We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY BRILLIANT”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a very comfortable getaway dripping with artistically styled surroundings this will be the place for you. Every aspect of the resort was pleasing or outstanding.
The staff were all friendly and attentive, as well as being genuinely caring regarding the welfare of our often noisy 2 young boys. We also had a minor medical issue, the resort arranged an appointment with a specialist and drove my wife to see the doctor, waited with her to make sure she was OK and assisted with procuring of prescriptions( Kim you get a special mention for that :))
The room we had was spacious enough, comfortable, clean with a huge bathroom, a bar fridge and balcony equipped with a single wire clothes line. Bedsheets were changed everyday along with all bath & beach towels. The room was virtually adjacent the swimming pool and path to the beach which was an excellent room to have if you have small children who will be in the pool everyday.. Worth noting the Wifi worked in our room which was convenient.
We borrowed DVDs almost every night from the vast DVD library in the main building.

The beach was OK without being magnificent but better than Alona Beach and also there is a drop off about 150-200m out which you can snorkel out to which I did nearly every day seeing lots of marine life and coral including turtles and several sea snakes. There is very little or no boat traffic at this part of Panglao so I always felt safe whilst snorkeling. We used the beach evry morning followed by time around the pool up to & after lunch.

The resort arranged a dive master for me to go scuba diving with, this gentleman was French and I found his judgement sound and the dives were certainly fun. Unfortunately due to some bad weather I was unable to make it to Ballicasag Island to dive.

Food.....was awesome. Every meal was tasty, fresh, substantial and well presented and the restaurant staff become our friends. We ate most of our meals at the resort with just a few trips to Alona Beach.
Many thanks to Brian, Jennifer, Joseph, Jake, Avonne, Malou, Kim....and all the others whose names I cannot remember as I write this and for not remembering I am truly apologetic. You all made our stay wonderful and unforgettable.
I highly recommend this resort to anybody who is considering a trip to the Philippines and Bohol.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MUZDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Amarela Resort is the Best in Panglao (or even in Bohol) that suits guest's budget!
Located couple of steps from the beach.
Free WIFI.
Provides Free Water Activities.
Their beach is okay with grayish sand and few grass on it.
You will love the hammocks tied in the coconut trees.
Pool is okay with a limited size.
We love the room and the amenities as it provides comfort and warmth stay.
Hotel can give all necessities needed for a perfect holiday of either family or couple.
Good Cable (cignal) with LED LCD TV.
Polite Staffs that always greet.
Smart Receptionists in complete polo uniform speaks English well.
Good Restaurant that offers yummy meals.
Hotel can even prepare your packed meals if ever you are planning to have a tour on early morning, just let them know at least a day before.
Forget going outside as the nearest market is almost 20-30 minutes by walk.
You can ask the hotel to arrange transfer for you if you want to go for shopping or dine in Panglao Beach.

Room Tip: Please choose room next to swimming pool as this room will be near to the beach access too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ochie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect for those who want a quiet, calm break from the hubdub of urbanized, packed hotels and inns....we especially appreciated the antique, native settings and decors; the garden so well complements the terrain and the beach was more private...food was very good too although they could do with more varied selections...excellent staff who are always courteous and smiling! A good connection to avail of alternate choices for public transport other than the hotels' would be a great perk.

Room Tip: the corner suites have the best sunrise/sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthiemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here June 25-28 2013 for a family of 4. I was confused at the way the third party described it so i emailed Amarela. They responded promptly and was able to accomodate my request without a hassle.The resort had well appointed decor and somehow perfect for the environment. A place that reminded me of my early years. Very nostalgic and very homey. You can see the vast horizon. The staff is very cordial. Kim who picked us up from the pier was very polite and helpful. The only thing that was off was the seaweed after the rain the day that we got it but other than that we had a very wonderful stay. The woodworks were amazing. Our kids love this place especially considering this is their first time in the country. There was a nurse that was able to help us when one of our kids was under the weather. They attend to you once you hit the beach and notice you just settled in then offer you drinks, they attend to your every need. This place is pristine.the beach was what I expected: clean , clear, perfect blue and no danger. It has a big sand bar at low tide. Ahhhh! We relive our stay there over and over. There is wifi even at the beach! This place has a very good vibe. " it feels like you are in a home" says my daughter. We got to see local life when we strolled the beach at dusk beyond the resort premises. It's perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion93722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in Amarela, and enjoyed the hotel very much.

It is not in Alona beach, but 10 minutes away by taxi. However, their private beach is a lot nicer than Alona and we were always the only two persons there. Definitely recommend it to relax in a quiet and secluded place.

We rented a motorbike at Alona the first day and kept it for the whole stay, as it was very helpful to move around.

Their restaurant has very good food, and they have a HUGE collection of DVDs for guests use.

To improve:
- include juice and yogurt in breakfast.
- offer bicycles to go to Alona for the guests, or at least another reasonable option (taxi and motorbike hired at the frontdesk are 250% or more higher than the market rate)
- broaden the options for breakfast. There's only 3 options, but one is Filipino (did not look good) and the other is bread&butter, so I always ended up having the third choice

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdiaz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I've read a lot of great reviews about Amarela, but I assure you, it definitely lives up to expectations. In fact, it has exceeded mine! First of all, the resort if absolutely gorgeous. Everything is just well thought of, and such a prideful display of Boholano culture and arts. The resort is well maintained and the staff very helpful and polite. Rooms are exquisite and I adore the wooden furniture. Thy have a variety of food to choose from and quite reasonably priced. Then there's the lovely infinity pool and who can forget the breath taking white beach. If you're looking for beach party life, then this is not the resort for you. However if you really want to relax and have a chill out vacation, you can never go wrong with Amarela. We'll definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelchicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We really enjoyed every moment of our stay at Amarela.


Excellent and friendly staff, delightful food, magnificent rooms, splendid view, organized country tour.....everything perfect!



Until our next Bohol adventure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,535 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 50 in Panglao Island
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: £83 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing