We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love Addo Reach and a taste of real Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alicedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Addo Reach and Hein's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Alicedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Returning to Addo Reach has been to highlight of this visit to South Africa. We love SA in general and adore the Cape and Cape Town but never feel we're in real Africa till get up to Alicedale. We found these guys by accident a few years ago and really enjoy their insider knowledge and advice when we visit. We stayed for four days this time and still could have stayed longer. Alicedale is a quiet African town not to far from the wonderful Addo Ellies but full of it's own surprises. We saw giraffe as we arrive just up near the road looking at us as if to say welcome back. The silver monkeys were on the back patio but scamper as soon as we went out and the flowers and jacaranda trees were just stunning. This time we found the time to visit the Born Free foundation which is literally five minutes from the house. We also when to Grahamstown on the back road........great fun, but for the wonderful things locally the best is absolutely the hospitably. The house is so warm and welcoming as are our hosts. We loved the decor and style. The other thing which is really important is this age of recession is the value for money. I just don't know how they do it but we really had five star quality for 2 star prices. The breakfast is astounding with loads of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, wonderful bread and a great cooked breakfast
and yes we did managed it everyday of our stay but it meant we didn't need much for lunch. We were travelling with friends who stayed in the cottage and Eli organised BBQ packs and lovely salad's for us to we could do our own thing in the evening but still be spoilt at breakfast. It's worth the trip off the beaten track to see wild but safe Africa and to get a feel for South Africa's gentler side. We wandered down the main street, chatted to the locals, drove up to the dam but unfortunately this time we didn't see the hippo but we saw him last time. Called to the Mall!( a little shop run by a Chinese family) Had a drink in the pub and Eli make us a super picnic which John organised for us when he drove us into Addo. He really should be a ranger. Thank you so much yet again for your hospitality. It may be a few years but we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a wonderful place, Golf Course at Bushman's Sand is in walking distance; Addo Elephant Parc in a reasonable distance!
Eli and John are warm and nice hosts! We really could enjoy the time we spent at this family home. You will like home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primus-Eugen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were disappointed not to be able to get accommodation in Grahamstown for the Arts Festival last year and we had to settle for Alicedale. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we got to stay at Addo Reach in Hein's Cottage. We had a wonderful stay with John, Eli and Gran and by the time we had to leave, we felt more like friends than paying guests. We had a delicious meal with the family the night we arrived and had some good chat's in John's pub. John, Eli and Gran took us to Louis' Pub in Alicedale and we all had a meal together. Hein's Cottage is very comfortable, warm, neat and clean. All in all, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sputnik5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our main holiday was at a friends lovely cottage in Hermanus. On recomendation we decided to stay a few days in Alicedale at Addo Reach to visit Addo Elephant Park.
Addo Reach is located about 50 mins from Addo itself with a 'Born Free Foundation' sanctuary only 15 mins away, a must visit. John & Ellie are wonderful hosts with nothing being too much trouble. We had a real ZA brai on the first night with lovely ZA wine. Our older girls slept in the main house whilst we had the Self Catering apt. Everything was spot on: clean, friendly, safe, superb food( breakfast one of the best I've ever had!). It was a shame we did'nt stay longer.
Many thanks to the two of you & we do hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Peter & family

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank warehamclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We spent three days at Addo Reach bed and breakfast in the lovely little village of Alicedale. Our room was beautiful with a big ensuite which had bath and shower over it..........lovely after a long day in the car..... a soak in the bath. The food was fantastic and John and Eli couldn't do enough to make our stay as brilliant as possible. John has great local knowledge and took us into Addo where we saw lots of elephants, buck. dung beetles etc and Eli made us a picnic to die for...........on the way back we stopped at a pub and met some of the locals. At night they did a Braai (BBQ) and we ate with their other guests who gave us some hints of where to stay and eat in Hermanus where we were heading to. It was brilliant eating with everyone and we drank some very good wine from John's pub. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We only stayed two nights and really could have done with at least one more night and possibly two. We didn't bring our golf clubs but there is a super golf course a few minutes walk away yet another reason to have stayed longer. It's close to the Born Free foundation and we didn't have enough time to go there either. As we drove out we saw three large giraffe just by the side of the road, amazing. Eli, John, Granny and Sybil we can't thank you enough for making our african holiday. It will two or three years but we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Addo Reach and Hein's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Reach and Hein's Cottage

Address: 2 Republic Street, Alicedale 6135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Alicedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alicedale
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units all enjoy ensuite facilities, with complimentary tea, coffee, and hospitality toiletries. We offer the choice of a spacious self catering cottage with private patio, sleeping two in twin beds, with all you need for your comfort. The 'main house' offers The Lotus Room, queen sized bed with full ensuite bathroom (shower over the bath), or The Aloe Room, a cozy space with two single beds, and ensuite shower and toilet. The latest addition to our accommodation is The African Violet Room, with double bed and ensuite toilet and shower. Singles can be made into King Size. The units in the 'main house' have independent access and the property is within easy walking distance of the Bushman Sands Golf Resort and Beyond Adventure Campus, and is surrounded by game reserves - Shamwari, Pumba, Scotia, the famous Addo Elephant Park, to name a few. The historical city of Grahamstown, an easy drive away, and within an hour's drive of Port Elizabeth and its international airport, we offer the best value in accommodation, with the benefit of being close to major tourist attractions. Breakfast, packed lunches, dinner, are available with prior notice and whilst Alicedale doesn't offer the 'fast life' it offers you peace, quiet, bird life and tranquility. The opportunity to kick back and relax, enjoy the clear skies, bird song and a true South African welcome! Come visit!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing