We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Ranked #1 of 12 Vadu Izei B&B and Inns
Gainesville
Level Contributor
352 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great memories”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I think this was our favorite place to stay on the vacation. It is not a hotel, but a bed and breakfast. The room looked like a museum (we had 2 rooms in the old part, there is a newer annex that looked good from the outside). It was rustic, but everything worked, including wi-fi. The ladies of the house cooked, partly outside and partly in very humble kitchens, and produced wonderful 4 course dinners (10 euros a person), which were eaten in a Cabana outside with the other guests. No choice of food, but with 4 courses, each with plenty, meant no-one was disappointed (it included mineral water and strong sweet wine. The location meant that having a car was really important. Nobody spoke English, but French worked fine. The pictures of the donuts are real - we had them for desert once and then again at breakfast. The girls of the house wore national costume once, but we did not hear music which I believe there sometimes is. We'll have to go again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
283 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It was so much fun to stay with Iilena and her family at her wonderful Pension. The dinner and breakfast were outstanding. We walked in the rain all over the village. I loved all the gates that homeowners have erected. The different architecture on the homes was interesting. The women of the town made for wonderful photographs.
Be sure to visit the "still" and rug washing mill near the river. Very picturesque.

Room Tip: It is actually a large place --- 30 rooms. It was quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We can't praise Ileana and her family enough, they went out of their way to make us welcome, comfortable and happy. Our accommodation was spotless, the home grown and cooked food was a wonderful introduction to true Romanian cuisine (as was the plum brandy!) and always served with a smile. We were introduced to a great local driver, Viktor, who gave us an amazing insight into local life and nothing was too much trouble for him. When we departed at 5am Ileana was there packing us sandwiches for our long trip! No hesitation in recommending this as the "best place in Vadu Izei".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandgroper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The family is welcoming all the tourists. The meals are organic and home cooked every day so you can truly get a feel for Romanian life in the Maramures region. They also have a beautiful garden where the kids can play, or you can relax on a wooden swing. It is located near all the attractions that have to be seen in Maramures region. Overall is a guesthouse that I gladly recommend anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cala08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for families. Lovely welcoming hosts, and a great garden for kids to explore. They also have a smallfarm with animals to feed. The highlight for us was the amazing Romanian food - all home grown and organic. A great base for exploring Maramures.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasrwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The room was comfortable, clean and a good size. The family are welcoming and dinner, a home cooked Romania meal was delicious and hearty, the homemade brandies were pretty good too! If you are lucky, the local band may be playing traditional music with some dancing as well. Look out for the sign "Ileana Teodora Teleptan" and you will have arrived at the only place to stay in Maramures! Hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NK_2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

If you want to experience local Romania – stay at the Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean. The rooms are basic (very clean but very sparse and simple). But, the overall experience is terrific. The family cooks dinner every day and you truly get a feel for Romanian life in the Muremures region. No English is spoken but they do speak a little French - but don't let this intimidate you. They staff is so friendly and made sure we had a wonderful stay. This is such a beautiful area of Romania - you really need to visit! http://donaldandcathy.typepad.com/donald_and_cathys_europea/2011/07/romania-dracula-castles-and-horse-carts-what-an-adventure.html

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadu Izei
4.1 mi away
Gradina Morii Hotel
Gradina Morii Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sighetu Marmatiei
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Muntean
Casa Muntean
#2 of 12 in Vadu Izei
51 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel - Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pensiunea Teleptean
Pensiunea Teleptean
#2 of 6 in Vadu Izei
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pensiunea Ardelean
Pensiunea Ardelean
#3 of 12 in Vadu Izei
31 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Iurca de Calinesti
Casa Iurca de Calinesti
#1 of 14 in Sighetu Marmatiei
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean

Property: Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Address: Jud. Maramures nr. 506, Vadu Izei 437365, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Vadu Izei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Vadu Izei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean Vadu Izei, Romania - Maramures County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing