We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Nearby Hotels
Amarela Resort(Panglao Island)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Beach Club(Panglao Island)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Sea Resort(Panglao Island)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$608
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$501
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bellevue Resort Bohol(Panglao Island)
US$344
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bohol South Beach Hotel(Panglao Island)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Palms Resort(Panglao Island)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
135
67
29
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
67
29
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bathroom door shutair con works wellbeach frontshort walk to the beachpower outagerooms are cleanthe ground floorshort cutroad leadinga lovely place to stayadjoining roomsqueen bedwifi receptionstayed for two nightsbeautiful landscapefamily roomthree rooms
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Golden Palm Resort with my family and what a great choice for accomodation this place is. We choose the family suite located on the top floor and consisting of 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom. The place is relatively new nice gardens great pool and kept in great condition and was very modern.Wifi is free and generally available around the restaurant area but we were able to access the wifi from our top floor balcony.

The place is deserved of its high ranking on TA. Small family run accomodation and the owners Tata and Barry offer very personalised service. Thats the benefit of a small place with about 7 rooms where the owners run the place. Barry is generally happy to sit and chat with guests and have a beer. Nothing is to much bother and you can get your laundry done book tours etc. Ask Barry or Tata and they are happy to assist you.

If you are looking for absolute beachfront this is not the place for you. However walk down 20 steps and a short walk along a pathway and you are on the beach. It offers a quiet location away from the bands and touts and the noise of the beachfront yet easy access to the beach.

We dined at their poolside restaurant on many occasions and we were very happy with the food. Staff are very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We occupied the top floor (three rooms) and stayed for two nights. The place was beautiful and generally clean. It definitely felt homey. It was a challenge, though, to keep on of the rooms (2 double beds+) cool.

The bar had good WiFi which sometimes reaches up to the third floor balcony. Staff was friendly, easy to approach and always smiling.

It was fairly close to the beach, bring flashlights if you plan to go out at night and try the beachside restaurants.

We found a tiny mouse swimming in the pool and alerted the guard about it. It took most of the day before the mouse was taken out. :(

I met three of their dogs, they will be friendly if you have food with you. They weren't trained to resist (food) though, my three-year-old cousin was bullied by the Pit Bull when he wanted his plate of peanuts.

The food at the pool bar is delicious! I tried their corned beef silog (sauteed rice and eggs) and spicy prawns.

I'd definitely go back, and hope next time I'd be able to relax in the pool after a busy day of adventure.

They have affordable laundry service too :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mypzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were a group of four staying in two of the rooms on the third floor. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the place, as well as the service. No real complaints. I would recommend this place to anyone staying near Alona Beach. It is close to the beach, has a nice pool and grounds, the beds are comfortable, food is decent, and the owners and staff are all very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and were very happy with the rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khawk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at golden palm in November and want to thank the staff for making it a lovely stay. The rooms are clean an tidy with nice fittings and most importantly good air con. The location is 1min walk to the beach and shops and the pool and surrounding grounds are tranquil and secluded. I recommend this place for a great value for money option compared to more expensive ones I've stayed. Thanks again golden palms.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigPappaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

From the rating of this resort, we expected a lot and we were really disappointed.

Upon arriving, we got our keys from the bar and were ushered to our room. We weren’t offered any welcome drinks or even water. When we got to our room (Presidential Suite, btw) we asked for water and the girl said that we can get it from the bar downstairs, so we asked her if she can bring it to our room (service, please).

So while we were settling down, we inspected the room, it was really spacious and clean. Although, there could have been a sofa or a desk because there were a lot of wasted space. The TV was a bit far from the bed, the ref was small, the closet is big but the bottom drawer had something in it. It was some kind of linen or decoration; we figured that the resort owns it and was just storing it there--which is weird, because they shouldn’t use their room's closet for storage. One light switch was not working. The bathroom was big, but there isn’t any divider for the shower and toilet. The toilet was dirty, it was stained with yellow.. The presidential suite is not what we expected at all. It fell REALLY short from our expectations. Oh, and on our first day, the power went out and they don't have generators so we decided to get a snack from the bar. When we went down to the second floor, we looked around, and the place is just REALLY BARE. And we were surprised to see someone sleeping on a mattress in the corner! Anyway, we went to the bar and got our snack. There was a LOT of mosquitoes. Better bring insect repellant because they don’t have anything that can repel the mosquitoes (they don’t have a fan or the purple thing that kills insects at the bar). The power came back late in the afternoon.

We were informed that there will be another power outage for the whole Panglao Island in the weekend and that they will just go to our room and provide buckets of water. They say that this happens every weekend because the power lines were being replaced/fixed. It just sucks that the resort doesn’t have a generator and we weren’t informed during the inquiry process about this power outage.

Come dinner time, we talked to a lady regarding our dolphin watching tour and about the power outage. We were asking for a discount since there will be no electricity for a day but she just gave an embarrassed laugh. I didn’t know that she was the owner of the resort because she doesn’t seem professional at all. There was this incident that I was asking a server (Ate Cha) what was the difference of the Irish coffee with the normal coffee and she told me that they were out of the Irish coffee. Then this lady (Tata) told off Ate Cha that they weren’t out of Irish coffee. It was really unprofessional and I know that it embarrassed the server. Anyway, we were already informed by our driver (who was fantastic, btw) that the resort is a house-turned-resort type and it’s been running since 2008. So I kinda expected that she already knows how to talk to her customers and employees.

They ask for an additional 1.5k for the dolphin watching tour but i think you can get a better deal form the guys on the beach, they can give it for 1.2k. I'm not quite sure, though.

Overall, the resort was so-so. Their menu doesn’t offer a lot of choices. The room and interiors and amenities were blah. The wifi signal sucks. They don’t have power backup. And the owner is unprofessional and unaccommodating. Only 2 servers were okay (Ate Cha and Ate Michelle). Our driver/tour guide is also nice, Kuya Edgar. I don’t think I will go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews