We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Due to an accident a few days before arrival my wife was temporarily in a wheelchair. Although I had checked prior to arrival that access would not be a problem I forgot to confirm that the room would contain a walk in shower rather than a shower over the bath. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked due to both a coach party and a wedding reception. However the staff managed to effect some room alterations to provide a room with a walk in shower. Despite the hotel being extremely busy service at dinner was first class as was the quality of the food. I would specially like to thank Caroline in reception for her assistance in effecting a room transfer and Kate in the dining room although all the staff with whom we came into contact were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsmith766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    160
    77
    11
    12
See reviews for
59
232
11
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

great stay, is on the bus route for Cheltenham and Gloucester. As parking for both these towns can be expensive and difficult, it was a bonus to catch the bus and enjoy the scenery. Hotel was clean, and welcoming although I thought the food was good but a bit expensive. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. I like it for the friendly service, relaxed atmosphere and convenience.

The hotel is a short journey from the centre of Cheltenham and is a great base - I was staying for the Cheltenham Races April meeting and it was a fine spot. The breakfasts were great and the hotel has a great bar where you can celebrate any winners !

For any occasion this is a hotel to seriously consider - highly recommended and great value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and spoil yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel worked hard to ensure that our walking group had a great time. Before hand they agreed menus and meal times and accommodated some late changes to the numbers. On arrival the staff were very helpful and ensured that we had everything we needed. They coped well with the numbers at meal times. The food was excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. Some great walking nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fencerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your comments
It was a pleasure to have you here
We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Started to stay here 2013, and have not stopped since, it is clean tidy well furnished and all the staff are very helpful.
The hotel is close to various businesses I call on and central to travel out to others.

All in all good clean friendly and I would say value for money.

Room Tip: Depends on how you sleep lower floor foot traffic upper rooms you can here the motorway if you sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review
We are so pleased that enjoy staying with us and return on a regular basis.
We look forward to seeing you soon
Sharon House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked through Laterooms as we use them on a regular basis for business and social occasions, I can say without a doubt what a absolutely let down it turned out to be and i would not recommend it to anyone.
The hotel interior was clean and presentable however the exterior was disgusting, by the main entrance is a cigarette ashtray which was overflowing and had been for quite awhile it stank, the whole outside needs a tidy up.
On arrival we were eventually greeted by two receptionist once they had finished chatting about a magazine that one had in her hand. We were directed to our room which was very good clean, tidy and well equipped, we then went down to the bar and waited to be served and waited and waited 15 minutes later and various staff walking through we were served by a male member of staff who didn't know the price and couldn't take any money or charge it to our rooms as all tills were down. We ordered a Bacardi and coke, ice no lemon and a vodka and coke ice and lemon they drinks were poured and i asked that the lemon in the Bacardi be removed he couldn't remember which drink was which so i had to taste one to check as my husband is unable to drink vodka, the lemon was then fished out with fingers and no apology.
We sat and had our drinks and decided to reorder another we waited 20 mins and in the end my husband went to reception to ask if we could get more drinks only to be greeted by disgusted looks and what can only be described as a grunt that someone would come, after another 10mins another staff member appeared and we reordered again the young lady couldn't remember which drink was which.
Later we met friends for drinks and again orders were muddled and when we ordered coffee which the machine was in the bar it was totally forgotten the bar was very quiet so i am not sure how this happened.
The following morning we came down for breakfast again staff was scarce eventually we were served and told it was not a buffet breakfast and what would we like, the fact there was no menu we had to guess and ordered a full english the toast arrived that was probably from the day before it was that rubbery the breakfast came and you could have cooked a dozen more in the grease that the food was swimming in it was inedible when we said it was far too greasy it was met with a grunt and no offer to alter it we did try to eat it however it was beyond anything i've ever tasted the black pudding was oozing grease and even the bacon was dripping as for the egg it was burn't and by this time doing breaststroke up and down the plate! We gave up and left, there was no point in complaining to any staff member as they were totally disinterested in anything apart from chatting to each other. If this is an example of Best Western's standard of customer service we will think twice before we use or recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking my call today, i am so pleased that you are giving us the chance to show you this is not the way our business is usually conducted
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Sharon House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The White House hotel , its name Six years ago " what a change " reception area needs to be made a bit more welcoming ? A bit plain but the rooms just been redone are welcoming bright and warm. Staff can't fault, bar as sky sport ( no Bt Sports ) restaurant menu was limited would like to see a bar menu , burger and chips that sort of thing lastly glad to see time taken by management to responded to these comments . Right direction keep it up , would revisit

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments Mr Morris
We are in the process of changing the menus, i will put your comments forward to the chef as our guests reviews are very important to us
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
3.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Property: Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Staverton, Cheltenham GL51 0ST, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cheltenham Regency Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Staverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheltenham Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Regency Hotel is conveniently located only a few miles from the centre of Regency Cheltenham, yet only minutes from the motorway network. The hotel offers 47 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms including suites, hotel bar and restaurant offering a selection of superb food from our menu. We also have a large function room, ideal for weddings, events and business conferences which holds up to 180 people for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheltenham Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Cheltenham
Cheltenham Regency Hotel Staverton, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing