We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How relative can time be ?”
Review of Cliffside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliffside Resort
Ranked #20 of 96 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How relative can time be ?”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I admit it my mistake but then the web site actually really said " We’re only 3 minutes from the buzz of Alona Beach with its vibrant cafes and bars and of course, the beautiful Bohol Island is there waiting for you". So i thought 3 minutes is three minutes and that´s it, and booked a room because I believed it is really next to Alona beach. The truth is however, Cliffside resort is 3 minutes from Alona beach only with a (very fast) speed boat. With a motorbike (which was included in the room charge) it takes 20-30 mins depending how you manage to navigate through a network of roads under construction. Anyway that was the story why we booked the room and as the Manager did not want to refund our payment - we stayed.
The location is not too bad disregarding the distance to Alona, but if you want peace and tranquility and not much more - this place is ok unless it happens to be a big holiday season in the Philippines and the room next door is full of noisy Pinoy teenagers. As the name describes, it is on a cliff, so no beach, only steep stairs to the sea which made it also difficult to jump on or off a boat (if the boat The food does not match the room pricing and as the room does (usually) not include breakfast, you better bring your own food or drive every morning out for a breakfast (&lunch&dinner). There are some quite beautiful fish, if you enjoy snorkling (and manage to book atleast the other of the only two available masks), just close to the stairs and rocks.
If want to have a island hopping tour or tour to see the tazier, butterflies and Loboc river, it is 50-60% cheaper to book the tour from Alona beach where there are plenty of offerings to choose from. You can not actually walk 10m without somebody trying to sell a tour package.

Room Tip: Be aware of the real distance to the places you are interested of
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    30
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
18
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

we had a great experience at cliffside resort during our 5 days stay there. i was with ny husband and we really enjoyed the view, the staff are very friendly, they made us feel special. i'm really going back to this resort :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank o2charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our stay at The Cliffside was memorable in that the staff, each and everyone of them , were wonderful, and so much fun to be with. They were there when you needed help, and yet respected everyone's need for privacy if desired. Jojo, the manager, has instilled a wonderful spirit in his teams' attitude to make your stay wonderful, thus ensuring that every guest will have a happy vacation. The setting is incredible, located high on a cliff overlooking the sea, a view which can be had from the restaurant/bar, the pool with it's swim up bar, or from the sitting area in front of all of the rooms. There is no beach in front, but the water can be accessed using the stairs fronting the resort; there is great snorkelling available right off of those same stairs, with plenty of tropical sea life to observe.
Getting to the resort from the airport was made through The Cliffside; which I confirmed verbally with Jojo one day prior to arrival; and which I recommend as it went off without a hitch. He also arranged a van for a day trip to Bohols' main attractions; and also our departure trip to Tubigon so we could catch the ferry to Cebu City.
During our week long stay we took advantage of the motorcycles, one of which is assigned at no charge to each room, along with two helmets. In doing so we were able to go to Alona Beach at anytime to enjoy the busy beach and its many bars and restaurants. It was always such a relief to go back to The Cliffside in order to get away from the beach vendors, and all of the noise and commotion that will be found along that very popular beach area.
The Cliffside is isolated in it's setting, thus allowing for a restful sleep every night. Although isolated; every guest still has access to the busy Alona Beach through a 15 minute trike, or car ride should you not be a motorcycle rider; just ask the staff and they will arrange it for you.
The food at the resort was good enough that you would never have to leave at all; please try their incredible wood brick pizza.
Make sure you get up early at least one morning during your stay so you can watch the sun rise; it was a vision for us that capped off a wonderful stay at this very comfortable and reasonably priced resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Having arranged with Cliffside to be picked up at Tagbilaran Ferry Port, we were disappointed when we arrived, that nobody from Cliffside was there to meet us. We arranged with a Local Guy at the port to take us to the resort in his airconditioned van. As it turned out the Local Guy who's name is Lucy Busano was a very good find, he charged the going rate for the journey.
When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted by the manager. However there was no apology for not picking us up. Just a shrug of the shoulders and blamed his boss. We had booked a Deluxe Room for our 5 night stay, and were disapointed with the room we were given. It could only be described as being very basic. On the plus side the setting of the resort was excellent, all the rooms sit on the side of a beautiful swimming pool, which overlooks the sea.There are steps down to the sea. It was peaceful,relaxing and tranquil. The Restaurant was very nice overlooking the sea, the food was good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Cliffside is quite isolated, and walking anywere is a no no. Cliffside provide motor bikes for guests to use. However if you do not ride a motor bike, they will arrange transport ( tricycle ) to take you were you want to go. We took a tricycle to Alona Beach about 15 mins away, it is a very busy place with bars and hotels along the beach front. It was nice to get back to the peace and quiet of Cliffside. We booked Lucy to take us on a Full Days Tour of the Island, which included a trip down the Loboc River ( with an all you could eat lunch ). The Tarsier Sanctury, The Chocolate Hills etc. He was a Fantastic Guide pointing out various points of interest on the way. We had a Very Memorable Day, and would Highly Recommend him.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic 4 nights at Cliffside. The staff were so friendly that I got to know them by name and nothing was too much trouble. The manager Jojo (sorry if spelt wrong) was so patient and was clearly taking time to train the young staff. As soon as I asked for anything or reported something he was on to it.
The pool was nice and clean and I enjoyed having cocktails and even breakfast in the pool bar (its not always staffed but just ask at the main bar and they will come over. The rooms surround the pool so everything is so close.
You cant walk or swim to Alona beach from the cliff but you can walk down the steps and snorkel straight into the water. There is a beach in the other direction you can probably swim to, but I didn't try.
The menu is good enough to not require going further afield, unless you really want to. Tarsier Botanika (no Tarsiers, just gardens) is only a few hundred metres down the road (so if your taxi doesn't know cliffside tell them to head for Tarsier Botanika). They provide a free motorbike with your room, or can take you to Alona beach for a small fee.
The owners are rarely there and don't interact with their guests, but luckily for them they have good staff. I emailed for an airport taxi but never got a response, but luckily getting one from the terminal was easy. Im not convinced the owners take any notice of their emails haven spoken to other guests, so double check any arrangements
Alona beach is busy and with all the boats its not good for swimming so km glad I stayed somewhere more peaceful with a pool, and Cliffside was perfect for me
Note: 4* in Philippines is not the same as 4* in Europe. Go with the right expectations and you will love it

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelMustTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed two nights are the Cliffside resort. The property is secluded and very silent, which we liked compared to Alona beach. We have stayed in a standard room, obviously one of the older ones. It was good value for money, but I have to admit that gluing shells to bathroom faucets is really a rather weird idea. Overall the rooms was OK but not really top notch. When you want to arrive after sunset (as we did) be prepared that your tuk tuk or taxi driver might not know the way - it looks like that the resort did change names. Guide him to Tarsier Botanica (which is the top property on Panglao) and watch out for signs which are rather small and be prepared for a rough ride for 500m meters from the main road. Staff was really trying their best, sometimes with more sometimes with less success, but still overall the level of service was very good for Philippines. The best thing about the resort is the view to the sea. You will be staying on the cliffside and can even walk down to the water. The Oct'2013 bohol earthquake did leave some notable damage in the area. A part of the cliff did crash down into the sea taking a part of the terace with it Likewise the water access has been damaged and we learned the resort boat did sink in the typhoon. But they are working intensely to repair the damage, so you may not notice too much besides really large stone stone blocks in the sea when you arrive . Never the less there is no beach nearby. You can take a tuk tuk or walk to Alona in about 30 minutes. Overall a it was a nice stay and a good value for money.

Room Tip: Take a room a bit further from the main reception, the staff can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotharko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Due to the other hotel at the Alona beach was fully booked we have booked Cliffside and thought it would be at the end of the beach and can be easily accessible to the beach and other restaurants. The resorts has no restaurants, bars, souvenir shops,but just tranquility. There are only 9 rooms in the resort. There is quite a distance of road to get in to the resort from the main road, and the road condition was really bad. You can't just walk out from the hotel, you need to get a taxi or a tricycle in order to get out. This place is really not convenient for divers, but it is nice for those who just looking for tranquiity and a nice place to stay and just spend time in the resort. There is no kettle or cup in the room, you have to ask the staff to get everything for you. The lightings in the room is really very dim, the good thing is they have additional standing fan in the room other than the aircon. There is no comforter in the room, only a thin sheet of bed sheet used as the blanket and you will have to place a request if you want the staff to clean up the room for you. With the price you are paying, you can actually get a nicer room at the Alona beach area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carm3n2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.3 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#11 of 49 in Panglao Island
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 49 in Panglao Island
779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
835 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Resort

Property: Cliffside Resort
Address: km. 16 Hoyohoy, Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mabuhay" at Cliffside Resort Bohol! The new Swiss and German management (since July 1st 2016) is welcoming you in our tranquillity place with an outstanding view of the Bohol Sea! 13 newly renovated rooms - ocean and pool view - are awaiting you here in our little paradise. If you just want to chill out, enjoy a day at the pool, if you like to discover Bohol, we can organize trips for you as well as motorbikes or cars. If you like diving, snorkeling or boat trips- our PADI dive center on the premises Prana Divers will take care of you! If you like to enjoy the nightlife - Alona beach is just a few minutes drive from Cliffside Resort! You will find all you need! Our restaurant offers a wide variety of Asian and western food. So no matter if you prefer Chop Suey or German Jägerschnitzel - our kitchen team will prepare everything freshly for you! We also serve breakfast the whole day long. We are open from 06:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. The islands Panglao and Bohol offer many opportunities, have a look at "Hinagdayan" cave, see the Tarsier monkeys, which you can only find in the south of the Philippines, get some adrenaline at the zipline, enjoy the view at the "Chocolate Hills", learn about history when visiting the "Blood Compound" or find out about the cultivation of rice at the rice terraces... There are so many things to experience here and we can organize it all for you! The Philippines consist of 7107 islands. Panglao is one of them. But there are many small islands surrounding Panglao and we can bring you there! Go snorkelling with the turtles at Balicasag or see the inviolacy of Virgin Island. The beauty of nature will take your breathe away! Discover the underwater world and go diving with our dive center "PRANA" No matter if you are a beginner or a well experienced diver - our PADI dive shop will guide you to our very pristine coral reefs, the natural living environment of sea turtles, frog fish, sardines and even whale sharks! You must not miss that! You want to be mobile? No problem! We organize the rental of motorbikes and cars for you! Our trustworthy partners provide you with well maintained vehicles so you can discover the loveliness of Panglao and Bohol individually! Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Cliffside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing