We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Beach at a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Right on the Beach at a Great Value”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is literally right on the beach; when we went to snorkel, the boat picked us up about 20 feet from where we were having breakfast at the hotel. There are also plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance so you can entertain yourself at night without having to get a cab.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    153
    93
    46
    42
See reviews for
82
145
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really friendly staff, clean rooms with safety deposit boxes, good free WiFi, free breakfast, hot water and air-con all help to make Lost Horizon a great choice for a relaxing diving holiday. Whilst not the cheapest option on Alona beach, this resort is well worth the money as it is walking distance to bars and restaurants (whilst offering a great Chicken Adodo themselves) and has an excellent dive company, Philippine Fun Divers, attached to the resort. I loved my time here, both above and below the water, and would definitely suggest this resort for anyone that wants a top class relaxing diving holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 132DanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We appreciate all comments received from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to the Dive Shop personnel. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked our deluxe room via Agoda. It's one of the few beachfront hotels that still has an available room with a reasonable price, so close to our travel date. It's near the Alona Beach, so you can easily go to the bank ATM or to the mini-grocery for chips and drinks if you need to.

When we got there, though the place has some age to it, there has been some effort to modernize and it did not disappoint. The room was spacious, with a king size bed with comfortable sheets and blanket, mini bar, and a flat screen TV. Our room had a balcony with a view of the pool. We had good wi-fi signal for the most part of the day.

They serve a generous set breakfast between 6am to 10am. We had to request for some adjustments from them because we had to be up and about by 5am for a tour and they were basically hinting that we'll forfeit the breakfast. I asked if they can just cook it before the kitchen close for the night and we'll just heat it up in the morning, to which they agreed to. I'm sure they have a lot of guests with the same dilemma as most tourists will have at least one day scheduled for dolphin watching, the packed breakfast options should be something that they can pro-actively suggest rather than being a lengthy discussion.

The swimming pool was average in size and well maintained. There are only two lounge beds and it's beside the pool. Though the resort is beachfront, the water directly in front of Lost Horizon is not the best place to swim in. There are a lot of docked boats, rocks and seaweeds. There's also a lot of foot traffic and the beach is narrow. The mot recommended swim area will be to walk towards Alona Tropical where the beach is wider and with fine textured sand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cieloism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I was please to read your positive comments about our amenities during your stay with us. We are glad you also enjoyed the natural beauty of Bohol’s waters. I hope you will decide to visit us again in your future travels. Thank you again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,788 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I needed a place to hang out two different days while my daughter went diving. Picked the Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort restaurant as it looked inviting and was close to the dive center used by my daughter. I had none of the problems others below encountered and, in fact, found the restaurant to be very pleasant. Service was very friendly and not unattentive. Prices of food a bit on the high side, but not unreasonable. Had very good pancit and passable kinilaw. Best of all, is their extended Happy Hours (11:00 am to late afternoon), offering San Miguel pilsen bottles for only 30 pesos....cheapest on Alona Beach, as far as I know.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my family have been in lost horizon resort last december 2013...it was a great experience. The resort is reasonable prize actually it's really affordable and have a good service too. The best thing i like in this resort is the live music at night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

After swiftly checking out of one hotel in the sticks.
We checked straight into this place.
And thank god we did, our trip would of been totally different if we had not.
The location,restaurant choice and choice of pool or beach is great.
It's no Hilton, but it clean,accessible,friendly staff and in a prime spot to enjoy the main attraction of the beach.
We stayed in delux room 3, nice balcony,easy to get to from the beach/ pool,close to bar. However in the morning the hustle and bustle of life is very noticeable,we didn't mind as we got up early most days.
Only downside for me is the trip tauts trying to sell you outings while enjoying the view of the beautiful skyline as we ate or drank.
Difficult to talk as they interrupt ever few mins,but you will get this every where without fail.
Would definitely come back.
Thanks y'all

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Location of the resort is Great because its a Beach front. We Booked an advance reservation and it was handled well. When we got there, our room was Upgraded from Deluxe to Executive Sun View room and were very thankful for that. The room was very spacious and had a Balcony with a nice View of the Beach. We stayed here last March 4 for 3 days & 2 nights. Our first day in Panglao,we had a tour at Bohol bee Farm which their Lunch was very healthy and organic, we also went to Hinagdanan Cave and last is to the Shell Museum. At dinner their was a lot of restaurants available along Alona Beach and also the resort has it too with Live Band. The restaurant was Ok but compare to others, the serving time was really long. But i dont mind waiting.

For our 2nd day we arrange a packed Breakfast at 6am, because we have an Island Hopping tour at Balicasag Island and Virgin Island.It needed to be early because of the Dolphin watching. In Balicasag Island they have Chairs and Table where you could also Order food in advance. And you could also rent Foot gears for Snorkeling and Diving. The Snorkeling Experience was very fun and you could feed the Fish with bread or skyflakes.

Our last destination was Virgin Island. Its a picture perfect location where you could walk through the long sand bars. The water was very clear and my girlfriend also tried to eat sea urchins that are sold along the beach. The island is a private property so expect that it don't have comfort rooms.

Overall stay in Lost Horizon Resort, was a great experience and worth coming back.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoralesAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#22 of 49 in Panglao Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#18 of 49 in Panglao Island
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
#27 of 49 in Panglao Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort

Property: Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Address: Alona Beach Rd, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort offers low price accommodations with restaurant, Bar and beach BBQ as well as a live band 6 days a week, located in the famous Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Hotel Panglao Island
Lost Horizon Panglao
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing