We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food”
Review of Trudi's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panglao Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trudi's Place
Ranked #35 of 95 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had dinner here once, and regretted it! We both ordered beef and pork adobo. First of all, the food was served about 40 minutes after making the order. On top of that the pork and beef was just so tough (like rubber) that we just could not eat it. Inedible! We told the waiter and waitress (no one seemed to be taking charge of our complaint) that the food was terrible and said that we would not be willing to wait another 40 mins for new dishes. They said okay, but did not offer us a discount. I demanded one, and was after 20 mins given a 70 php discount. How generous....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macciato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Not sure why Alona Beach is so popular. Having been to Bantayan, Malapascua and Boracay, there's little to make Alona beach stand out amongst it's peers. However the snorkelling at Balicasig Island is excellent!

As for Trudi's Place - the service is good, location on the beach is very good and convenient and the price is good - 2000p for a standard aircon room but aside from that it's very average. The rooms were basic, dated, TV had no reception and there were blood stains on the bed sheet (which did not get changed for 3 days). The restaurant (despite it's high rating on TA) was very average food, especially breakfast.

Overall, it's a 2-3 star hotel and everything about it reflects that standard. 3/5 for me, you can definitely do better elsewhere on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room_204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I searched for several weeks on the web until I found Trudis' Place. It's located along Alona Beach right beside several Dive resorts. It's easy on the wallet and the food is good. The beer is priced just right for anyone to enjoy. I loved having breakfast right beside the beach and their friendly and accommodating staff was the best of it all. The rooms were just the right size for our group and my american brother -in-law was beaming with joy all of the 4 days we were in bohol.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josette2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spydeberg, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our stay in trudis was OK. We found out the place when some of our friends ate at their restaurant and found out they also have rooms on the upper floor. We were staying in alone kew hotel at that time and it was a little way out of budget so we decided to transfer a day after, Me and my partner had a little room, no view on the beach, just the backyard but i was ok.( i forgot what room number we were.) it was clean, WC was clean also, shower has hot and cold function . Staff regularly cleans .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I found Trudi's Place where you can eat, have a beer almost all day long in Alona Beach leaving with a happy stomach and a smiling wallet!

Their beers, and cocktails are the cheapest in Alona Beach waterfront. The food is extremely good, I was with a friend and trooped here for a beer and bar-b-que. The next day we came back, had a few drinks again and some seafood calamares. The third day I had breakfast -2 pancakes with bananas and mangoes for only Php 100! I came back in the evening again and had some pasta and drinks and it was all to my standards and liking. What is amazing is that no matter how affordable the foods and drinks (beers, cocktails, shakes) you get a heapful of serving and a satisfied palate. Don't miss out Trudi's while in Panglao!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bythegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Trudi's is the cheapest place to eat right on Alona Beach. I know this because I checked out all the menus along the beach on my first day there. I ate at Trudi's three times during my stay and the food was good. They certainly put enough alcohol in their cocktails! The staff were very polite and helpful. I asked to see their rooms and they seemed clean and had everything you would need to enjoy a stay overlooking Alona Beach. The price was very good for a room overlooking the beach. I would certainly recommend their restaurant and I would consider staying there if I were to ever return to Bohol.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
329 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The only reason I did not rate as excellent is because of the price. However, I did stay in a deluxe room (with ocean view and balcony) and it was over New Years when rates definitely go up around the island. The room had all the comforts (Air con, TV with cable, balcony, comfortable bed, hot water) and is right on the Alona beach. A quality breakfast is included in the price of the room as well. The first day there was no hot water but they claim that is because it is solar powered and it had been cloudy recently. It worked great for the remaining 4 days we were there. They did host several Videoke parties in the beach area of their restaurant which can be definitely disturbing for relaxation but they did not go late into the night. As this area is renowned for its diving, it is important to note that they do not have an affiliated dive shop. The restaurant is a great asset as well - wonderful drinks and food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out onto the beach with a balcony can be noisy as there are live bands and videoke part...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#23 of 48 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Acacia Sunset Village Inn
Acacia Sunset Village Inn
#28 of 95 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alona Vida Beach Resort
Alona Vida Beach Resort
#12 of 95 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
#32 of 48 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trudi's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trudi's Place

Property: Trudi's Place
Address: Alona Beach | Tawala, Panglao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Trudi`s Place Hotel Panglao Island
Trudi's Place Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing