We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great value stay, comfortable, clean and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Begelly Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Begelly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our first experience of a Groupon stay and it was an extremely positive experience. The hotel was easy to book and easy to find. We stayed in one of the chalets upstairs which although it was obviously a standard double room was incredibly clean and very well equipped. The food was of a very high standard. My husband particularly loved his curry!!! The service was very friendly, our one and only issue was that our tv needed a new remote control which never seemed to arrive. Incidentally, as the tvs are also dvd players you may want to bring a couple to supplement the freeviee. WiFi is free and the breakfasts are large, well cooked and tasty. The hotel is kept immaculately clean and comfortable, the bar prices were surprisingly removable and I just wish now we had stayed over a weekend to enjoy the live music! Thank you for a lovely stay, we have already recommended this hotel to friends!x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3screams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal and were pleasantly surprised, our room had been newly decorated and very clean, our room was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels every day, the bed was also very comfortable, we had already booked to stay an extra night before we arrived so that we could explore both Tenby and Saundersfoot, the Hotel is ideally situated to for both these areas, we found the location of the hotel to be very quiet as well.

We had a meal at the hotel on our first night, the food was lovely I really enjoyed my steak and ale pie, it's traditional food that is cooked well.

The service at breakfast was a little hap hazard the lady got our breakfast order wrong twice, the breakfast is however cooked very nicely, you have a choice of cereal and orange juice, I think it would have been nice if we could have had a choice of some fruit as well like grapefruit.

We were recommended the Sunday but unfortunately we went out for the day so had to miss that.

The hotel has live entertainment on in a large function room on a Saturday night, we came back from an evening out to watch it, we really enjoyed it, it finished at midnight so as not to disturb the guests.

We stayed in a chalet just over the car park, it was lovely, but on one night we had a family with two young children above us, they were very quite but you could still them walking about, it didn't disturb us that much, but if we stayed again we would book a room in the hotel.

The hotel is run by a very friendly family, they have spent a lot of time and money on improvements and should be congratulated, the hotel looks super and very inviting.

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the Begelly Arms, if we decide to pay South Wales a visit again we will definitely stay there.

'Thank you' to all of you all for making us feel so welcome, Elaine & Gary

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the Chalets check to see if the room above you has anyone in it. I was told th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElaineGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a groupon deal for two nights. The accommodation was a small chalet in the grounds of the hotel consisting of an en-suite bedroom,this was very clean & comfortable.The food at the hotel was good & reasonably priced & the staff were pleasant & helpful.We visit Tenby at least once a year where accommodation is over priced,wish we had known about this place only five miles away.Would return.

Room Tip: Chalet ok. didn't stay in the actual hotel. some of the chalets have stairs leading up to them w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HerefordshireSuntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A great local place, we stayed for just one evening in one of the Chalet rooms. Beer was a reasonable price and the food was great (the steak and ale pie was fantastic....with REAL chips).

Taxi ride into Tenby is around £15 each way. So if you're looking for a Tenby hotel, can be a little expensive.

Friendly atmosphere, and a good night sleep with a great breakfast. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Swansea-Bojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting family and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean, bed comfy and our room even had Sky TV in with the full package which was fab. Nice quiet location, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Will definately be staying here when we return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GableEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments we appreciate them we try and make the stay with us as comfortable as possible.

Thanks and we hope to see you soon

Regards Peter Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed 2 nights over the weekend. At first was a little skeptical, but the food was excellent and the bed really comfortable. Would definitely stay again. There was a wedding function in the function rooms but we did not hear a thing.

Room Tip: if mobility limited ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patsie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for your kind response we are glad you enjoyed, look forward to seeing you again soon

regards

Peter Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It's ironic! A week last Saturday we were at the Old Station Inn at Hallatrow and I had the worst meal in a restaurant I have ever had and my worst experience but exactly one week later Fran and I were staying at the Begelly Arms and had the exact opposite experience and it restored my faith. Peter our host was warm and charming and his future son-in-law ensured that we were treated with excellent hospitality and professionalism. We stayed there Saturday and Sunday and we would recommend the hotel whole heartedly. Our room was huge and spotless with everything we needed. On Saturday night I chose a steak and ale pie with a delicious serving of vegetables. The pie was one of the tastiest ever. Fran chose the chicken curry which incidentally was her choice a week before but this time she loved it. Breakfasts were full-on and well presented. On Sunday night Fran chose poached salmon and I had Liver and onions and we were delighted with our choices. Oh and the deserts were great, a bit too much but it did not stop us finishing them! They keep a well stocked bar and we were able to sample some local drinks which would stand up to the best.
We have every intention of returning as it is ideally positioned for visiting Tenby, Saunders Foot and southwest Carmarthenshire as well as the Pembrokeshire coast. All in all an excellent stay and great value. Thanks Peter and his lovely team.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was not attached to the hotel ( they have about 20 in the garden) but each has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I remember talking to you about your experiences, I hope we made up for it here with us, and we appreciate your kind comments as you are aware we have just taken over recently so to achieve comments like yours is much appreciated.

Thanks and hope to see you again soon

peter Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Begelly Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Begelly Arms Hotel

Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Begelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Begelly
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Begelly Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Hotel, Restaurant, and Inn with rooms, situated in the heart of rural Wales close to the borders of Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire we offer home cooked food, and rooms with en suite showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Begelly Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Begelly Arms Hotel Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing