We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay - E.Liddar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family had a fabulous stay at the Devonshire Arms. With a relaxed atmosphere, where children and families were welcome, it provided a great base to explore the area. The staff were exceptionally helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We could not have asked for more. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were booked in for dinner in the Burlington and an overnight stay. And I must say we found all aspects excellent. Reading previous reviews, reception staff have either been retrained or replaced. From carrying the bags from the car, to booking in to a brief guided tour of the general areas, the staff were all friendly and efficient. Although our upgraded room was a little small, it was perfectly adequate and comfortable, with a wonderful view from the window looking over the fields towards the river. Dinner in the Burlington was excellent. We were sat in the conservatory area which, unlike Le Manoir which we had visited fairly recently, was quiet with wonderful views. The staff could not do enough for us, although occasionally we did struggle to understand them (some strong foreign accents!). We went for the taster menu and my inability to eat fish was no problem for them. In the event, there was a difference of only three dishes between what my partner and I ate. Every single course was excellent in presentation, taste and texture. And after a good night's sleep, breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, this was an extremely pleasant stay and I would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrietheabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing customer service. My local taxi firm let me down so the staff at the Devonshire drove me to the train station at Ilkley themselves. Really polite, helpful service, could not ask for more, thank you so much.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A last minute change of plans brought us to this lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire Dales. The staff were friendly but not fussy, The facilities are of a very high standard without an atmosphere of stuffiness. The food was excellent in the Brasserie and the breakfast was superb.
We would like to spend more time at the hotel and exploring the area. Definitely recommend it for a special trip away.

Room Tip: Even a room 'overlooking the car park' like ours was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely setting and friendly staff.

Facilities very good and especially enjoyed breakfast which was to a very high standard. Probably one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel! We did not have dinner at the hotel but if it is the same standard as the breakfast then it may be worth a try.

Room was spacious with quite nice decor and bed and pillows very comfortable. Room looked a bit 'tired' in areas especially the carpet. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Friends of ours were staying over in the hotel for a few nights and we arranged to meet them and set there. We had our dog so obviously could not eat inside but being a very lovely summer evening we ordered and ate outside. The scenery and backdrop typify the area.
Dogs are allowed in the rooms so we may venture back and stay as the whole place is lovely looking.

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A wonderful stay at the Devonshire Arms with perfect service, pretty bedroom with a view of the garden and Beamsley Beacon beyond, delicious food and excellent service from all members of staff. This really is a perfect haven and one of my very favourite places ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: A room with a view towards the Wharfe or Beamsley Beacon or both is to be preferred to those facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,723 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range: £151 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing