We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at glenskirli” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenskirlie House and Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenskirlie House and Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Banknock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at glenskirli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great food great wedding . Only thing asked staff to look after my fasanator as it was not cheap . Only for it to get lost in there safe keeping . :( not a happy quest at the end of the night . Staff told me they would look after it but ov not :/

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    60
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
91
201
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a perfect wedding at Glenskirlie Castle on 30 June.

This venue is exceptionally good because the staff pay a great deal of attention to the smallest details. They also provide flexibility so that the wedding can be organised in your own way. In our case we were given early access to the venue to enable us to organise our own floral table decorations.

The owners take a close personal interest to the organisation of the wedding. An early planning meeting with the owner was very helpful in sorting out the menu, drinks and the details of the reception. We took part in an earlier menu tasting session and this helped too.

The wedding room was very attractive and provided a perfect setting for the actual marriage ceremony. A very thoughtfully designed room which also turned out to be the breakfast room the following day.

The wedding meal was of a high standard and much better than we expected. There were plenty of servers and they were well supervised and this meant that there was no waiting and all guests were served at the same time - a great improvement on those other venues where there is a pecking order which means that some guests have to wait a long time to be served.

We elected for the barbecue for the evening guests and this worked well even though it rained - we had earlier arranged to hire the canopy.

The organisation and direction provided by the marriage coordinator throughout the day was exceptionally good. The only area where we thought there could be improvement was that the start of the evening barbecue could have been announced more clearly.

We were fortunate enough to stay overnight and the rooms were splendid. The bridal suite was outstanding. Our guests appreciated the late night bar service and the exclusive use of the castle.

We enjoyed the breakfast too which was served by a very friendly server.

Overall, this was an outstanding venue, which the bride and groom and guests thoroughly enjoyed. A number of guests said that this was the best wedding they had ever attended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

From the initial visit away back in 2011 right up until my daughter and son in law's wedding at Glenskirlie in June 2013 the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Special thanks goes to Colin, Suzie and especially to the two Julies who made sure that everything went smoothly and according to plan on the day. The kitchen and waiting staff also deserve recognition for both the high standard of food and the smooth delivery to our invited guests. We were fortunate that the weather on the day was brilliant sunshine and the gardens and grounds were in full bloom. The photographs with the castle and landscaped grounds in the background also helped make this a day that both Cheryl and Scott will treasure for the rest of their lives. We also had the privilege of staying overnight in the castle and the rooms were outstanding, not to mention the delicious breakfast we had the following morning. To sum up - everything we could have hoped for to make this the Perfect Day all came together and a big warm thank you to all at Glenskirlie has been well deserved.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Currencysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. The venue was lovely and the grounds were well kept. The staff were not the most attentive, although were polite and available when required. The meal was ok and I know that the bride's meal was not edible and needed to be returned to the kitchen, to be prepared again.

The room was absolutely stunning, very romantic and the bridal suite was breathtaking and very spacious. I was disappointed to find that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, especially when paying so much for the room. I was extremely shocked that I could not have a cup of tea or a morning coffee in my room.

The staff at breakfast were rude. As a large bridal party staying at the hotel and paying a fortune for it, we were not served very well. We were initially ignored, had to seek out staff to get served. When our toast arrived it was burnt. The waiting staff seemed huffy and rude and were not pleasant or welcoming. Everything seemed like too much effort and bother for them.

All in all, it is a beautiful venue, but let down by the breakfast staff and lack of tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marzipan8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Recently attended my sons wedding at Glenskirlie. Can't thank the staff enough for the effort they put in to making their wedding perfect.
The hotel and castle have recently been refurbished to a really high standard. The rooms were all different and each one was tastefully decorated. The bridal suite was exceptional. The whole experience was magical and all of the guests had a great time.
The food was also excellent.
Would certainly recommend Glenskirle to anyone thinking about a venue for their wedding.
Excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all the staff at glenskirlie but especially Suzie, Julie and Colin. We got married here on the 13th July 2013 and people from near and far are hailing it the best wedding they have ever been to. I sincerely echo the other reviews on here when I say that this was only possible because of the staff and chefs.

My every need was catered to, I was supported by Susanne and Julie for the whole day and all our little personal touches were remembered. I thoroughly recommend the cocktail stations and the evening bbq as they wowed everyone.

We did end up running an hour behind and I was very apologetic to the staff as a result but their only comment was 'don't worry about us-if you're happy we are happy'

Glenskirlie-you surpassed all my expectations (which were high to begin with due to your excellent reputation) but not only did you give us a great day but wonderful memories that money can't buy. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmiandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our son's wedding reception was held here in July 2013. What an outstanding venue for a wedding. Have only got great words to speak of the place. Amazing rooms, fantastic food, outstanding venue for photographs. Amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryR_Newry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banknock
1.0 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
20.5 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
24.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenskirlie House and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenskirlie House and Castle

Property: Glenskirlie House and Castle
Address: Kilsyth Road, Banknock FK4 1UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Banknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Banknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenskirlie House and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Glenskirlie House And Castle Hotel Banknock
Glenskirlie House And Castle Banknock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing