We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing host, wonderful pension”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Ranked #2 of 12 Vadu Izei B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing host, wonderful pension”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been to a few pensions during our trip in Romania, but Teodora's was definitely the best. The food was superb, the drinks were abundant. The owner prepared us lunch to take with us every day and didn't charge for it extra. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The house itself is charming. Did I mention the food? Well, can't mention this enough. Everything is homemade, eggs were fresh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have spent here 3 wonderful nights in this B&B from Maramures and I was impressed by the passion with which the owners work from morning till late evening and make you feel at home. They are warm people and they would do anything to make your stay wonderful.The place has a nicer old part at the back and also a very beautiful garden where you can eat during summer and autumn or spent a relaxing afternoon. The inn is also good location for the nicest spots of Maramures, so I think it is worth a visit if you like traditional food and rustic countryside.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the older rustic house, they seem more authentic and peaceful than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
274 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I think this was our favorite place to stay on the vacation. It is not a hotel, but a bed and breakfast. The room looked like a museum (we had 2 rooms in the old part, there is a newer annex that looked good from the outside). It was rustic, but everything worked, including wi-fi. The ladies of the house cooked, partly outside and partly in very humble kitchens, and produced wonderful 4 course dinners (10 euros a person), which were eaten in a Cabana outside with the other guests. No choice of food, but with 4 courses, each with plenty, meant no-one was disappointed (it included mineral water and strong sweet wine. The location meant that having a car was really important. Nobody spoke English, but French worked fine. The pictures of the donuts are real - we had them for desert once and then again at breakfast. The girls of the house wore national costume once, but we did not hear music which I believe there sometimes is. We'll have to go again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It was so much fun to stay with Iilena and her family at her wonderful Pension. The dinner and breakfast were outstanding. We walked in the rain all over the village. I loved all the gates that homeowners have erected. The different architecture on the homes was interesting. The women of the town made for wonderful photographs.
Be sure to visit the "still" and rug washing mill near the river. Very picturesque.

Room Tip: It is actually a large place --- 30 rooms. It was quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We can't praise Ileana and her family enough, they went out of their way to make us welcome, comfortable and happy. Our accommodation was spotless, the home grown and cooked food was a wonderful introduction to true Romanian cuisine (as was the plum brandy!) and always served with a smile. We were introduced to a great local driver, Viktor, who gave us an amazing insight into local life and nothing was too much trouble for him. When we departed at 5am Ileana was there packing us sandwiches for our long trip! No hesitation in recommending this as the "best place in Vadu Izei".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandgroper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The family is welcoming all the tourists. The meals are organic and home cooked every day so you can truly get a feel for Romanian life in the Maramures region. They also have a beautiful garden where the kids can play, or you can relax on a wooden swing. It is located near all the attractions that have to be seen in Maramures region. Overall is a guesthouse that I gladly recommend anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cala08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for families. Lovely welcoming hosts, and a great garden for kids to explore. They also have a smallfarm with animals to feed. The highlight for us was the amazing Romanian food - all home grown and organic. A great base for exploring Maramures.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasrwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadu Izei
4.1 mi away
Gradina Morii Hotel
Gradina Morii Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sighetu Marmatiei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.1 mi away
Guesthouse Ileana
Guesthouse Ileana
#1 of 1 in Sapanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Muntean
Casa Muntean
#1 of 12 in Vadu Izei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel - Transylvania
1.9 mi away
Pensiunea Ardelean
Pensiunea Ardelean
#3 of 12 in Vadu Izei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pensiunea Teleptean
Pensiunea Teleptean
#2 of 6 in Vadu Izei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean

Property: Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean
Address: Jud. Maramures nr. 506, Vadu Izei 437365, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Vadu Izei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Vadu Izei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensiunea Teodora Teleptean Vadu Izei, Romania - Maramures County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing