We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Amazing Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oak
Ranked #2 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Amazing Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here 1 night as visiting family. Rooms are a decent size, very clean. Only downside was that for my preference the bed was way too soft. Staff very friendly and breakfast was a great choice with huge portions. I will be recommending the family tell everyone to stay here when visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    62
    21
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
56
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here one night. Had a good night sleep. Room was clean, bed comfortable.shower superb However I think they need to invest in new kettles for the rooms (well, in the one we was in anyway) Ours was a little grimmy (faint black finger marks on the handle &lid)) and it took forever to heat up the water. We never stayed for breakfast because we were in a hurry. I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Comfortable clean rooms, comfortable bed. The food in the bar is excellent (be prepared for a big meal) and great value for money. The breakfast is also very nice and plentiful. The staff are very friendly. All in all an excellent stay. Do not be put off that it is situated next to the airport as you do not hear a thing and the only plane I actually saw was at 8 in the morning. I will definitely stay again. One last thing be prepared to play ball with the owners very friendly dogs in the large beer garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Nice fresh and clean room, comfy bed, nice shower, pub and food very nice as are the staff too. An ideal location for visiting the car show recently. Lovin the beer garden too! Happy days! :) Stayed before and will defo stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juggles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed one night to visit local show and was a superb location. Room was a good size and nice and clean and quiet as its set back from the road, Being close to the airport was not a problem.
Evening meal was superb and good value for money.
All in all you would be hard pressed to find anything else in the area for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshirePlanthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed recently at the Oak, Baginton for the third time. It is a very popular pub with the locals and is always very busy at the weekends. The Oak is very dog friendly which is why we choose to stay here when we attend dog shows and fancy making a weekend of it. We like to sit outside if the weather is good but if not we will sit in the bar with the dogs and there are plenty of tables with more than enough room for us to sit and the dogs to lie without getting under everyone’s feet. The staff go out of their way to make you welcome and were happy to reserve a table of our choice for when we wanted to eat. The food is of good quality and there is something for everyone on the menu, including quite a few vegetarian options. On a Saturday they have a special offer of 2 steaks and a bottle of house wine for £25.00. You have a choice of steaks and we chose the 8 oz sirloins. Very nice and excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable and are very reasonably priced – another good reason to stay. Breakfast is freshly cooked in the morning using good quality ingredients and is always really nice. All in all this is a great value for money pub and I am already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

The food is fine and I would say typical for a pub. Nothing really to complain about. It was really nice to be able to sit inside and eat with are 2 dogs. Very dog friendly.
Nice comfy arm chairs available but it's quite difficult to eat when you use them. It appears to get quite busy at the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primmer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
1.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Coventry South
Holiday Inn Coventry South
#25 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Property: The Oak
Address: Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Oak in Baginton, a village pub situated on the outskirts of Coventry. Ideally located and very close to Coventry Airport. 10 minute drive to the town centre with ample places to eat and drink. 5 minute drive to the Air Museum. Pleasant walks. All our rooms are well equipped and en-suite, some rooms have disabled access. We offer a nice relaxed environment with log fires, table service, traditional ales and good quality home cooked food. Our facilities include large bar area with comfy leather sofas and wing backed chairs for drinkers. Good sized garden and quiet location. Free parking for guests and free wifi access in the bar area. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Dogs allowed, may incur additional charge. Children welcome. Check-In time: 12:00 and Check-Out time: 11:00. Pets are charged a supplement of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Baginton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing