We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed :(” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakil's Eatery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shakil's Eatery
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

telephone order made at 7:40pm arrived at 10:00pm.
we had special korma & a lamb pathia.
opened the bag to find the korma had spilled everywhere. i couldn't save any of it, it was all in the bottom of the bag. my container had a massive dent in the side, its not a wonder it all spilled out.
i got on the phone to them, told them, & said they'd send a new 1 out, 2 minutes he said.
while i was on the phone, my boyfriend took his pathia out onto a plate, took a mouthful & spat it back out, it was stone cold!
again, another phoned call was made.
while waiting for our second order i thought id taste mine, the bit that was saved in the container to see if it was hot. picking up what i thought was a piece of meat, turned out to be a potato? they'd only sent me a vegetable korma!
eventually the second order came, i had to make sure mine was a SPECIAL KORMA, instead i got a CHICKEN KORMA! at least it was meat this time.
we didn't even get an apology or a refund.
to top it off, its a good job the delivery man came straight to ours, as when i opened the bag, the containers were upside down!

never ever had a problem with these before, i love it here, but i WONT be having anything from here again.
shame really!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“New Year's Day Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very good meal for a party of 12 of us on New Year's day. having had takeaway food from here and been disappointed I was sceptical but was pleasantly surprised. Main courses very good and portion size a,lso good. Offerred a £20 voucher for use with next party and they even gave some of us a lift home as it was pouring when we finished. Worth a revisit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Food here is always tasty, and the service is very friendly. Had a few take aways from here and never been disappointed.

Particularly recommend the garlic chilli chicken, it's lovely

Helpful?
Thank EmzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a jar of sharwoods would be better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

awful awful food. I cannot think of anything worse than eating here again, except for La Tavola Calda (see my review). I thought when this changed from Aloms which was simply inedible filth that it would be a fresh start for this place, unfortunately I was wrong and we were bitterly disappointed in the low quality of the food. It tasted like a bargain basement supermarket curry with a handful of salt thrown in for good measure. Maybe we encountered a bad night but we wont be going back to find out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Although the decor in this restaurant is very basic, it is clean and tidy. The food is excellent, and always fresh, hot and done speedily, the staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough for you, if there is something you want that you can't see on the menu just ask, it's never a problem! I definitely recommend this Indian, p.s you can also take your own drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommylovesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakil's Eatery also viewed

Atherstone, Warwickshire
 
Atherstone, Warwickshire
Atherstone, Warwickshire
 
Atherstone, Warwickshire
Atherstone, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing