We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place for a special weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a special weekend”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband took me as a birthday treat. We used the spa facilities and then ate in the Michelin star Restaurant. The service and food more than lived up to my expectations. The little extra touches the staff provided were just right. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookeditpackedit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear bookeditpackedit007

It is great to hear that we our reputation for high standards remains and that you had a wonderful experience at The Devonshire Arms Hotel,
I hope you will pay us a return visit in the future

Best Wishes

All at the Devonshire Arms hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    260
    90
    47
    31
See reviews for
182
859
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpoool
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The food served in the Burlington and the Brasserie was the BEST we have ever tasted, and we have eaten in some fantastic hotels and restaurants.
The accommodation was beautiful.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We LOVED it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Park Top... beautiful room with a four poster bed and gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Debsbear
What a wonderful review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
We do hope you will return in the near future

Best wishes,
all at The Devonshire Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife booked us an overnight stay here together with the tasting menu and wine pack. I suspect that we could eat for a month on what it cost but it certainly does seem to live up to its reputation earned so far - including the rare, but not unknown, policy of adding a discretionary service charge. I have come across this in New York restaurants but not in the UK. My advice would be, if you're not happy to pay it then decline it and, perhaps, be prepared to offer a reason why not.
The room was fine - comfortable, good shower, china, tea, coffee and kettle etc. and the hotel is in a beautiful Wharfedale setting.
The tasting menu is a triumph; a seamless procession of dishes seen only by this reviewer on telly, together with a glass of wine appropriate to each dish.
I hadn't noticed another reviewer's reference to 'snooty' staff at the hotel until I sat down to write this. Looking back to our stay, I can only guess that the snooty people had been sacked or given the day off. Everyone was unfailingly polite, smiling and friendly.
I have to end with a special mention of our dinner waiter Ben (from Barnsley). He is/was a model of unstuffy but attentive efficiency. Glasses appeared on time, wine was poured at correct temperatures and explanations about the wine, where it was sourced and how each had been selected to complement its course were offered. He detected that we had some knowledge of the subject and pitched his delivery accordingly - a masterclass in how to deal properly with paying customers. I hope his employers read this review and credit him accordingly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Michael and Joanna

Thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated and gratifying to know that you enjoyed your special weekend here. I have informed both Ben, department manager and general manager of your comments which are testament to our current and continual training in both service and products as well as commitment to standards of service.

We hope that you will make a return visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed overnight in this hotel for the second time, we wanted to eat in the Michelin starred Burlington here and this was the reason for the overnight stay.
The hotel is set in a lovely spot in the countryside and has the feel of a real country house hotel.
First the good points; the room was superb, a four poster bed that was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and very elegant, the bathroom had Temple Spa products a plenty, my wife was very happy about that. The hotel in general had some lovely touches, nice art and an open fire set the real country feel, absolutely no complaints in this department. We had afternoon tea with a glass of champagne which was excellent, the service was very good too. We ate in the Burlington restaurant in the evening ( I've reviewed that separately, 5*).
The niggles; we arrived at 3pm and the room wasn't ready, no big deal because we wanted afternoon tea, but it really should have been ready. There was also a wedding reception in progress and the guests were all through the hotel, I understand that weddings are money makers for this type of hotel and venue these days but when confronted by gaggles of drunken guests ( all drinking pints, including the women), several of whom were using foul language, didn't create the ideal atmosphere for afternoon tea next to the open fire.
We really enjoyed the stay, the Burlington restaurant was excellent and I'm sure we will be back. I would suggest you tell prospective guests that there is a wedding reception at the hotel when they enquire though as it's clear it can have an effect on someones stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear David G
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. All feedback is valuable to us to help maintain the high standards of service for which we are both known for and proud of.
In response to your comments, we try to ensure and maintain the comfort of all our guests I would like to apologise for the disturbance that you experienced by the wedding party.
I have spoken to the relevant departments to implement measures to ensure future wedding parties will not impose on resident guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not so distant future

All at The Devonshire Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we arrived on the friday afternoon for a family wedding the following day and the staff could,nt have been friendlier and helpful we had a meal in the Brasserie(21 of us)which was excellent.On the day of the wedding everyone was really helpful and we all had a really great day from the moment the ceremony started to the reception ended .All in all a fantastic day thank you to everyone at the Devonshire Arms

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Liz H

It is with great delight to read your review of the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
All the staff at the Devonshire Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was the third time we had stayed at the Devonshire Arms. The location is fantastic, and the local walks are really excellent from pushchair friendly to much more challenging. The previous two times we could not fault the place. The food was excellent (though pricey) in the main restaurant. The wine list is a bit scary unless you have very deep pockets, but you can find good wines that won't bankrupt you. The spa is excellent and a great way to unwind. This time we got an excellent deal which included dinner in the Brassiere. But there were a number of things that we felt need attention:
The Bar and Brassiere has no Bar. All the tables are set for dinner. So there is no where to sit and have a drink before dinner.
The service is a bit amateur - the hotel sets itself out as a luxury country hotel but that means you know that you do not clear away one person's plate while the other is still eating, and you do know the difference between a kipper and haddock.
The room was cold, This we were told was because they were trying new thermostats that keep breaking so as each one breaks they convert the room back to old style radiator thermostats - I admire the honesty but doesn't that mean that paying guests are being asked to help you sort out your maintenance problems?
The TV in the room didn't work.
As we got a great deal I was not too bothered, but I would not pay full price again.

Room Tip: There are two kinds of rooms - feature rooms - expensive but luxurious. Standard rooms - ordinary ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParcyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear ParcyWiltshire
Thank you for your recent review on the Devonshire Arms Hotel. Firstly, it is pleasing to know that you have stayed with us previous occasions, however I would like to apologise on this occasion for the substandard service that you received on this particular stay with us.
We have had a few recent problems with the heating levels in the recent cold spell, as the building dates back to the 18th century and a listed building some problems require slightly more time and planning. I can assure you now this has been resolved.
We recommend the cocktail lounge to our guest for pre-dinner drinks whether they are dining in the Burlington or Brasserie restaurant; however I have passed on your remarks to the relevant departments.
I hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future so that you can once again fully enjoy our hotel and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been friendlier - always a good start. The room very comfortable and well equiped - we were in the 'Cartoon Room', which added a touch of interest and fun. We chose to eat in the Brasserie, as we expected the formal dining room (where we're sure the food is excellent) was relatively empty, whereas the Brassserie had plenty of atmosphere, the staff were again attentive and the food excellent. Do take advantage of the Spa, the pool is not too small and well heated and we had a lovely pre-breakfast swim; there are steam and sauna rooms (too hot for me!) and a cold plunge pool. Breakfast was ample and there was an interesting choice beyond the traditional 'full Yorkshire' to choose from. The combination of open fires and log burners, with comfy chairs to relax on, help give ths hotel a calm and welcoming ambience. The Devonshire isn't cheap, even as we were on a 'deal', but it's a great palce to go an relax and indulge in a bit of good living. You are also given a car park pass to use at Bolton Abbey and explore the surroundng landscape - sadly it was too wet to do any walking, but in better weather this would have been a great way to finish your stay in this picturesque area. There were nice touches in the rooms, such as real coffee, which was replenished whilst we were out; but it is the friendly staff who make you feel at home and so likely to want to come again and enjoy a warm welcome in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Merlin York

Your positive review of the Hotel is grealty recieved and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back, when I hope the weather will allow you to enjoy our beautiful locations

Best wishes for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing