We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tigerbro
Taipei, Taiwan

Very near the beautiful Dumaluan Beach

Review of Villa Formosa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2024
Nice small place with a secluded and private vibe. Nice pool in the gardens. Comfortable to sit in restaurant and look out to the gardens/pool. Friendly staff. Good simple breakfast with some extra homemade desserts. Room was simple, but clean and spacious, with a good sized terrace for sitting out to chill on. Location is maybe a 5 minute walk to Dumaluan Beach. There's a charge of 100 pesos per person/day to access the beach. Worth it for such a beautiful beach (much better than Alona). If you want to enjoy Dumaluan beach for a few days, this place is very reasonably priced. We did experience a bit of noise from loud neighborhood karaoke singing places, and the nearby go-kart track. If you book tours through the hotel, make sure all the details are clear - we twice experienced the people who took us on tours asking for more money than the agreed rate.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £153
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £167
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £155
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    £225
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Algotels
2.7 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £292
  • eDreams
4.7 miles from Villa Formosa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
5.3 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from Villa Formosa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Panglao Island
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
96
19
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
19
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian chef welcome drink bohol philippines ac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Lots of pluses. Chose this area as didn't want to be in the centre of Alona .Loved the location easy to get into Alona beach but quiet and peaceful. Our room was lovely, certainly one of the best of our accommodations in the Philippines bed comfotable and large and slept very well.
Very spacious with ample hanging and drawer space. Nice decor on the walls and fitting to the surroundings. Good size terrace where you could relax. The bathroom feels like an outdoor one and is very tastefully done. The swimming pool is large and well kempt frequently saw a man cleaning it and maintaining the property. Villa Formosa only has 7 rooms so it felt a nice intimate accommodation. They have their own trike and so if you want to go into Alona it is easily sorted and costs 200php driver friendly and polite. 10 minute walk down to Dumuluan beach .Friendly staff especially Cham I think she was called.
Breakfast is slightly unusual. There is the choice of western or Fillipino with plentiful top ups of tea/coffee and an Italian desert at the end. It did feel slightly samey after a few days and I would have been happy with another option of fruit and granola /yoghurt . On leaving we took the Villa's trike to the port .
No hesitation in recommending

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sillyboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Keep in mind there are no TVs or radios in the room. If you only want to sleep and swim in the swimming pool, this is the place. Though the people are nice. Expect to come back in the room with warm room as the cleaning people turns off your room while you’re not in the room which is unusual for westerners. There’s a good restaurant near by about 5 minutes across the road and very affordable with more plenty of food to choose from. Overall, the place was good. These are the things that are lacking from the Villa Formosa:

No welcome drink
Do not turn off the AC especially when the room is already paid in full
More breakfast selections with at least 2 eggs not 1 egg.

Room tip: Ask the hotel not yo turn off the AC as it takes longer to cool the bungalow room
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GLMTRAVEL97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2023 via mobile

Very Romantic-
Villa Formosa Bohol-- The resort has a beautiful tropical garden a huge swimming pool and a jaccussi. Its best described as a modern trustic.. with oriented Zen and Mediterranean decors as it uses both imported and local materials find in the area this creator a materiak feel. For guests who are baking for a tranquil . Pleasant and delightful stay on this alluring island of the philippines . Villa Formosa in managed by an italian and filipino couple who used to live in Hongkong. The Italian chef . Mathias has outstanding years of experience around asia in cooking superb Italian dishes and specialties as well as managing top restaurants. His wife. Matet who has management & teaching experiences has an exceptional personality in giving the best service and a hassle - free
Find your second home..

Room tip: Guests nice to stay at this Vilka Formosa . If you had a big celebrations event find tjis hotel try it.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rodalita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2023

Very nice and well-kept place with sapcious rooms and very delicious food in a quiet location near to the beach. The owners are very friendly, helpful and caring about the well-being of their guests. We would always come here again.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

The place is nice with a large, well maintained pool and jacuzzi. Very quiet as well and only a 5 min walk to Dumaluan beach. The path going there is a bit dark at night (but there's a police station on the way so we assume it's quite safe).

The first room we were assigned to (near the pool) was huge but a bit old and dark. A/C wasn't working so we requested to have us transferred. The staff was generous enough to have us transferred to a new villa which is much better than the first :)

Breakfast could be a better with more choices and bigger servings. Or maybe provide more options for Filipino breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank camvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews