We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed in a bungalow room ,just on the beach.At night,I was going to sleep with the sound of the waves...
The rooms are simple but comfortable.
The owners are extremly friendly and try to do everything to please you!
They can organize great trips to Bohol and the islands near by.I strongly reccomend the trip to Balicasag island ,it is great!!!
The hotel is 6 km away from Alona beach,the most animated part of the island ,but they can organize transfers at any hour.

Room Tip: The bungalows most closely to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balanescu_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This small boutique hotel is isolated so you can enjoy the calm and relax, the beach is not perfect for a swim as the tide is low but the view is great, and especially the red panoramic sunset makes it a fantastic "must-see". It has been decorated with a lot of taste, with natural and exotic material. The pool is very nice, and the cuisine is very refined. It is a true romantic place that is worth staying in for 2/3 nights during your trip in the Philippines.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lab075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We came to Ananyana resort for the wedding of a friend and apart from a beautiful location, this place has nothing in terms of Hospitality.

When we arrived, the entrance was blocked by a huge truck, we had to get off the taxi and walk in ourselves with our baby… When we asked what happened, the employee just mumbled “water problem”.

The room we have received was just behind a working area where the hotel was doing laundry and filling up the diving bottles. See the photo for the chaos just at our back-door…

There are no curtains in the rooms, just blinds but in our room they did not close properly, so in the evening when the light was on, everybody passing by could see in the room. We had to hang a towel at the place to have our privacy.

As the hotel is next to the sea, there are many mosquitos but the hotel cannot provide mosquito nets because there is nowhere to hang them. They only give one small electric mosquito repellent for a huge room…

The cleanliness of the rooms is questionable as all towels smell of mold and everything is dusty, even when you take your new room. We had no hot water in our room and when we signaled this to the staff, they entered our room to “fix” it while we were at the beach, without letting us know! There is not even a safety deposit box in the room, so we felt very upset about this but the management did not seem to understand what we “fuss about”. Visibly they do not even know the concept of privacy.

Wifi only works in the restaurant area and even there it is on-off. When several of people of our group left in the early morning and wanted to pay remaining items by card, the machine was not working and the manager suggested that we either go to the city to get cash from an ATM (when rushing to the airport) or that we do a bank transfer...

The kitchen was constantly half empty, there was no cereal for breakfast, only one type of juice, no pasta…
On the wedding night, the staff went home by 11pm, when the party people got hungry in the middle of the night, there was nobody to attend them.

Finally the diving: no checking of diving permit, no signing of documents, no briefing…But the prices were 50% more than elsewhere in Bohol.

What else to say… Prices as high as in any developed country but the quality and the service are far far behind. You do not get what you pay for and the attitude of the management is simply arrogant and utterly unfriendly.

When the wedding group complained about all the above and the couple asked for a discount to compensate all the errors, the management was not only unwilling to make any gesture, they ordered the local police to hang around to intimidate us and be there in case we do not pay… A very lousy way to treat guests and handle dissatisfaction.

Conclusion: I would never ever come back, even if I get paid for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AiBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This resort looks nice at first sight but in reality it is full of defects (bed is uncomfortable, bathroom is very basic, shower does not work properly, bad smell in the room, no internet in the room and patchy at best in the restaurant, tasteless food). The beach in front of the resort is ok but quite windy. The owner is very disrespectfully and does not seem to care about anything except drinking het shots.The only good point about this resort is the staff who is friendly. All in all, the price/quality ratio of this resort is appalling and i would not recommend it to anyone

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the beginning of our 2 weeks trip in the Philippines. We stayed there 3 nights, expecting to relax, it did not happen.
- room: was dusty, with a very hard mattress. The owner is making some savings on lighting, if you wish to read in bed, bring your flashlight.
- bathroom: not clean, shower is all rusty, barely dripping enough water for you to thoroughly wash.
The owner was on site when we visited and never said hi or asked how our stay was going. She spent her day lounging in a recliner, and entertaining her friends who were visiting. She kindly threw them a party at night with drums and bells, and drunk hoorays going well into the night. We had to complain twice for the band to stop playing.
For the money they ask, it's clearly a disappointment.
The only plus side is the staff, they are very friendly.
I wouldn't recommend this place to any of my friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Julievhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ananyana has proven once again to give outstanding service in all aspects of my stay (Spa,Cuisine, service, friendliness, rooms, diving). Despite the earthquake occurring 2 weeks ago 45 minutes drive away in Bohol, there is no damage to the resort and it is business as usual.

The resort has taken thorough precautions for its guests to ensure the utmost care is given and consistency in service and quality is maintained. The outstanding high level of professionalism and good spirit shown by all members of staff is testament to their resilience, strength and care that Ananyana has always shown towards their guests. This once again is the reason why they have a worldwide reputation amongst international guests and fellow Filipinos.

Those guests who have given a 'poor' or 'terrible' review would be hard challenged to find any other resort that is fully functional and 85% fully booked at this time especially when many surrounding resorts are not operational (closed) due to damage as a result of the earthquake.

I would personally like to congratulate the management of Ananyana for playing an integral part with assisting with the Bohol Earthquake Medical Mission and using a few of their guest rooms to store Medical provisions. This once again, reflects the selflessness of the Ananyana philosophy as they have used their own resort boats and resort staff to transport this equipment to heavily earthquake affected zones.Management have also accomodated 35 doctors from Manila to support with the relief operation. This help is never boasted nor publicised - a humble approach by Ananyana Resort as usual. Yes, it's true!

Well done to Ruela, JR, Corro, Aros, Dodong, Emma and the crew for once again an outstanding job during potentially tough business times. It doesn't show at all - let me assure you!!

All the best and cotinue with the great work guys!

Room Tip: It depends on your taste but the family room is great. All rooms are equal in quality so it's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allstek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zuerich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The service crew was very friendly!
But it is not fair to let people travel thousands of miles still knowing they will live on a construction site. Nobody informed us that the Resort rebuild the whole complex.
No SPA, No dive center, no usable pool. Two dozen workers working in front of appartment and near the pool. Be awakened by hammering early in the morning and accompanied during the day.
Still for US 220+ a night!???!!! No gesture of goodwill so far!
After 2 and a half days we left.

The nice pictures on the web are history. You will find other hotels on Bohol
less expensive with the same service. Here is nothing special anymore, except the very high price.

Room Tip: Vor der Reise sicherstellen, dass es so ist wie man es erwartet. Hier wird gerne gemogelt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller_zuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.6 mi away
BE Grand Resort, Bohol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Doljo Beach, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ananyana Beach Resort And Spa
The Ananyana Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Ananyana Beach Hotel
Ananyana Beach Panglao Hotel
Panglao
The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing