We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold saltwater showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalipayan Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Cold saltwater showers! and in the sink. Would have been helpful to know this prior to washing my teeth. The hotel itself is in nice grounds and loved the huge grass area and the pool and pool bar were nice. Room was comfortable enough just a littel dated. As with alot of hotels in Philippines, renovation required. Staff were nice and we did a dive with the dive centre. Well set up place. The walk down the beach from Alona Beach central enjoyable after having big dinners out :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camillus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Kalipayan Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our worst resort nightmare! We booked for 2 nights here getting the largest room for 4. The room is good, no TV and aircon really sucks and not working at all. We have to request for another electric fan just to feel comfortable. Also, the water supply is always interrupted not just for minutes but for hours. Meals are pricey but the serving is small. One pork steak cut costs P250. We walked to another resort and find a complete set great meal for only P220. Also, there are no life at night. You have to walk to the stretched of the beach just to find life at night. The next day morning, we decided check out because there are no water supply again. They give us our bill without feeling sorry for the really bad experience. Luckily, Bohol Diver's Club can accommodate us which is just 2 resorts away from Kalipayan. They have good service, good rooms and good food. They have concerts during Friday and Saturday nights as well. We really enjoyed our stay there. To sum it up, Kalipayan is a no no!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place is excellent. The garden is beautiful with trees, pretty flowers, Orchids and butterflies. The air-con and/or fan rooms, cleaned daily, are spacious with comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom with hot shower and overlook the garden. The food is very good and varied. The pool is clean and the pool bar/restaurant with its traditional nipa roofing fits in perfectly with the surroundings. The staff and the boss are friendly and helpful. The tree houses and large deck next to the dive shop overlook the sea. It has its own little beach or you can go to Alona beach via a short path or go the beach way when the tide is not fully in.
We stayed here last year and felt the same way about this place.

Paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pnkjsk220458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

we stay here 2 night with my kids and they were really enjoy the place especially the pool.The garden is so wide for them to make some playful activities.I also enjoyed the terrace where you can see the seaview, i went to the treehouse more comfortable and enoyable to stay...The food also are ok and I can ask Filipino food for the kids.We are planning to comeback again ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

It is a great place for famielies and divers! Lovely resort full of character. Very clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. The food is excellent with a good mix of local flavors and international cuisine. Perfect location, just a few step from the sea. Great pool and bar area. The pool was clean and never crowded. Also the diving was amazing. We've seen a lot of different kinds of small and big fishes, we have even been so lucky to see the huge whale shark. The instructors were very competent and everything was well organized. We really enjoyed our stay there. We would recommended it to anyone who wants to spend a great time in a really relaxing enviroment. Thank you Kalipayan Resort! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

After some research I decided on this hotel based on a friend's recommendation.
We travelled in off season, got a very good rate, had great weather and really enjoyed our stay at Kalipayan. It's worth contacting the hotel directly and comparing their walk in rates to those advertised on various webistes. I saw a couple of beachfront hotels advertising walk in rates at 500P per night less than on some websites.
Rooms are spacious, equipped with a safety deposit box (no TV) and have a private sitting area with clothes line, all with garden view. Beds were comfortable, A/C worked well and not too noisy. Good wifi connection in the room and public areas. Our room and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean; ants get everywhere in the Philippines, even in high end resorts and modern condo buildings but we encountered very few here in Kalipayan.
I'm surprised at some of the negative reports here and suggest that any issues are reported to the management. Owner Kurt is one of the friendliest and most accommodating hoteliers I have met on my travels and is more than willing to rectify any problems one may have.
Pool is one of the nicest I saw on Panglao island. Very good breakfast choices, we particularly liked the pancakes and hearty brown bread fresh from the baker.
Access to Alona Beach is a short walk down a path, down some steps, and around the rocks, which could be an issue for small children but even at high tide the water is barely calf high. Kalipayan has a sun deck with loungers and a tree house overlooking the sea, which is a good alternative to the beach for just soaking up some rays.
There are plenty of mini markets and dining options along the beach, Trudi's offers very good breakfast and dinner choices at reasonable prices and is a great beachfront location to relax.
Swimming off Alona Beach is not advisable due to the abundance of sea urchins. If you want to swim and relax on a pristine white sand beach it's really worth taking a trike to Bohol Beach Club (cost around 200P round trip), pay the entrance fee 350P (of which 250P is consumable) which entitles you to use their pools, loungers and showers. It's highly advisable to arrange for the trike to collect you again as the front desk is only permitted to call cabs, and it's a long hike to the main road.
We met a young couple who spoke very highly of the dive course led by Barry which I will be sure to try on my next visit.
If you want a peaceful loaction a short walk from the beach, look no further!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elenaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A clean, and quiet hotel. 60 ft of clean white beach, friendly staff , learn to scuba dive in a heated pool, or snorkel beyond the reef. No tv's, no small store near by, the nearest is 1/4 mile walk away. An updated aircond would be helpful, and extra towels. But for a short stay, it is an excellent hotel. It is hidden down a dirt road, but for just peace and quiet it was right for my fiancee and I. The restuarant is outdoors, under a cover and as nothing else close by, you are stuck with what they offer, but luckily the menu is european, american, and filipino. Not a big selection but plenty depending on what you order.

Room Tip: No smoking in rooms, but outside was a small table and chairs, also clothesline. Bring bug spray, as...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ge1014orgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#24 of 50 in Panglao Island
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 50 in Panglao Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#19 of 50 in Panglao Island
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 50 in Panglao Island
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
#28 of 50 in Panglao Island
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalipayan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalipayan Beach Resort

Address: Alona Beach, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: £20 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalipayan Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalipayan Beach Resort & Atlantis Dive Center is a beachfront property at the quiet end of Alona Beach. Situated in an amazing tropical garden from 11.000 sqm you can relax and whatch the birds. The 19 air-conditioned rooms are equipped with an in-room safe, en-suite bathroom and a private sitting area in front. The restaurant is beside of the outdoor swimming pool. They serve delicious local and international cuisine and offer free WiFi .On request you can enjoy romantic Candle-light-dinners in the treehouse at the beach, overlooking the moonlighed ocean. The dive center has also direct access to the beach and they offer all PADI dive courses and fun diving. 3 boats are available and groups are welcome. Dive Spots can be reached in 5 minutes. To Balicasag Island it will be a 30 minutes boat ride and to Pamilacan Island one hour. Massages, island tours, snorkelling activities and ticketing services for ferries can be arranged.. The property is a 40 minutes drive from Tagbilaran Airport and offers free parking for their guests. Transfers against a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kalipayan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalipayan Beach Hotel Bohol Island
Kalipayan Beach Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing