We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the moment we booked our trip, we were impressed with the level of service at Amarela. They were very responsive to pre-arrival email questions and requests. Upon our arrival at the seaport, pickup by Amarela staff was flawless.
We stayed at this resort looking for a quiet, secluded area with picturesque views that was small and a bit different than the typical large resorts. Amarela certainly fits this description. Amarela is small, and affords lots of opportunities to spend time with family and friends. The small number of other guests and comfortable internet equipped common area also allow you the possibility to get to know some of the other resort guests, if this is what you want. If, on the other hand you want more solitude this is possible too. Often during our visit we were the only ones at the beach or pool. The guest rooms are clean, decent size, with large well equipped bathrooms and nice antique features throughout. The TV features a wide assortment of channels; however, it wasn’t working our first night. Internet access is included and works pretty well, however, it seems limited to only the common area around the restaurant. Upon check-in we were provided with a (quite complicated) password for the WiFi in the beach area. I could never get this to work. The Wifi in the restaurant area does not require a complicated password and works pretty well.
The onsite restaurant offers a somewhat limited menu, but the choices offered are prepared well and the prices aren’t terribly expensive. That’s a good thing, since there really isn’t any other nearby place to eat. This is something to keep in mind. Unless you take day-trips to visit attractions in the local area, you will be eating all of your meals at this restaurant. I wish the resort would get in partnership with some restaurants in the nearby town to increase available dining options.
The resort staff was friendly and seemed able to answer most of our questions.
In summary – if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, and beautiful resort with a limited number of other guests, you should checkout Amarela. If, however, you are looking for a large resort with many dining options and lots of activities to entertain the kids, Amarela might not be the best choice for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMYIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    156
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
159
227
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Good staff, lovely food, great service, beautifully decorated place with a white idyllic beach, great massages, nice pool and well maintained garden at a good location. We would go back in a heart beat. Staff are very well trained and treated by the managers (also from asking around in the area) which we always find an important plus. Only thing I would recommend to even further enhance the customer experience is to change the pillows as they need renewal. But I would recommend anyone wanting to stay in Bohol for vacation or business to stay here. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravellers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a very comfortable getaway dripping with artistically styled surroundings this will be the place for you. Every aspect of the resort was pleasing or outstanding.
The staff were all friendly and attentive, as well as being genuinely caring regarding the welfare of our often noisy 2 young boys. We also had a minor medical issue, the resort arranged an appointment with a specialist and drove my wife to see the doctor, waited with her to make sure she was OK and assisted with procuring of prescriptions( Kim you get a special mention for that :))
The room we had was spacious enough, comfortable, clean with a huge bathroom, a bar fridge and balcony equipped with a single wire clothes line. Bedsheets were changed everyday along with all bath & beach towels. The room was virtually adjacent the swimming pool and path to the beach which was an excellent room to have if you have small children who will be in the pool everyday.. Worth noting the Wifi worked in our room which was convenient.
We borrowed DVDs almost every night from the vast DVD library in the main building.

The beach was OK without being magnificent but better than Alona Beach and also there is a drop off about 150-200m out which you can snorkel out to which I did nearly every day seeing lots of marine life and coral including turtles and several sea snakes. There is very little or no boat traffic at this part of Panglao so I always felt safe whilst snorkeling. We used the beach evry morning followed by time around the pool up to & after lunch.

The resort arranged a dive master for me to go scuba diving with, this gentleman was French and I found his judgement sound and the dives were certainly fun. Unfortunately due to some bad weather I was unable to make it to Ballicasag Island to dive.

Food.....was awesome. Every meal was tasty, fresh, substantial and well presented and the restaurant staff become our friends. We ate most of our meals at the resort with just a few trips to Alona Beach.
Many thanks to Brian, Jennifer, Joseph, Jake, Avonne, Malou, Kim....and all the others whose names I cannot remember as I write this and for not remembering I am truly apologetic. You all made our stay wonderful and unforgettable.
I highly recommend this resort to anybody who is considering a trip to the Philippines and Bohol.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUZDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Amarela Resort is the Best in Panglao (or even in Bohol) that suits guest's budget!
Located couple of steps from the beach.
Free WIFI.
Provides Free Water Activities.
Their beach is okay with grayish sand and few grass on it.
You will love the hammocks tied in the coconut trees.
Pool is okay with a limited size.
We love the room and the amenities as it provides comfort and warmth stay.
Hotel can give all necessities needed for a perfect holiday of either family or couple.
Good Cable (cignal) with LED LCD TV.
Polite Staffs that always greet.
Smart Receptionists in complete polo uniform speaks English well.
Good Restaurant that offers yummy meals.
Hotel can even prepare your packed meals if ever you are planning to have a tour on early morning, just let them know at least a day before.
Forget going outside as the nearest market is almost 20-30 minutes by walk.
You can ask the hotel to arrange transfer for you if you want to go for shopping or dine in Panglao Beach.

Room Tip: Please choose room next to swimming pool as this room will be near to the beach access too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ochie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect for those who want a quiet, calm break from the hubdub of urbanized, packed hotels and inns....we especially appreciated the antique, native settings and decors; the garden so well complements the terrain and the beach was more private...food was very good too although they could do with more varied selections...excellent staff who are always courteous and smiling! A good connection to avail of alternate choices for public transport other than the hotels' would be a great perk.

Room Tip: the corner suites have the best sunrise/sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here June 25-28 2013 for a family of 4. I was confused at the way the third party described it so i emailed Amarela. They responded promptly and was able to accomodate my request without a hassle.The resort had well appointed decor and somehow perfect for the environment. A place that reminded me of my early years. Very nostalgic and very homey. You can see the vast horizon. The staff is very cordial. Kim who picked us up from the pier was very polite and helpful. The only thing that was off was the seaweed after the rain the day that we got it but other than that we had a very wonderful stay. The woodworks were amazing. Our kids love this place especially considering this is their first time in the country. There was a nurse that was able to help us when one of our kids was under the weather. They attend to you once you hit the beach and notice you just settled in then offer you drinks, they attend to your every need. This place is pristine.the beach was what I expected: clean , clear, perfect blue and no danger. It has a big sand bar at low tide. Ahhhh! We relive our stay there over and over. There is wifi even at the beach! This place has a very good vibe. " it feels like you are in a home" says my daughter. We got to see local life when we strolled the beach at dusk beyond the resort premises. It's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion93722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in Amarela, and enjoyed the hotel very much.

It is not in Alona beach, but 10 minutes away by taxi. However, their private beach is a lot nicer than Alona and we were always the only two persons there. Definitely recommend it to relax in a quiet and secluded place.

We rented a motorbike at Alona the first day and kept it for the whole stay, as it was very helpful to move around.

Their restaurant has very good food, and they have a HUGE collection of DVDs for guests use.

To improve:
- include juice and yogurt in breakfast.
- offer bicycles to go to Alona for the guests, or at least another reasonable option (taxi and motorbike hired at the frontdesk are 250% or more higher than the market rate)
- broaden the options for breakfast. There's only 3 options, but one is Filipino (did not look good) and the other is bread&butter, so I always ended up having the third choice

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdiaz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#5 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing