We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great Service, room was really nice but the food in the resturant was dissapointing, the food was expensive and didnt do justice to the fancy discriptions on the menu, breakfast was from a buffet and was not the best. Good loication and easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel for the night of 25th. August 2013. Whilst we had a beautifully appointed room, the shower did not work. Well, it did but would either freeze you or poach you, your choice! During a very warm night, the air-con dripped,noisily and constantly all night resulting in a soaked area of carpet. One or two issues with housekeeping, shelves had not been dusted (fake jewel found on washbasin plinth. Tube of someone else's hair gel wedged down the side of the writing desk. We saw it, why didn't they?
The restaurant was "faulty towers" personified. It started with the jug of water,being brought to our table, still dripping and warm obviously straight from the kitchen tap.
Half the menu was not available, and when we commented on this, we were told, rather curtly, that "there are other things to choose from" as though it was our fault. What was available was okay, except a so called cheese-board, at £8.95 which comprised 6 crackers, 6 grapes (small) and 3 tiny triangles of cheese. No butter and served on an 8 inch plate. The choice of cheeses being made for me. When I complained to the waiter about the price for the dish his response was " you will not get fine dining here"
I did not want to report any of this to Tripadvisor until I had given the General Manager, Mr. J. Beare the opportunity of a response. I have written, to him twice on a personal level, and, to date I have not even had the courtesy of an acknowledgement inspite of addressing letters for his attention,the last being marked 'private and confidential' to avoid the "did not get your letter" excuse being used.
Staff are lead by example!! enough said.
This might just prompt the General Manager to respond.

Room Tip: Take a plumber with you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baranda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

OK your arrival might make you think "what?" Because it ain't he prettiest of buildings
Step inside ....
We were greeted in reception by Karen, the warmest, honest and professional of greetings possible was delivered.
We entered our room ... Yep....you can swing a cat in this room...a big cat. It's wonderful, big, clean and bright.......and very clean.
Evening dinner was a surprise, we viewed the menu with half hearted disappointment but the food we chose was superb, well presented and delivered to the table with a warm greeting
The beds were.... The best!
This last minute decision to stay in Cheltenham having taken our son to his first day at Uni was a delight.
A hotel we thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Having stayed here on a business trip I cannot recommend this place enough. Rooms are large and super clean but the cherry on the cake has to be the staff, nothing is to much trouble even to the point where I had to leave well before breakfast they arranged that the night porter would be on hand to make me tea and toast. Definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Recently stayed one night while visiting friends in Cheltenham. Easy to find and only about 20 minutes drive to town centre outside peak hours. Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. Helpful reception staff. Enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Will stay again next time in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groundhog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend for one night. We were given a huge room, which was a lovely surprise. Bed was so comfy, excellent nights sleep. Hotel close to M5, no noise whatsoever, very quiet location. Hotel very well maintined, staff exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic,we had two family members who live locally join us for breakfast and they both thoroughly enjoyed it too. Excellent value, excellent service, highly recommend and will definitely visit again. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We bBooked this as a base to explore around the area.
it was it was good value and comfortable with easy free parking and free wi-fi.therevwas a lift too which is a bonus
Bit too far out of town for us

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
698 reviews
2.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
3.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
3.2 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Staverton, Cheltenham GL51 0ST, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cheltenham Regency Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Staverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheltenham Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Regency Hotel is conveniently located only a few miles from the centre of Regency Cheltenham, yet only minutes from the motorway network. The hotel offers 47 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms including suites, hotel bar and restaurant offering a selection of superb food from our menu. We also have a large function room, ideal for weddings, events and business conferences which holds up to 180 people for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cheltenham Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Regency Hotel Staverton, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing