We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated French Bastide with amazing views!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastide des Tremieres
West coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated French Bastide with amazing views!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and 2 children had an amazing stay with "Kiek" we just wished it was longer! The setting is breathtaking, Kiek is an amazing host and chef who knows how to make you feel at home...with Real King size beds (no cracks in the middle), fluffy towels, soft linens and delicious, well presented food!!! We fell in love with this place after travelling all around Europe it was a nice oasis where we felt at home yet with an amazing European flare. If you are from North America you will understand what I mean. Some places we stayed at were lovely but just needed a bit more attention to quality of comforts. Kiek spent over 2 year renovation the Bastide to the highest standards while retaining all the charm. She also knows from being a "New Yorker" for a few years the importance of a good bed, linens and service. The setting is amazing and so close to nearby villages like St. Emillion...but with a pool, glass of wine, and a good book who needs to fly around....we soaked it all in and we were sad to leave the next day. As Kiek was preparing our dinner I said Mmmm it smells like "Chicken Marbella"...Kiek relied "It is" She was disappointed that I knew the recipe but I told her it was one of my favorite "comfort foods" and it was nice after several weeks in Spain/France to have a meal like home! She also put together an amazing "cheese platter" that looked like a page out of one of the "Barefoot Contessa's" cookbooks!!! With our wine from her brothers vineyard & sitting out on her beautiful outdoor terrace it was heavenly!!! We would love to spend a week there next time in the cottage! We highly recommend this place and our children loved it too. They spent their time petting the cats, swimming and playing around the grounds. My oldest daughter still talks about her breakfast that Kiek made (she liked her eggs & baked goods). I will attach some photos we took.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We arrived at Kiek's (van Kempen) delightful place after 3 flights and a drive from Australia. She welcomed us so warmly, gave us a wonderful meal and settled us into a large ground floor room with private entrance, sitting area and fully equipped kitchenette. Such a wonderful introduction to this part of the Dordogne. Kiek was really helpful suggesting places to go and recommending a particularly good restaurant in nearby Saint-Emilion.
Friends who had stayed here for a week heartily recommended La Bastide des Tremieres. They had stayed here with extended family and just wanted some R & R. Everything is possible!!

Room Tip: I can only speak of the one we had which I have described but we also looked at one of the 2 cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BardieBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I just stayed for the second time at Kiek van Kampen's charming 16th century B&B conveniently located an hour from Bordeaux and on the doorstep of the best of the Dordogne attractions. It is such a peaceful setting among vineyards and overlooking the valley. Relaxing by the salt-water, solar-heated pool or curling up with a book on the wide terrace listening to the birds and smelling the myriad flowers that surround the house made for a little bit of heaven in a busy sightseeing week. Our room (Bonnard) was huge, with ornate stone fireplace, wide plank floorboards, and massive beams. Best of all was a king-size bed (for two six-footers) which is a rarity in France! Our friends had taken the two-bedroom cottage, which was spacious enough for five with two bathrooms and a great room that was light, bright and had a fully functional kitchen. Kiek is a Cordon Bleu-trained chef and if you make arrangements beforehand, she will cook you a meal to die for. The highlight of our stay was always the wonderful breakfast on the terrace. A word of warning: if you don't like your nights dark and wonderfully quiet, La Bastide des Tremieres (hollyhocks) is not for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Staying at La Bastide des Tremieres was like being in a beautiful, fairy tale ! The complete experience far surpassed our expectations and the lovely pictures. Kiek enhanced our stay in the area by arranging for dinner reservations at some wonderful nearby restaurants and sharing valuable advice. We slept superbly and Kiek's coffee and breakfast was the best. If you are looking for a truly tranquil and relaxing setting to replenish the body and soul, you have come to the right place. Next time we will stay longer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The grounds are beautiful with lovely pool, lawns, views and even an outdoor chess set. Breakfast which is full breakfast with anything your heart desires are served on the terrace overlooking the gardens and vineyards. She cooks dinners some evenings for 25 euros also sitting on the terrace. She is a great cook and the meal was far superior to many for much more money in France. You can stay here and visit St Emillion as a day trip. and have a relaxing place to come back too. The rooms are large and the best rooms are on the first floor as they have the largest windows and best views.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent four marvellous days here in early September 2011. The owner Kiek is effusive in her welcome and prepares the most marvellous breakfasts daily and occasional evening meals. The room we had was extremely well furnished and probably the largest room we have ever stayed in in either a B&B or hotel.

We were very sorry to leave as we new the next palce we went could not match this.

Thank you Kiek, we hope to see you again. Mike and Ank

Room Tip: Just book and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeH589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Heaven on earth! Little did we know when we arrived later one evening, that the next three days would be indescribably delicious!....both from a food standpoint and from an overall experience! Kiek, the owner extraordinaire, greeted us at 9:00 PM and proceeded to deliver to us the most scrumptious meal we think we have ever eaten! Everything was fresh from her garden. There was local wine and cheese, along with fruit and bread.....The next morning, we had an equally delicious breakfast and enjoyed the scenery above and below: Vineyards everywhere, country roads, friendly folks.....
The rooms were spacious, well appointed with "period" furniture, hardwood floors, beautiful views out the window, a private bathroom and comfortable beds. The grounds were spacious and the pool delightful. We WILL be coming back to stay longer the next time. Kiek's vision for this "Bastide" is remarkable and EVERYONE who wants to visit the Dordogne Valley should stay here!

Room Tip: Each room we saw as perfect...anything would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurdieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Bastide des Tremieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Tremieres

Property: La Bastide des Tremieres
Address: 1217 route de Couin, 24230 Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in manor house from 16th Century, near St. Emilion and Bergerac, with pool, situated among the vineyards and on the Route des Vins. Restored in 2001/2002. All rooms/beds 3 star quality. Total quiet and magnificent view guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide des Tremieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing