We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, cared for animals.”

Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Safe, cared for animals.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lets start by clearing something up - this place is definitely not somewhere if you want to watch a load of animals perform tricks and entertain you - Thats where most of them have been rescued from! It was lovely seeing the animals being looked after and kept safe after what I can only imagine was a hard life. The farm is a little on the old side, and there is no facilities such as an onsite cafe, however there is plenty of outside tables and benches to sit down with a picnic. I've read people moan about the £6.50 charge - end of the day this is a charity so I have no issue supporting them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    60
    23
    16
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Resolven, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well cared for animals”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've been going there for many years but not for nine years, since my last visit the number of animals has dwindled and the place looks even more run down. Having said that, the place is maintained by admission costs and the little shop. If I looked at the £20 family ticket as an admission charge then I'd feel it was well overpriced, instead we like to think of the money as a donation to the cause of saving these wonderful animals from a life of misery. The sanctuary could do with a rich benefactor so when I win the lottery......
The kids love it and so do we just don't expect a zoo, there are no manicured lawns no ice cream stalls, no hot dogs just a place to see animals that the sanctuary has saved. On behalf of the animals - Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A deserving cause”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary is located in Cae Hopkin, Abercrave, in the Brecon Beacons.

Accessed via country roads,it is hidden from view until you wend down into a valley.

There is plenty of room to park, and payment in made at the farm house( that was). All monies collected go towards the animals upkeep( and if you are a tax payer you can agree for your fee to be tax efficient). You are then invited to wander around the enclosures housing different apes and monkeys which are all rescue animals.

It was a cold day when we visited and most of the monkeys stayed inside their concrete billets. Nevertheless, fresh food was being served to them by dedicated staff.

There are other animals , ponies, pigs, cat and dog being looked after. There are books, bric a brac to browse, and if you'd like a coffee or tea, this is available too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo20newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Monkeys in Wales?! Why not?! Such a wide variety of primates - possibly the best that I have seen in a long time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PuppiesAndRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing day”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Did a zoo keeper day on 17 January this year best day ever!! To see behind the scenes at the hard work and dedication the (very limited amount of) staff put in was such an eye opener but such a pleasure. Oh to have a job like theirs!!! Was up to my knees in muck (after all the wet weather) scooped poop and waste food all day (yes what is left from one day is not eaten the next - if not good enough for us not good enough for them!). Prepped so much fruit veg and even broccoli cheese pasta and egg and cheese sandwiches -you would not believe then had the absolute privilege to have some hands on experience when can u say you've given chimps a bottle of tea had your hand kissed by a cappuchin and literally worn 3 lemurs around your neck just a few of a list of hands on things u get to do. Working with nicola the keeper was such a privilege a young lady who "really knows her stuff" and cares for every animal there with an abundance of love respect and passion. Saying that u see the same from every member of staff u meet there. Jan and graham lovely people with all the time in the world to talk to you and the way in which they've dedicated their lives to giving these animals the best remaining years of their natural lives is something the rest of mankind need to follow. In this day and age we live in a sad sick depraved world and animals bear the brunt of that - thank goodness there are places like this and people such as the team there to run it. My partner bought this day as a present - best present ever apparently I still haven't shut up about it!! And will be visiting in the summer with the 3 year old grandchildren. To all staff there please keep up the good work you are an absolute godsend in my eyes and to nicola especially thank u so so much for making my day so amazing. Hope to see you all again soon. Terina Jones.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank plausible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary also viewed

 
Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing