We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
scurtis632
London, United Kingdom

Clean, friendly and beautiful pool

Review of Villa Formosa
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Nov 2018
Restaurant was excellent. Fresh food which suited, children and vegetarians.
The bed was SO comfortable. Shower was great, enough power and fully stocked with shampoo and body wash. A short walk to the most stunning beach, an absolute must!
Date of stay: October 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£167
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
1.9 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£278
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£144
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.0 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£151
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £151
2.2 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
La piscine
Tripadvisor
£36
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.9 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£70
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £70
2.1 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £102
5.3 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £74
  • Algotels
2.7 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • eDreams
4.7 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Panglao Island
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
96
19
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
19
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian chef welcome drink bohol philippines ac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We loved the staffs’ hospitality! They’re well trained and seems to enjoy working there. They catered to our small requests very fast and with smiles :)
Since this hotel is far from the bar area of Alona, it’s so quiet and peaceful there. At night we heard cows and lizards which was almost therapeutic.
In general, this place seems spacious as rooms are big and most of the villas are detached from each other. Rooms are cleaned well, bathrooms are gigantic which was nice. They have nice pool too!
Dumaluan beach is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and we loved its clear water and white sand. We will definitely go back to Villa Formosa!

P.S. You’ll be greeted by two adorable doggies which would definitely make you smile.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mtheknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Service and staffs are good. Very accommodating. Rooms are well cleaned, the place is so relaxing, it's a good place to stay, unwind, for famiIy, or just pirely business. Rates are affordable, the food are so yummy. I would recommend this to my friends.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank James Jayson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We stayed six nights at Villa Formosa as a group of four including my elderly parents. Overall, we were very happy with the accommodation. The best part was the staff who were unfailingly attentive, friendly and helpful. They really made the place feel like a friend's country house than a hotel. So thank you for that.

Breakfast included in the stay was just OK, but it was hearty and freshly made, and coffee was very good. Italian food for lunch and dinner was delicious. By local standards it was not cheap, but we were happy to pay given the quality (and it is a great deal compared to what Italian food costs where we live).

The pool is very well maintained and of a decent size for swimming. The hotel ground is big enough to provide a feeling of seclusion.

The rooms, though, were not especially great. We stayed in two deluxe bungalows. They were very clean and spacious but dark. Expect mosquitos, which are difficult to kill because of the high ceiling and all the nooks and crannies. A mosquito net of some kind would be useful should the management consider providing them. The low-flow toilet did not always flush correctly even when there was only water in the bowl and nothing else. In one of the two bungalows water was at most lukewarm in the shower. It was not a big problem as the weather was warm, but some may care about this kind of thing.

As many other people noted, the Dumaluan beach is about 5 to 10 minutes away on foot, depending on the speed of walking. The entry costs 25 pesos per person now. The beach is beautiful, much better than the more famous Alona beach, and you can see locals having a great time, especially on the weekend. Contrary to what some people have written, the two big resorts do not allow paying to use the facilities on a daily basis, at least not these days. On the other hand, the hotel restaurants are happy to have you come for meals.

If you like easy access to lots of shops and restaurants, Villa Formosa is probably not ideal, though there are some local options along the main road 10 minutes away on foot (in the opposite direction from the beach). But if you don't like being in the middle of a tourist hub and would prefer a nice beach nearby over convenience, Villa Formosa is a great choice.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KennethK648
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Was there for 4 nights with two friends, we booked the budget bungalow that was fantastic! Hugh porch, sofa, table, fridge, two separated rooms... best value for money I had in probably all my trips... the hotel is beautiful, swimming pool, very well looked gardens and a few metres from beach..(25 ph entrance but worth) dumaluan is the best I've seen in panglao.
Really nice staff and breakfast
Away from busy/noisy alona but close enough by triciclo for many dinning options.
Highly recommend to stay at villa Formosa

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank isabelcacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay at Villa Formosa, Bohol
The food was fantastic, as was the pool area
Walking distance to beach but a few issues which means I would not return here
The 3 bedroom villa looked like the original house and had 2 out of 3 air conditioners which were extremely old and noisy- sounded like a tractor driving through your bedroom and both bathrooms but especially master had very stinky bathrooms
I also thought it was over priced
However the smaller villas I cannot chat about as they looked more modern from the outside

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank WendyJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews