We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really is the best”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We return here every five years or so, and the standard never changes. It really is the best hotel I have ever stayed at, the rooms are lovely, the food stunning and the service exceptional, only slight downside is that wifi is only reliable in front of the roaring fires in the hotel lounges.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charned S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    276
    96
    48
    33
See reviews for
196
906
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay inc breakfast and dinner in the Burlington (not to be confused with the brasserie!).

The hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of the country out side of the Cotswolds (slightly biased!). The idyllic Bolton Abbey can be accessed from a beautiful (and easy!) walk through the manicured gardens and through open rolling fields following a wide babbling river. This has to be one of the most splendid locations for a hotel and spa.

On walking in through the front doors the staff are excellent and attentive. A quick guided tour will help guide the small labyrinth and end in your room. The rooms are well managed and a good use of space for a small room. However they don't have a mini bar so don't expect to be able to chill that bottle of Verve you brought along!

I can only describe the dinner for you in a few select words and any more would jeopardise the experience. The hotel used to have one or two Michelin stars and is in the process of obtaining them again as they only lost them due to the head chef moving on.

Dinner is; fantastic, magical, brilliant, beautiful and honestly the best meal I have ever had. If I lost the ability to taste tomorrow I would forever remember the mysteries of the culinary masterpiece served that evening and would always have a smile on my face!

However, dont expect the same for breakfast. This needs to be worked on if they have any hope to reach that elusive Michelin star classification. The buffet is nice but the cooked breakfast is a little disappointing to say the least. The Yorkshire sausage was small and tasteless (no Gloucester old spot!) black pudding wasn't cooked after sending it back and it still came out uncooked. The eggs were not local. Local good quality produce may improve this as well as a closer attention to detail.

The spa is great, although small and will allow you the basic in relaxation. Pool is nice, however the jacuzzi is heavily chlorinated and will leave your eyes stinging all evening. Sauna and steam are nice but the plunge pool was out of service. However speaking to a local member it has been this way for many months. One good factor is children are welcome in the spa I think from open to 12 and 3 till 6.

The hotel is overall excellent and would sit firmly in the realms of Limewood, Barnsley House and other top spa hotels. Just needs a small amount of attention to detail.

Oh and if you are into your wine this has to hold not only the greatest wine collection and largest menu but also boasts it's own wine sommelier who will help you choose with great passion. (Whiskey list could do with a small expansion! Include some Japanese whiskys!)

You won't regret your stay!

Room Tip: There are some great deals on the website but only eat in the Burlington not the brasserie! Unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyandollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife bought a great package at the Devonshire for my 30th including afternoon tea and breakfast, plus we had the 9 course taster menu in the evening and used the spa quite a bit so we pretty much had a go at everything going and it was all top quality.

All the food was amazing, one of the nicest I've had and good value when compared to some of the top end London hotels (I'd eaten at one the week before so it was a good comparison. The staff were also friendly and attentive without being intrusive (again not the case at the place in London).

As for the hotel itself it's in a beautiful location, the grounds are lovely and the room was very comfortable. The common areas are also decorated eclectically, but stylish and the conservatory is lovely place to have breakfast particularly if the weather is nice. The spa is also very nice; we didn't have any treatments but the pool is pretty big and it also has a sauna, steam room and plunge pool so I had a couple of really nice sessions there.

We've recommended it to the rest of our family and it's particularly good if you're a dog owner as it's pretty geared towards this.
Thanks for an awesome weekend guys!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLordofBanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked dinner at the Burlington restaurant. First news we heard was that our room had been upgraded and it was very nice - four poster bed, setee etc, etc. We ordered the 8 course taster menu which was absolutely superb. Great variety, beautifully cooked, lovely presentation. Couldn't fault it at all. Service in the Burlington was spot on. We also had breakfast - fantastic kippers cooked to perfection. Good range of options on the breakfast menu. Great service again. We had lunch in the Brasserie which was very good, although the service was a little slow. The only negative from us was the pricing of drinks but I guess you have to live with that when you book a place like this. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishnbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was taken to this hotel by my husband, as a surprise for my birthday. What a fantastic surprise it was. From arrival on Thursday evening to departing this morning, Sunday, it was wonderful. The staff are absolutely brilliant, particularly in the Burlington restaurant. They are friendly without being overly so. They really know their stuff, and on Friday evening we had a cheese lesson from the waiter who was very entertaining. The maître d' is magic as is the sommelier who recommended some lovely wines. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the area is so quiet. Altogether a fabulous experience. It isn't cheap but worth every pound. I hope we will be able to go back soon. Thank you all for some marvellous memories. For something extra special book a trip with Yorkshire Trikes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic stay! My only regret was that we only stayed one night. Oh well! That means we will have to go back! We went with my son and daughter in law, who happens to be vegan, no problem at all to the fabulous Burlington restaurant who produced a menu specially for her which looked every bit as delightful as what we had. Every mouthful was a joy and obviously prepared with love and care. The service was impeccable and not stuffy or pretentious in any way. The hotel is beautifully situated in the Yorkshire Dales and provides great walking areas. My son's collie dog was made most welcome at the hotel, which clearly describes itself as "dog friendly". As we were only staying one night we only booked the least expensive rooms but we were delighted to find how comfortable and well appointed they were. After a long walk in Strid wood we were also pleased to make use of the lovely Spa which was wonderfully relaxing.
Breakfast was excellent too with plenty of choices and hot food was prepared to order, not served from a buffet. Although we only had one night there we packed a lot into it and it felt like a good rest, since we were so pampered. Not cheap perhaps but very good value for money and I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive rooms and they were delightful. I do not know what any other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowAmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

To start with The Devonshire experience comes at a not inconsiderable cost, particularly if you dine in the wonderful Burlington Restaurant. The cost is, however fully justified by food to remember fondly, very comfortable rooms and service that is both understated and superb.

The breakfasts put smiles on our faces - smiles that endured for the rest of the day and got bigger when we sampled the exquisite tasting menu at dinner in The Burlington.

We left well fed, well rested and happy. The Devonshire is quite simply a gem.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DEC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
18.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
10.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing