We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Welsh Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Begelly Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Begelly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I booked 9 rooms as we had some business in the local.
Staff were excellent and looked after us well
Food: Starters were a bit retro-(prwn c/tail garlic m/rooms etc ) main course: most of us had steaks that were excellent
Breakfast was also v good
Rooms are basic but did the job.
Its not the Ritz but its excellent value

Room Tip: Outside Chalets are a bit tired - we booked 9 of us 7 stayed in the hotel (all satisfied) 2 outside
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The Begelly Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here in August. Really lovely staff. Buffet breakfast just brilliant. Plenty of choice and can have as much as you like. Restaurant where you eat is really pleasant and clean. Our room was great too. There was a function going on on the Saturday night with live music which did not bother us but could keep some people awake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Booked a one night stay to visit the nearby Folly Farm Wurlitzer Organ Recital (Nigel Ogden) The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Cracking real ale and despite its modern appearance due to renovation it still retains a warming pub atmosphere. Spotlessly clean and my wife and I were very happy with the food provided. We were also pleased that they managed to fit us in at short notice for an early evening meal to enable us to get to our concert in plenty of time. When we returned we were treated to a live artist performing in the lounge area. Bedrooms were spacious and clean and rounded of an altogether great experience. Being a proud Welshman, I'm always pleased when places such as this promote Wales as a great, friendly place to visit.
The only one criticism was that the buffet style breakfast bar didn't keep the food warm; we mentioned the fact on checking out and the staff seemed genuinely sorry, as we were told, if we had brought it to their attention they would have dealt with it. The location is superb and I would certainly recommend this hotel without any fear.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked to eat the Sunday carvery as recommended by some friends. On arrival we were really pleased with the lovely setting and the facility is top class. Lo and behold that joy was soon to change.
After being seated, I went up to the bar to order our meals (2 or 3 courses) and a drink. I was served reasonably quickly by Angela without any problems, however whilst at the bar there was some barman trying very hard to be "look the part", however when a customer came up to the bar to ask for the sweets menu, he pointed him to the sweets behind the bar, not so clever after all Mr Barman.
I then returned to our table with our drinks and waited and waited and waited for somebody to come over to take my starter order, to no avail so I went up to the bar to order such.
After waiting for ever, my better half and her mum went ahead to collect their main course because they could not wait any longer and were hungry.
In all fairness when my starter did arrive, it was really lovely and I would recommend the Calamari.
Now for the really sad part. The main course was absolutely awful. The beef was so tough that our dog would not even eat the doggy bag we took out for him because we could not eat the meat. The turkey was dry and tasteless and hey no pork but a new Sunday roast replacement for pork, ham from a tin. The vegetables were all obviously all frozen veg (aunty bessies) excepting for the boiled new potatoes(not rocket science to cook), Once again Auntie Bessies best frozen Yorkshire pudding was served. The gravy was like water with a bit of flavouring chucked in. By the way if you are a meat lover beware the miserable cook is very keen to stretch the meat out for as many customers and will give you a little more if you ask but he will not smile even if you do try to enlighten him.
After we ate our mains there was no table clearing and we had to pile our plates up to wait for the two ice creams which we ordered and waited that long to arrive that once again we had to summons somebody to fetch it from the kitchen.
It is so very obvious that no staff training had ever taken place and the place desperately needs a proper chef and not just a cook.
Staff were standing around whilst tables remained uncleared between courses and there should have been a front of house manager guiding the whole "dining experience" because the poor older guy at the front, although a nice man, clearly had no idea how to manage the customer experience.
As an ex publican myself, I wanted to get up and show them how to "do it" properly.
It's so sad to see owner of establishments who obviously don't know what they are doing, running a restaurant incorrectly when the potential is massive, even to the extent that customers will pay more if the experience and the food is worth it?
So very sad that we will not be returning as presently the place is a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night on 28 th aug had a family room, room could of slept 5 my son was really excited to sleep on a top bunk bed :-), beds comfy linin clean n soft rooms clean, we ate in the restaurant staff very friendly great with our boy(age5) service good and the food very good best fillet steak I've had! Breakfast was good service very slow only 1 lady workin doin the job of a few we were 1st down so not 2 bad for us, overall a lovely place if they had a children's play area would had a 5 from us, thanks for a great stay :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After reading a previous review that was not pleasant was worried about staying , but this place is a gem, lovely staff, very clean accommodation, fab food, very child friendly, comfortable beds, soft towels , breakfast was superb and the carvery was divine..my shower unfortunately broke , reported it 5 minutes later the chappy came and it was fixed within 15 minutes..cant ask for more , defo rebooking

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked this after reading the great reviews online and we had an OK to stay. My main complaint would be that the chalets do not have curtains but very thin cream vertical blinds which don't do much to block out the light! After not been pre-warned of a private function that went until midnight, been woken up with sunlight in the early hours did not make for a good nights sleep! There just seemed to be missing attention to detail (sand in the shower, kettle too big to fit in sink to refill, bedside table missing bulb etc) and the staff that were on seemed rather rushed off their feet (were also overheard complaining of this) and rather distracted. Food was good (but menu in room didn't match menu in restaurant). First day wasn't a lot of breakfast left and it was cold but we were probably one of the last ones there. The location is very handy, just maybe needs a little bit more attention to detail and would be a fab place to stay. Might just be because it was a bank holiday weekend. In fairness didn't raise any of the above with the manager as didn't seem like a lot that could be done about it (e.g. lack of curtains) but did write something similar on the feedback form.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS45221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begelly
1.7 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,203 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pleasant View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Begelly Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Begelly Arms Hotel

Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Begelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Begelly
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Begelly Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Hotel, Restaurant, and Inn with rooms, situated in the heart of rural Wales close to the borders of Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire we offer home cooked food, and rooms with en suite showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Begelly Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Begelly Arms Hotel Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing