We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the beach”
Review of Isis Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Isis Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 4 days. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large enough, but the fixtures were all plastic (but they worked fine so that didn't bother me). Our room was a few steps from the beach, and we had a small patio were we could sit and enjoy the ocean air. We had a problem while we were at the resort, the A/C in our room stopped working one morning. I went to the desk and reported it and 2 men came to fix it within 5 minutes. After trying for a few minutes to get it to work they quickly removed the unit and replaced it with a new one. We had A/C again about 10 min after I reported the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

We found fortunately that place when we came from Dumaluan beach, the babgalows are cean snd confortable. I can also rcommend the ythai restsurant which has feasible prices. Stuff is quite friendly and helpfully.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnnySnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

i am a walk-in guest looking for available rooms. i reached at the bar where i thought it was the reception. the non-uniform guy pointed the reception for me. i was glad that he welcomed me with a smile. after i reached the reception, 2 lady receptionists are chit-chatting and see me as a stranger in the woods. what was that? they CAN'T even show some smiles for me. ohhh darling, if you are the receptionist, can you have... at least...FAKE SMILES for every guest? we are inquiring for rooms and we will pay. aren't you glad for a wonderful day you had? i better eat at your restaurant where i feel special treatment there. very hospitable and never failed to smile, even if i see them that they are busy with other customers. but i wonder why these 2 teens serve us nwithout their uniforms? almost staff i see are wearing i ♥ isis but i see some who arent wearing, but that does'nt matter. they are VERY opposite to the receptionists you have.

Room Tip: the restaurant is good. i wonder who their chef was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reeyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Sitting here having breakfast at isis with nice view of 100 boats gently bobbing in the water. So get your brain spam filter set to ignore the following words as you will hear them during every quiet moment like this. Literally every few steps along the beach. Now while at breakfast people wandering through restaraunt. Talking to you're gf or family prepare to be constantly hearing "island hopping. Chocolate hills?" Quaint first day and realise they have a job to do but by second it drives one mad like the repitition of Chinese water torture. It's non stop from the moment you step out of your room. Same phrase repeated hundreds of find a day and they don't go until you answer. So expect hundreds of no thanks to say.
Isis average. Only room left was a budget room 2000 pesos. Just a box with aircon and bathroom. No towels. Sheets but no blanket or cover. Order coffee at restaraunt? Get a cup of Luke warm water with a Nescafé satchel and a satchet of artificial creamer. Ok so too cheap to buy a coffee brewer but couldn't they heat the water and maybe open the satchet and pour it in? Too much effort. Order toast. Get just that. A slice of cooked bread. No butter nothing. Just a total lack of effort is frustrating.
Overall best suggestion is to use Panglao is as a diving base only. It's overpriced,tourist trap with constant hawkers. Lots better places in the phils for a holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Location is at the end of the beach, so a few hundred meters walk down the beach path with your luggage. Well worth it because it is in a great location. The Resteraunt is Thai food and we thought it was the best on the island. The staff are so friendly, we had a good laugh with them. Ideal place for sunsets... Looked forward to them each night along with a beach massage. Although Alona Beach is a very touristy area, it is a fun place with plenty of things to do. The room was very comfortable and clean and ideal place for a relaxed holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Rowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

pros:

fast email response for reservations and inquiries
reasonable price for the room and transfers
friendly driver for their airport transfers and countryside tour
the place looks nice and very well maintained
large and clean family room and toilet
very good thai restaurant at the ground floor (very good pad thai and other thai selections)
beach in front of the property is good for swimming even for small kids
many restaurants and stores nearby

cons:

you need to walk from the airport transfer drop-off point to the property
front desk manager does not/seldom smile/s
beachfront of the property is not too wide and expansive
the danggit (fish) in one of the breakfast selections is always a bit hard to eat
front desk manager will dissuade you from paying using credit card, even if it's advertised that they accept credit cards
boat tour operator arranged for us was not good (better make the arrangements yourself when you get to the area)
the fruit shake blender at the bar in the restaurant is too noisy
water pressure is not enough for the water heater

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 1 are most preferred. we stayed at room 7 which is also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JrlnLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just came back from a stay at the Isis, and stayed in a standard room. The room was clean upon arrival, and I mean REALLY clean. The smell of bleach was in the air, the tiles were so clean you could probably eat off of the floor. No gritty feeling walking around barefoot, and no dirt on my feet either. The floor was squeaky clean, the toilet smelled like bleach, the drains were all clean in the shower and bathroom, the shower curtain was spotless (no mildew, rust or any mystery stain). Chrome fixtures didn't have any watermarks, bed linen smelled like laundry soap... so I've pretty much elaborated on my point of the room being clean :)

Room description for standard room #10:

The location made me feel hungry most of the time since I could smell all the yummy dishes they were cooking in the restaurant (so that's a good selling point right there to go eat at their restaurant which serves great curry) if that bothers you, ask for a room further down the back of the property to be further away from the kitchen (incidentally, room #9 is right beside the kitchen, fyi).

The room itself had a king sized bed, with two pillows, and a medium weight flat sheet that served as the blanket. Mattress was foam and was comfy enough to sleep on, not rock hard and not too soft. The aircon was cold enough during the middle of the day, the small tv is up on the wall and had cable channels. Wifi in the room was at almost full bar because it's right across from the front desk. There is a coffee making amenity in the room but you'll have to ask for hot water as the water from the faucet isn't potable (it's posted on the wall that the water is trucked in from the river). Hot water in the shower was nice and hot, and the shower head provided ample spray circumference (great water pressure also). 2 towels are provided, 2 little bars of soap and 2 sachets of shampoo.

Staff were great and helpful. I had an early flight in and the room was immediately available (might not be the same situation if you check in during Chinese New Year since that's when Alona is bursting at the seams). Car ride to the airport was nice and comfy with a friendly driver.

The resort's location is right near the end of Alona beach away from the crowd where all the beachside bbq restaurants are at, so it's very quiet all throughout the day with only the sound of the waves as your soundtrack. No pool, but when the sea is flat, who wants to be in the pool??

The restaurant, as many reviewers have said before, serves great thai food. I encourage you to try the curries! The place also gets crowded during meal times also so I just took my lunch from the restaurant's counter and ate in my room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeepSeaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
189 reviews
1 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#22 of 50 in Panglao Island
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 50 in Panglao Island
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 50 in Panglao Island
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#4 of 5 in Danao
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isis Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isis Bungalows

Address: Alona Beach, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: £27 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isis Bungalows is a resort hotel in Panglao Island, Bohol Province in Central Philippines. The resort, which opened in 2005, is under Swiss supervision and boasts of affordable but world-class room accommodations and a spacious, refine, thai and filipino restaurant with a panoramic view of the sea.The resort is located right on the beach of Alona Beach, away from the traffic and the disco. The warm sea is our swimming pool.Isis Bungalows is definitely the place for those who want to experience the sun, the sand and the sea - the best that Panglao Island has to offer at that price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Isis Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isis Bungalows Hotel Panglao Island
Isis Hotel Bohol
Isis Bungalows Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing