We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff, decor and rooms looking a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, decor and rooms looking a bit dated”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for one night on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal. Service by the staff in all areas was faultless and food was very good.
We ate in the brasserie which is looking a bit dated and the bedrooms are a bit on the snug side. The bathroom also needs a bit of attention, things like discoloured grout, etc.
All in all minor points but it's not in the same league as Rudding Park where we stay and eat on a regular basis, plus it's significantly more expensive as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ad1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    259
    89
    47
    31
See reviews for
190
868
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited last weekend again - sadly just one night this time but normal great service, special mention to Gary, great food especially breakfast. Beautiful room and a great nights sleep! Our dogs love it too. We're looking forward to going back Tour de France weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first stop on a road trip to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. Outstanding location by the River Wharfe and Bolton Abbey. On our arrival there was a bottle of champagne in our room courtesy of the General Manager. Staff were courteous and obviously local which we liked. Room was lovely and the Brasserie was first class with a good wine list. We used the swimming pool 4 times in 2 days - very clean. Overall ... outstanding!

Room Tip: All appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited for a mid week special offer break booked from an advert in Slimming World magazine. The deal included two nights B&B in the hotel, with dinner in the Burlington Restaurant on one of the nights. We topped this off with Dinner in the Brasserie on the other night. The service was fab and it proved to be a really friendly place. We were blessed with really good weather and the walks around the hotel were really good. It was great to have access to the Estate for our vehicle as part of the deal and we made use of the Swimming pool too. I agree with one of the other comments that the food in the Burlington was too fussy, we had the taster menu, but that might be more about us than the food? All in the bill was £371 so we were dead pleased with what we got for the money. Our room was very nice but there were a few parts of the hotel where the decor could do with a clean and a spruce up. Would still go again if we could hit the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having married there some 17 years ago, we decided to spend our anniversary at the Devonshire. OMG - . I felt I had to write this review because the whole experience of our one night stay was simply stunning, and did not disappoint in any way. The staff have a great way of being friendly but not too familiar, professional but not too formal, and totally efficient. We were particularly delighted to receive a complementary upgrade to the ‘Crace Room’ – the very room we had for our wedding stay !! The hotel still had all of the charm and finesse that we felt all those years ago, which made us decide to get married there.

I feel that our meal in the restaurant warrants particular praise. We decided to try the ‘taster menu’, and have Nigel serve us with his recommendation with each course. I have to tell you, we have eaten in some very special places in our time, including, The Savoy London (chefs table), the Waterside at Bray, Locanda Locatelli, Au Berge and many more, (I’m not name dropping but merely letting you know where we set the bar …) and I have to say that the food that Adam and his team produced on Friday night was one of, if not the best dining experiences we have ever had. It was superb !! I asked to speak with Adam after the meal and congratulated him on what he was producing. The hotel lost it's Michalin star, but it won’t be long before that is reinstated I’m sure of that. Simply stunning !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our fourth visit in 12 years - so we are not regulars but we do feel this is our special place to come for a celebration or a treat. We felt at home as soon as we arrived with a very warm welcome (particularly from Eddie the Concierge) and our rooms were both immaculate and overlooking the beautiful Italian garden. As a family who are a bit of a dietary nightmare (I am gluten free with a daughter who has a nut allergy) I can honestly say everything was either adapted or re-made for us to the highest possible standard and at no point did the staff need reminding who had what allergy! Afternoon tea was lovely and the scones made gluten free for me were delicious. Our meal in the Burlington was without doubt one of the finest we have had anywhere in the world. My daughter's face was a picture of delight when the chef remade her chocolate sphere dessert without the peanut butter caramel in the middle using tonka bean as a substitute - she pronounced the dish perfect! I can honestly say we had the perfect relaxing weekend - long days walking followed by wind-down time in the spa. We can't wait to return......

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful country hotel, with great service from all staff, comfortable rooms, great spa, fabulous breakfast. I could not fault it. We were so well looked after from our arrival, until the minute we left. Nothing is too much trouble. The decor throughout the hotel is stunning. There are a variety of cosy lounge areas, to enjoy a pre dinner drink, night cap, or just relax in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jarmstrong2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing