We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and helpful”
Review of Hope Homes

Hope Homes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope Homes
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value and helpful”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was attracted by the price and free motorbike. Unfortunately I hadn't booked in advance and they were full when I arrived - no problem, the owner called a neighbouring guesthouse and arranged for me to stay there until a room became available.
My room (number three) was basic but adequate. These cheaper rooms are very close to each other and suffer from a lack of natural light, and I could hear the people opposite when they were talking quietly. The water pump outside my room was also noisy.
The resident family of dogs and puppies seemed to spend their time scratching their fleas and sleeping on guests' verandah chairs. Distinct smell of wet dog on mine - otherwise very clean.
Restaurant menu was very meaty, no fresh fruit or vegetables available despite signs for fresh fruit salad. Awful tea and coffee - a mug of hot water from one of those water cooler/heaters, and three plastic tubs with cheap instant coffee, sugar and powdered milk.
Very good motorbike though, and if you subtract the cost of rental from the room rate then this place is a real bargain. The owner and staff were genuine, helpful and always had a friendly word for all their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank propercupoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
45
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

At these prices, this is budget backpackers accommodation and it is fab at being that. Clean rooms, helpful and friendly staff. Good wifi which we used in our room also (I think it was room 10).
I agree that you do need to be able to ride the motorcycle which is included with the cost of the room (not per person). But, we had never ridden one before but managed it slowly and carefully down to Alona Beach once or twice a day. They are semi automatic, helmets included and adequate for short distances. The roads to the beach aren't busy like in the cities and traffic passes wide, other road users were respectful that we were foreigners and clearly not confident! I wouldn't suggest going far unless you are very experienced on motorcycles in other countries.
Loved the accommodation and Alona Beach - eat at Trudi's on the beachfront, on the right. Great food and cheaper than the other beachfront restaurants. Thanks Hope Homes!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Travellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

First of all, I want to say that it is a value for money place to stay by having a motorbike included with your room. And if you are a budget traveller who can ride a motorbke, you will be happy with the package price.

However, you need to understand that no taxis pass by, no jeepnies pass by and no tricycles pass by.

So, if you can't ride a motorbike, you will be walking and it is a 30 minute walk to the bars and restaurants at Alona Beach. With nothing much in between.

I presume that is the main reason for offering a free motorbike.

As at today, a fan room is P750 per night, with free motorbike and the aircon room is P1300 per night with free mtorbike. 2 helmets are included with each bike. They do not offer insurance for the bike..

The fan room is very basic. It is a room with a double bed and a fan. There is a private bathroom with cold water shower.

I stayed in an aircon room. Number 9. It has a private bathroom with instant hot water. Mini bar fully stocked, aircon, double bed and a single bed and Sattelite TV with about 12 channels. The channels include Star Movies and HBO movies, so you have multiple movies to watch 24/7. The channels also include Cartoon network. Biography channel, Discovery channel, CNN, Australia TV and a German language channel.

There is a small restaurant/bar on site with a pool table. Pool is P20 per game or P150 per hour.

They have a single computer for accessing the internet at P35 per hour but it was not working while I was there.

They have free wifi. It was very poor signal in room 9 and worked reasonably fast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Big_Jim_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The place is not the Ritz Hotel but for that price dont expect luxury.
The fan room is simple and mine was clean.
They give free motorbike included in the price, nevertheless the bikes are not the newest in the market but are ok.
To sum up, I think is a good value for backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidpiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

ok. Let's admit it, the place is not exactly first class, but for Php 750 per night in a quiet and peaceful place, that's more than what you are paying for. Plus! the free motorcycle for your whole duration of stay seals the deal!

I always say that with hotels, you get what you pay for. But with Hope Homes, it is more than that. They offer genuine hospitality and would go way beyond their responsibilities to help you with your needs. The motorbike they lent us took us to places in Bohol and had the greatest joy ride of our lives. We went all the way to the Chocolate Hills, it is far but, what's a joy ride when you just have to drive for 5 minutes?

The rooms are basic but it's enough. They have a billiard table at the lobby which is just Php20 per game. They also have a hot and cold water dispenser which is very convenient for making coffee in the morning. The place is situated in a quiet, quite rural area but is just less than 5 minutes to Alona beach so you get to have the best of both worlds. All in all, we had a great stay at Hope Homes and it gave us the best memories of our vacation. We are now planning to go back there with some friends next year! :D

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LVhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The front desk is not always available, most of the time nobody is present. The room A/C is poor and small and cannot make the room cold during sunny day. There is no private car service and so everytime you need a car for tour they will hire from other source that make it expensive as they add additional profit in the rent.Billards and wi-fi (poor signal and slow) has extra charges. This house is away from the main beach for about 5 KM.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francizxx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panglao Island hotels

Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have paid for the room where we couldn't sleep all night long - there was a terrible smell from the bathroom canalization! The staff was shocked about this terrible smell but had no room available to help us! Early in the morning we left the place. Thus we got a nice letter of apology from the owner; we still have paid the full price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tedy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panglao Island
0.0 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 49 in Panglao Island
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bohol Coco Farm
Bohol Coco Farm
#1 of 88 in Panglao Island
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calypso Resort
Calypso Resort
#19 of 98 in Bohol Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panglao Tropical Villas
0.0 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,372 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Homes

Property: Hope Homes
Address: Daorong, Danao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hope Homes 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best deal in the beautiful PANGLAO ISLAND in BOHOL.Our rooms are (private bath, cold shower) for the fan and for the aircon (private bath, hot and cold shower, tv and fridge) INCLUDED IN THIS PRICE IS A FREE MOTORBIKE AT YOUR DISPOSAL FOR THE DURATION OF YOUR STAY.We serve food from 6am to 10pm, airport and port transfer on request, organisations of tours (chocolate hills, balicasag island), package snorkling and diving available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hope Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Homes Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing