We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cove House
Nearby Hotels
South Palms Resort(Panglao Island)
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarela Resort(Panglao Island)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Sea Resort(Panglao Island)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panglao Regents Park Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$606
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$511
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alona Golden Palm Resort(Panglao Island)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
16
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
7
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I really enjoyed my trip at the Cove House. The host Michael was fantastic. Michael gave me all the tips I needed and best places to see on Panglao Island in Bohol (Tarzier Botanical Gardens and Bohol Bee Farm). The house is exquisitely decorated with so much personality and detail. The bedroom is very clean and inviting. Come here if you want to relax with a good book or rest.

I loved the breakfasts! They are not included in the price you pay for your stay but are still affordable and delicious. I loved the rice with fried egg, mango, and coffee. It was so fresh and the perfect way to start my day.

If I ever make it back to Bohol I would stay here again.


Note: The bathing water is rather salty. I felt very sticky....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana67716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecovehouse, Owner at The Cove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Alana6776,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Cove House. We always welcome our guests like family making sure that they are well taken care of while staying here with us. We want to be your holiday home here in Panglao. We want our guests like you to experience a holiday to remember.

Much appreciated,
M.
The Cove House
Little nook of Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

From Gideon(7y/o): Dear Mr. Michaele, We will come back to your house this week. I miss India(the very friendly dog).
A very good place to stay as the house and grounds are beautiful, clean and maintained. Perfect for relaxation away from the crowds and all. Fresh food bought, cooked and served everyday(Thank you Gemma and Susan).
The town market is close by(nothing fancy) for 1)flip-flops 2)inexpensive sarong/beach covers/swim shorts 3)fresh fruit(mangoes, coconut) or local delicacies

Definitely worth staying here again. Thank you Michaele!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecovehouse, Owner at The Cove House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Flip01,

To Gideon: India misses you as well and she sends her love and licks :)

We are very happy to know that The Cove House has become your holiday home away from home. This is one thing that we want all of our guests to feel as they stepped in the house that they will feel warm and invited.

Thank you for staying with us too!

Sincerely,
M.
The Cove House
Little nook of Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Cove House is exactly as the owner describes: "a little nook of Paradise tucked away from all of the noise."

Michaele, the owner, is so kind and friendly and available to help arrange anything you need--drivers, tours, etc. The girls who work there also exude that famous Filipino hospitality. The grounds are kept very clean and there's such a feeling of tranquility to the place. There are lounge areas in the back that would be perfect for taking a nap or reading a book if you happen to be on the property during the day.

The balcony room is very simple but comfortable and clean, with a great view and AC. There's a small TV but I didn't use it. There is a desk and a double (?) bed. The bed is average, not bad, not great. The room is very well-kept.

The food here is FANTASTIC. Wow, I feel like I never ate anything that tasted so fresh. You can choose from European, Filipino or continental (fruit) breakfast, all served with coffee or tea.
Note: Breakfast is NOT included in the price of the room. However, it's not expensive and the food is delicious; well worth the money. I also had dinner there one night and they made me lunch for one of my day trips. All delicious and very reasonably priced! Served on the patio with a view of the bay and tropical birds chirping in the background. Better than any food I had at Alona Beach, and cheaper. You just need to let them know at least two hours before you eat so they can purchase the ingredients fresh from the local market.

The Cove House is a nice 10-minute walk from Doljo Beach, which is usually empty, except for a few local fisherman and/or children. It's a very pretty beach and good for swimming, but only during high tide (I think around 9 am to 3 pm; of course that varies). However, it's mostly sea grass so I didn't see any fish, despite swimming pretty far out and being in the water for a good hour and a half. It's nice for beach combing when the tide goes out--just be careful not to step on the starfish!

A few things to note:

As other travelers have mentioned, don't expect a hotel--this is a homestay. You have your own room with a bathroom a few steps down the hall for your exclusive use. The property is very close to the beach, on a small island in the Philippines. That said, the tap water is salty--it is hard to really feel clean when showering with salt water. Also, don't expect hot water--it's not a big deal; it's hot in the Philippines so a cold shower feels refreshing. This is a very quiet place away from the tourist area, so if you are hungry or need something from the market, it's not like you can walk somewhere to get it. However, it's pretty easy to get a ride on the back of a motorbike to get you wherever you want to go.

Overall, if you're looking for a beautiful, quiet place on Panglao where you can really relax, eat amazing food and experience Filipino hospitality at its best, this is it. However, if you are looking for tourist hotspots, nightlife, luxury, or good snorkeling beaches within walking distance, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank laurengreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecovehouse, Owner at The Cove House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Laurengreen1,

We at The Cove House (including India our lovely dog) are happy to know that your stay with us was memorable. We always believe that hospitality is best served warm along with the hearty fresh food we serve in the house.

Tranquil places are indeed very hard to find these days and we are lucky that we have this little nook by the sea and we are here to share it with holiday makers looking for a peice of tranquility.

Thank you!

Sincerely,
M.
The Cove House
Little nook of Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

When we arrived at Cove House we were welcomed with everything that a family with two little children required. The host and the two maids went out of their way to accommodate our family in every-way. They supplied delicious breakfast and local dishes for dinner. The host was exceptionally friendly and patient and a great person to talk to. Cove House is much like a beautiful home away from home, with the most beautiful garden looking through the mangroves to the sea. The ambiance in the garden is spectacular. The location is peaceful way from all the traffic and noise at Alona beach, which for us, was a big bonus. We were easily able to get a taxi to all the locations on the island. We loved our stay and would love to come again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeoGeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecovehouse, Owner at The Cove House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear GeoGeenie,

It has always been our ethos to make sure that our guests are well taken care of while staying at The Cove House. It has been our pleasure having you and your lovely family stay with us. It was indeed refreshing to have the children around as well too.

Thank you for making us one of the few places that you consider your home away from home.

Sincerely,
M.
The Cove House
Little Nook of Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

If you're looking for a quiet, elegant place to stay, Cove House it is. Cove House is a homestay on a quiet cove in a quiet residential neighborhood. The house itself is charming and comfortable. There are small huts in the yard where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. A lovely, quiet beach is a ten-minute walk away. In the evening, you can see a sunset there. Michael and "the girls" will pamper you as much as you want.

Drinking water is provided in the room and with meals. Meals are excellent and the cost is very reasonable. They will prepare what you request. I suggest trying their Filipino specialties. No waiting, as the meal is ready at the time you say you want to eat. The town market is half an hour's walk, and you can purchase your own fruit there if you want to. Michael will arrange the Bohol island tour and snorkeling or dolphin/whale watch (weather permitting) and any transportation you need at the going rate on the island. He can also arrange for a massage therapist to come to your room.

Cove House is a wonderful place to relax and unwind for a few days or longer.

Room Tip: The balcony room is a special treat.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews