We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come back”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will definitely come back”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was a "hidden gem" hotel. The staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, and the food delicious. We also took advantage of the island tour offered by the hotel and it did not disappoint. The hotel also called us a tricycle that we took to Alona beach and back.
It's a smaller hotel, and we went after the typhoon so many guests had cancelled their trips. The resort was sadly quite empty, but the staff was still very attentive and constantly keeping the grounds clean. The beach is great, there are hammocks all over, beach toys for kids, and the water is clear and sand white. It's very shallow and early morning, the low tide exposes everything. The pool was clean and just the right size. The offer a few floaters for the kids too. The restaurant food is amazing, it's organic food, grown on site, and home cooked. Only two things that I hope the hotel could consider for the future, a desk lamp so one could use the desk to work while the rest sleeps, and one wifi password instead of three or four depending where you are in the resort.

Room Tip: It's hard to get to, but hotel offers free transfer to and from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    160
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
163
239
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

i booked this hotel last September for Nov. 4-7 stay. It was a very smooth transaction with their reservations agents and answered all my emails in a timely manner.

Come October, a very devastating earthquake happened in Bohol and many lives were lost, old churches damaged and of course, tourism gone bad for the people in Bohol who makes this as a living.

We cancelled our trip. scared of our lives to be put in danger because of the aftershocks but then weeks gone by, my husband and i decided to push through. We thought, Boholanos are moving on and one way to help them is to bring the tourism back to life and fellow Filipinos like us should start helping.

We just can't deny the fact that we are so happy that we pushed through with our travel. We LOVE Bohol and of course, AMARELA. The interiors are great! The restaurant is overlooking the plush garden, pool and the sea. they also have wide variety of dvds to choose from and books as well!

We booked the cheapest room but definitely not cheap looking! I love the bathroom, it is huge. The room is very clean and kept clean everyday.

the food was really great too!!!

to top it all, the service was excellent! Every staff was polite, very friendly and accommodating.

It was really a nice choice booking AMARELA. If we'll go back to Bohol, we'll definitely book them again.

Room Tip: choose upper floor room to have a good view of the sunrise and sunset at your balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisel_dang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod CIty, Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were in Amerela from Nov 6 to Nov 9 and we really liked the place, Staff were friendly and accommodating, rooms were very clean and I love their food. It tastes so good because they are all organically grown right in their own backyard!:). No wonder their nilaga, tinola and their veggies taste so good. When the super typhoon hit visayas on Nov 7/8, all the tourist spots were closed down and we just spent a rainy Nov 8 day at their pool which was very nice. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and will come back here next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paqs I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few days in September. I wish we could have stayed longer. The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff are amazing. I don't know where to begin with this review, but I will say that this has been one of the best holidays of my life. From the moment you are picked up at the airport, you know you're in for a treat.

The resort has incredibly beautiful gardens, an amazing pool, and is situated right on the beach. Every morning and evening we sat at the Resort's restaurant and looked out to the blue waters of the ocean. The room was spotless, with great air-conditioning and a comfortable bed. The staff attended to our every need without fuss, and with a smile on their face. Unfortunately the oven of the restaurant broke while we were there, so we were unable to try a number of items on the menu, but the staff were very apologetic and we made do with stove cooked meals which were still delicious.

The front desk staff helped us to choose the tours we wanted to do, and then they booked everything for us. All we needed to do was show up at the front desk at the set time, and everything was taken care of. Everything is charged to your room (including any tours you book through the front desk) which is great, because it means you can just pay by card at the end of your trip. I will be going back at some point in the future, and I've already recommended to friends in the Philippines that they stay here when in Bohol.

Of course, between our stay and writing this review, Bohol has been hit with an earthquake and Typhoon Yolanda has struck the Philippines. I hope that Amarela Resort and the staff there, as well as the people of Bohol are OK and safe, and that any damage done can be repaired.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are handy for easily moving from the pool to your room, but do not have ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jono_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We just had our beach wedding in this beautiful place last October 20, 2013. Yes, just 5 days after the 7.2 magnitude earthquake that struck Bohol. Fortunately, Amarela was not affected, although the owner's hometown in Antequera and some of the employees' homes were affected.

Amarela was the perfect place for our intimate but fun and memorable wedding. I remember when we were doing our oculars in search of a venue for our wedding, Amarela was the last resort we went to. We had just come from another snooty resort that didn't make us feel very welcomed and required for us to book all the rooms in order to hold our wedding there. We were turned off by their policies and their attitude, and we were tired from our search. We talked to Nadine (of Amarela) to ask about their policies and she told us that we also had to book all the rooms. But she was very respectful and courteous to say the least. When she brought us down to the beach area, my husband and I simply looked at each other with a smile and said, "This is our place!" Then we thought it would actually be great to have the entire place booked by the wedding party, so we can have the whole place to ourselves.

From the very first day that we inquired, the entire staff if Amarela have been very accommodating with our queries, requests, etc. They are all very respectful and professional. Nadine and Malou, whom we were communicating with during the preparations, were very prompt and precise. It is no doubt that the charm of this place does not only come from its aesthetics, but also from its own people. Even the owners were very friendly and accommodating.

Amarela is a small boutique resort in its own quaint location, with a good distance from the chaos in Alona Beach. They have their own little strip of beach in front where you can enjoy far more privacy than in Alona. Food is great, prepared by a local chef. The decor of Amarela is beautiful, with exquisite wood carvings and details. Bathrooms were spacious, beds were nice and comfy, with a basket of local broas and polvoron. Everybody loved absolutely everything about Amarela. And with the help of our events stylist (Bluegrass Project) and our coordinators (Supreme Weddings), the place was transformed to an even more stunning venue.

We definitely made the right choice with Amarela. As we look back, we wouldn't have had it any other way or done it in any other place.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank marliesrbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
344 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our family had a great stay here for 3 nights, 4 of us sharing a somewhat squeezed deluxe room. Its a small place with great views over the ocean, overlooking a small stretch of coconut palms that one walks through to get to the beach, and the grounds are green and luxurious, and the main building is decorated with traditional Philippines art and antiques. Rooms are modern, well equipped, DVD players (and the hotel has a colossal DVD library). There is a reef just offshore that is great for snorkeling - sea snakes, morays, clown fish, many others. A few hundred meters up the beach another outfit offers jetskis, wake boarding, etc. Kayaks, snorkeling equipment etc are offered by the hotel free of charge. The staff were extremely accommodating, going out of their way to meet our needs, including booking restaurants and transfers, scuba diving and dolphin watching, etc. Food was very good, including sumptuous breakfast with multiple choices, and cocktails at dinner for Dad. Very highly recommend this - easily best place we have stayed in 2 years in Philippines.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors, and higher ones will get good views over ocean, but lower ones will be close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you love serene strips of beach that allow long walks in the sand. Perfect for relaxation and soul searching. The isolated beach also was abundant with hammocks to allow for lazy afternoon naps along the beach. It might not have the excitement and the crowds like ALONA beach, but one can easily hire a tricycle or a shuttle to bring you to ALONA if the itch is there :) The rooms were very well maintained , and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast choices were sumptuous, but the lunch and dinner options were a bit in the pricey end. We opted to visit the ALONA area for dinner.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the same level as the coffee shop to avoid the stairs and have easy access to br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,370 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 49 in Panglao Island
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing