We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Very well-kept resort, with a private and secure beach area. Beautiful view from the restaurant over the garden, White beach and ocean. Bohol house (their suite) is absolutely amazing with a private pool, terrace, balcony and seclusion from the rest of the resort. Food in the restaurant is tasty, however more expensive than in Alona. Lots of stairs in the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    163
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
165
243
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It has been awhile since I have stayed at this resort, had always meant to post a review but never got to it. Stayed at Amarela for 5 nights and it was an enjoyable stay.

Staff: They were all very nice, friendly, and attentive. Our server even remembered that every morning I order the "tsokolate" (native hot chocolate) and would ask if I want the same.

Sunrise: Excellent view of the sunrise from the balconies, even better if you go down to the beach in the early morning... none of the other guests were up that early so the beautiful sunrise was all ours.

Food: The food tasted good and the portions were good-sized. But the options were not that many. Food presentation was always beautiful. Food prices were not bad, but probably expensive for a traveller on a budget. I wanted something with a native/island feel like fish soup, grilled fish, prawns, squid.. and we had to go to Alona Beach for seafood that you can pick and and have it cooked however you want it to be cooked. We always ate breakfast at Amarela (it might have been included in the room rate, I can't remember), and for lunch, there were days that we went to Bohol Beach Club for the day-use package that included a lunch buffet, to Bohol Bee Farm, and to Dumaluan.

Restaurant: The restaurant is like a big open balcony (with a roof of course) so you can see the waters of the ocean right from your table. You can't see the beach though as there are a lot of trees that block your view. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere with very charming furniture that gives it a rustic(?) feel, but it still felt sort of formal-ish. There were only a few tables, but we never had to wait for a table (but then, we were always there early for the meals... the first ones there for breakfast, right when they open, as we wanted to spend as much time at the beach as we can.)

Beach: You have to go down a lot of steps to get to the beach, about at least 50 steps, I would say. So definitely not for a guest with mobility issues. If you are not in good shape you can easily get short of breath climbing up the stairs to the hotel from the beach. Not a particularly breathtaking beach, not as wide as BBC's (Bohol Beach Club), and the sand is not as white nor powdery as BBC's. But it is clean and private. We saw them gathering the floating seaweeds everyday. And there was a guard on duty to prevent entry of trespassers, so I felt safe leaving my valuables on our lounge chair while we were in the water (that's just me). All the times we were using the beach, there were less than ten other guests there.

Transportation: They included a complimentary shuttle service to and from the ferry port with the resort's own van. The driver met us at the port with a nice Amarela sign. Pick up was on time. We rode with other guests who were also going to be staying at Amarela. Amarela is out of the way, far from other resorts so you need to use the car service from Amarela to visit other resorts. We used their car service to go to Alona Beach and also to the Bee Farm. We walked to BBC and Dumaluan (these two are right beside each other). It's a really nice approximately 20-minute walk literally along the beach.

Room: We booked a standard room, it had two twin size beds. The beds are sort of native and made of solid wood (not bamboo), and the mattress on the bed is not that thick. So it was not very comfy, as it was not a thick spring mattress. The room was small, there was a chair at the desk... and with the 2 twin beds, there was no room for a comfy chair. There was a small balcony with two not comfy wood chairs. The balcony overlooked the pool which was a nice view. The bathroom is also small, it just had a toilet and shower, no bathtub. The room and bathroom were fairly new and very clean.

Resort: This property is small, and it is located far from everything. It has a beach but as mentioned earlier you have to walk down several steps to the beach as the hotel building itself is built on a "hillside". When you are at the beach level there is an area with, I think, a beach volleyball court , some hammocks. It is quiet and relaxing. There is a small pool a few steps down from the hotel building. I don't think there is an elevator, staff will help you with your luggage though. (Our room was on the same level as the lobby and restaurant so we did not need to use an elevator.)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysBelieve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was our first time to welcome the New Year outside Manila, and we're so happy that we chose to stay in Amarela. This small boutique hotels offers everything you need for a relaxing vacay—well-kept rooms, nice pool, good food, and accommodating staff. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KabbieRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A get together dinner with my friends we decided to have it in Amarela Resort the dining area is a bit crowded since there's a lot of foreign guests but we found a good long table which is just right for the five of us, the decors are unique and antique looking, the food are just ok but the service is great and specially the one who gave us an ocular in the rooms is very accommodating sorry I forgot his name also the rooms are really good and spacious specially the Amarela Suite with a very nice and tempting jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Amarela Suite spacious and with a grand nature view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014traveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days with husband and kids.. Very quiet resort. Food was great though limited offers. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beach area okay but not advisable to kids with lots of sea urchin.. since it has a small marine sanctuary infront. Nice view. Rooms are small but still okay with WIFI.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangelyne Mari... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A beautiful, well managed resort for the perfect sun n sand holiday. The décor and artifacts collection is a labour of love by the owners, who reside on the property and have an eye for the smallest of details. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully maintained with all the amenities available on the premises itself - pool, diving and snorkelling, boat tours etc. The restaurant offers an array of food options and frequently organises events on the private beach front. The staff are attentive and always eager to help. Would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Being on a hillock, rooms facing the ocean give a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKS222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Amerela is a secluded hotel set in beautiful gardens less than 100m from is own semi private beach. Our room was lovely with a great balcony looking out over the gardens and ocean. The staff and owners have a created a place with a warm, relaxed atmosphere. If you are looking for somewhere to just unwind you can't get much better than this.

Hotel has tasty food options with enough variety for a stay of 4 or 5 days.

They have one of the biggest DVD library I have ever seen at a hotel.

The beach is pretty although not great for swimming. However the lovely pool in the gardens means this isn't a problem.

Thank you for a lovely stay. If we could have stayed longer we would have!





Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monkey198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,431 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 49 in Panglao Island
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
852 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing