We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel and good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and good food.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were greeted by a friendly reception staff who was lovely and even booked a table for us for dinner in the adjoined restaurant. The room was clean, spacious and warm with a lovely view of the river. The shower was fantastic and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenhawkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    139
    52
    17
    18
See reviews for
93
155
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

just returned from a nights stay, very friendly staff, lovely clean room, great view of the river, thoroughly enjoyed meal in restaurant, waitress very pleasant, brekky very tasty and freshly cooked.My hubby and myself stay in many hotels, we would def return. Only downfall mattress very hard, uncomfortable, maybe a topper would help. MR, MRS, FRANK

Room Tip: We had room 11, perfect view, great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750peterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear 750peterf

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Old Mill who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the Old Mill.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Decided to take my wife for a belated Valentines treat. As regular visitors we were not disappointed and had an excellent beef roast dinner (with giant pigs in blankets as an extra at only 79p who can resist) followed by delicious syrup sponge with roast walnuts & custard. We were in a very cosy and picturesque corner surrounded by old oak beams; very quaint and characterful. The river is in flood and quite a sight to behold. Planning to drop in on the Beer Festival which starts tomorrow - it looks great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have left reviewing this place a couple of weeks because I did not want to be over critical and not remain objective. Anyway here goes. We booked a lunch time table as we had a couple of people over from Europe for the day and this was a work thing, on arriving we where greeted by all the staff that came into contact with us which was a real positive and I remember thinking at the time, great reception ! well from that point onwards it just went downhill. Now not to say that all the interaction with the staff changed at all it was just that it seemed to be that the staff where just not up to delivering the service that was required, from having to call someone over to take a drinks order to then having to follow that order up and see what was taking so long, to the water glasses not being removed from the table which just cluttered the table up, to having the food orders seemingly take just too long to get to our table and unfortunately our guests having to wait for their meal whilst everyone else had received theirs (now that was embarrassing) to having to ask for the desert menu it just felt like our group was just not being valued as paying customers. Now I do recognise that this was a lunchtime meal and the place did look busy but you know what...I don't see why as a paying customer I should have to make allowances for this. The food itself was presented really well and overall everyone seemed to enjoy the food once they received it. Given everything I will not be taking anyone else here and will choose another place to entertain my guests.

Room Tip: To save time oreder at the bar and carry your drinks to the table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear onetrubrit

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Old Mill in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Took the wife out on Thursday, did not book, helpful chap got us in (as it was full) and we had a G&T by the bar for 10mins then to our surprise he came and got us a lovely table for 2.

We had a sharing platter and then 2 mains, food was v good and staff very attentive

Bill was reasonable and overall a very enjoyable experience, we will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a no frills hotel, that is on par with a travelodge. The walls are paper thin (I had possibly the loudest family in the room next door... The woman would wear her Onesie in the restaurant.. and to be honest, that lady shouldn't be wearing a Onesie whilst eating... or ever, but i was hoping the staff would have told her that that is not appropriate attire for a restaurant... but they just rolled their eyes and apologised to all the other diners who looked in amazement that a morbidly obese woman dressed as a teddy bear is eating dinner in her PJ's)
Whenever a person in room close to mine ran their bath, it would sound like it was coming from my bathroom... which isn't a nice wakeup call at 06:00. I had to tuck the quilt underneath me so that i could feel the springs on the mattress as much. the TV isn't much bigger than an Iphone screen (Slight Exaggeration) But on the plus side... the Food is very good, there's a good selection of drink at the bar, the staff are very friendly, and the setting of the pub is quite picturesque.... (Quite!))
Would i stay here again... probably not, but if i did, i' would make sure i'd test the mattress before i accepted the room!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went with a group of friends on a Saturday Night and had an enjoyable time.
Service was attentive and friendly although not very rapid, and the food was pleasant.
A few minor bugbears slightly detracted from the night and stopped the evening being rated as excellent.
We were a party of 12 but the T shape arrangement of the table meant those people sitting on the end of the T couldn't converse easily with others on the table.
While the food service was slow, the staff were very keen to keep topping up the drinks and increasing the drinks spend.
One of our Party had a King Prawn topper with their Steak but there was no handwipe provided to deal with fishy fingers after the Prawns had been peeled.
I was looking forward to the 'Three Times Cooked' Chips but was dissapointed when these came as a 'Once Fried Frozen' Product.
The overall ambience,food and service was however good but the little touches let them down.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,958 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,710 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: Mill Hill, Baginton CV8 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Baginton
The Old Mill Baginton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing