We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bungalows on private beach”
Review of Bohol Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bohol Sea Resort
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable bungalows on private beach”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We appreciated our stay at Bohol Sea resort and recommend the place, more quiet than Alona beach. The drawback could be for some people that it is quite remote. Everything is available in the hotel however (bar, restaurant with a very good cook).
Neil, the manager, is very welcoming, helpful and makes you feel confortable.
Breakfast is of good quality and quantity, although a buffet would have been appreciated, for an accommodation called "resort".
A detail, but to be improved, considering the price: there are no amenities (soap, shampoo) unless you ask for it after a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    47
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
98
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Small but very well maintained territory. Lovely, freshly painted cottages. Left me with a feeling of a nice friendly village, maybe slightly overbuilt.

Neat and cozy standard room. Lovely native style furniture. Decent size modern bathroom. Two bath towels per room only, no hand or face towels. No blankets, even on request, not an issue in the warm climate, more a matter of a habit.

Fantastic staff. Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Made us fill so welcome.

Absolutely delicious food. The chief did not stick to the menu and ready to make changes to any dish to meet our tastes.

Tranquil and quiet nights far enough from busy Alona beach.

The only drawback is the local beach is not swimmable and Alona beach is reachable by a dusty and bumpy village road only, not a pleasant walk at all.

Non-smokers, be aware that guests are allowed to smoke in the restaurant. Despite the area is only covered with a roof, smoking delivered us many unpleasant minutes, as the restaurant is small and there is no place to avoid the smoke.

Anyway it is a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Bohol Sea Resort is located between Alona Beach and Panglao Beach and is quite isolated. It is a good 20 minute walk on a dirt road to the Alona Beach seafront and Panglao Beach is only reachable by transport. That means it is quiet. It has its own access to the beach (nice) and overall is extremely well maintained and accommodation is nice, modern and extremely clean. (German efficiency at its best..) The Resort is very popular with German guests and is focused on Diving. Breakfast is OK but service is on the slow side. Ideal for a rest, but if you want entertainment you need to walk to Alona.

Room Tip: Superior Bungalow is well worth the money
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank grantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at Bohol Sea Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your nice review.
I am sorry to hear, that you were somewhat disappointed in the service speed during breakfast. During you stay we were rather fully booked. Since all our meals are prepared fresh, we do sometimes can't serve right away. Additionally our Italian coffee maker was very unreliable during that time.
We have now a new coffee machine and hope also to be able to serve faster.

To reach Alona Beach or other parts of the island, an easy, very affordable and fast way is to just flag down a motorbike that passes by. They are happy to bring you for 50 cents to Alona or other close by places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a great four nights stay at the Bohol Sea Resort. The resort is very clean, well run and a nice small size. The food at the restaurant was one of the highlights as was the thoroughness of the divemasters. The resort is a bit on the quiet side (bar closes down around 10ish) but it's quiet close to alona beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my birthday at this resort - it was very relaxing. If you're the type of person who likes a quiet place then do stay here. The resort is very nice. Rooms are very clean and the gardens are well maintained. The staff are very friendly as well.

The road going to the resort is pretty bad and hopefully the mayor of the town would do something about it. If you don't mind walking to Alona Beach, it's a 25-30 minute walk from this resort. The beach though is a bit rocky so don't expect much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at Bohol sea resort in October with our two little kids!
The hotel is very small, but that s what we were looking for with the kids and they could stay with us in the same room without extra charge. all the staff is very friendly and you feel like family.
It s mainly a dive resort so most of the guests are divers.
The beach was full of algues because of the storms, but that s nobody s fault, o we used the swimming pool....
The food was excellent
And all in all it s very good value for money
We really enjoyed our stay!
Thanks Henry and Co.

Room Tip: Send the hotel an email and tell them what you are looking for and they ll find a solution!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, Manager at Bohol Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us last October. We are happy, that you have enjoyed the stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The food here is amazing, probably one of the best places in panglao.
Pasta dishes are very good. Good service and nice garden area to dine.

Danno beach is good for divers to stay at, not like alona beach which is catered more
towards the boracay type touristy experience.

It's great searching for shells at low-tide at Danno beach. Right outside your cottage...
Place is clean and well kept....

Excellent place for those that dont need to be at Alona beach but close enough walk there....15 mins....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boholtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,369 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 49 in Panglao Island
777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
3.4 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 49 in Panglao Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohol Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohol Sea Resort

Property: Bohol Sea Resort
Address: Bohol Sea Resort Danao Beach, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohol Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bohol Sea Resort is located directly on the naturally kept beach of Danao on Panglao Island, Bohol, one of the most beautiful islands of the Philippines. The famous Alona Beach is 2 kilometers (20 minutes walking or 3 minutes by motorbike) away. Great dive sites are starting just in front of the resort. Our paradise dive & holiday resort is furnished to best European standards and offers 20 elegant rooms and bungalows in different categories. Each accommodation has its own bathroom with shower, a terrace and free Wifi. The higher standard rooms also include television, minibar and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bohol Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohol Sea Hotel Panglao Island
Bohol Sea Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing