feel so welcome, even though we could not communicate easily with them. They have some hens, pigs, and a handful of cows. A calf was born during our stay and we watched it take it's first steps. They still have hay delivered by horse and cart, and the kids were plopped on the horses back for a quick ride. They also have a wood fired bread oven in the backyard. There is a large backyard for the kids to play, and a lovely outdoor room where we had the yummiest breakfast. The bed and breakfasts costs for all four of us was 150 Lei a night - an absolute bargain. I hope that more people visit this pensiune.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurGrandDayOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Our stay at this guesthouse was among our most memorable during our travels in Romania. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely warm and friendly. A superb traditional dinner was served on an outside terrace, after which the owner's son & daughter performed some traditional songs/dances in costume. Highly recommended! Just go easy with the palinca!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfischer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Wonderful Pension in Maramures !!

Very nice, clean and big rooms with private bedrooms.

Excellent location in Vadu Izei, in the heart of Maramures and very close to all the most important wooden churches and the wonderful places near Ocna-Sugatag.

Also, wonderful outside terrace and EXCELLENT meals (breakfast and dinner)

Reasonable price and very KIND and HELPFUL staff !!

The place is run by Ileana family. She is a wonderful and very helpful woman as well as her husband and all her sons !!

One night they even dressed themselves with typical customs and sang and danced typical songs from Maramures.


VERY NICE place to stay. recommended also by Frommers Guide.

  • Liked — Very good rooms and meals
  • Disliked — Lack of more traditional decoration
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarrajaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadu Izei
4.1 mi away
Gradina Morii Hotel
Gradina Morii Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sighetu Marmatiei
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Muntean
Casa Muntean
#2 of 12 in Vadu Izei
51 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel - Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pensiunea Teleptean
Pensiunea Teleptean
#2 of 6 in Vadu Izei
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pensiunea Ardelean
Pensiunea Ardelean
#3 of 12 in Vadu Izei
31 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Iurca de Calinesti
Casa Iurca de Calinesti
#1 of 14 in Sighetu Marmatiei
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean

Property: Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Address: Jud. Maramures nr. 506, Vadu Izei 437365, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Vadu Izei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Vadu Izei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean Vadu Izei, Romania - Maramures County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing