We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The the we stayed here to mark a special celebration and we weren't disappointed. This place is fantastic in every way but be prepared to pay the price! The taster menu in the restaurant is a little overpowering for the palete. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here yesterday on a travel zoo voucher. Stunning setting Arrived to porters taking your bags for you . On check in they gave us a free upgrade to a four poster bed , bottle of champagne and a lovely card for our 30th wedding anniversary ( thankyou )We strolled to bolton abbey 1/2 mile away and chilled by the river , Had a lovely meal in the brasserie . And again a lovely breakfast . Some one had booked the trike tour outside the hotel a must next time looks fab. This hotel has it all and could show other hotels how things should be done . We will returning soon for another overnight stay. Thanks to all the staff For a lovely stay... Angus and Gill.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angus535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had booked a room for the night as we had been bought a gift voucher for the tasting menu in The Burlington Restaurant. The staff in the bar and reataurant were all extremely knowledgeable and helpful and the food in the restaurant was exceptional. We have eaten in many 2 &3 starred Michelin restaurants and enjoyed the food here just as much. Whoever their pastry chef is they should be complemented as their Macarons absolutely melt in the mouth and were the best I have ever tasted. We also had afternoon tea in the conservatory the following day and again the cakes and pastries were beautiful.
The Hotel is in a fabulous setting and guests receive a complimentary parking pass for parking on more of the Devonshire land situated further along the road past the Abbey. This allows parking alongside the River Wharfe by the coffee and gift shop with lots of lovely scenic walks.
Our room was a Wharfedale room overlooking the Italian box garden. The room was quite small and only had one chair which meant one of us had to sit on the bed. Unfortunately the first time I sat on the bed I nearly fell off as whoever had made the bed up had done so with the mattress topper hanging off one side by at least six inches which meant that as you sat on the edge it collapsed beneath you. I did ask the receptionist to arrange for the bed to be remade whilst we were at dinner but it was a nuisance and I expected more from this quality hotel. I think due to the topper it was the spongiest bed that I have ever slept on and Neither my husband or myself had a good night. (Maybe the more expensive rooms are roomier with bigger beds).
We would definitely go back to this hotel for the food as both the staff and restaurant were lovely but I'm not sure whether I would stay overnight again. We would probably eat enroute to another destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the delightful Devonshire Arms for our anniversary treat. From the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room by Eddie we knew that we had made the right choice. Our room was really lovely, spotlessly clean with wonderful views. Chilled champagne awaited us and Eddie kindly went to fetch us a vase for the flowers that I had brought with us. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the Devonshire Arms. After a leisurely stroll by the river to the Abbey we returned to the hotel, got changed and went down for our meal. Again everything was perfect from the delicious canapés served in the lounge area with a refreshing G&T, to the meal itself which was absolutely excellent and made all the better for the superb service from David & co. Everything was really impressive including our choice of wine (white Rijoca) which wasn’t actually on the wine list but which the knowledgeable wine waiter produced with aplomb. We really appreciated this and the fact that it was very reasonably priced too. The following morning we had breakfast in our room and again it was absolutely perfect. We then asked Eddie if he could recommend one of the walks from the book of local walks that he has produced for The Devonshire Arms and the one he suggested was absolutely wonderful. Bravo to all the staff at The Devonshire Arms!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Affable_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the Devonshire this weekend with my wife to celebrate her birthday and our wedding anniversary. At the time of booking I did not realise that Le Grand Depart was underway this weekend and that it was going virtually straight past the hotel. Once I realised I contacted the hotel who were tremendously helpful, and I decided we would aim to get to the hotel before any road closures came in (8am guidance from the hotel). We arrived in great time, pitching up just after 6am. From the point of arrival the staff were exceptional. Clearly our room wasn't ready, but we were invited into one of the lounges, provided with tea, cookies and offered a bacon butty (which we turned down). We decided to take a walk up to the abbey and on our return used the spa. We then took a breakfast at the brasserie (in spite of us being just after service finished they fitted us in). A walk up the hill got us to a great vantage point for the tour coming through, after which we popped back for some fizz and cake. As we were celebrating the hotel graciously upgraded our room, up to the Shepherd - which was great, 4-poster splendour. Supper was in the burlington - something else! Great night sleep, stonking breakfast (I had the smoked haddock, tremendous), and then on to the spa for a couple of treatments and a swim. The place is extraordinary. Wonderful setting, attentive and intelligent staff who deliver consistent, effecient and exceptional service. Go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Shepherd room was great (and complimentary upgrade). Think it is the biggest room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family had a fabulous stay at the Devonshire Arms. With a relaxed atmosphere, where children and families were welcome, it provided a great base to explore the area. The staff were exceptionally helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We could not have asked for more. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were booked in for dinner in the Burlington and an overnight stay. And I must say we found all aspects excellent. Reading previous reviews, reception staff have either been retrained or replaced. From carrying the bags from the car, to booking in to a brief guided tour of the general areas, the staff were all friendly and efficient. Although our upgraded room was a little small, it was perfectly adequate and comfortable, with a wonderful view from the window looking over the fields towards the river. Dinner in the Burlington was excellent. We were sat in the conservatory area which, unlike Le Manoir which we had visited fairly recently, was quiet with wonderful views. The staff could not do enough for us, although occasionally we did struggle to understand them (some strong foreign accents!). We went for the taster menu and my inability to eat fish was no problem for them. In the event, there was a difference of only three dishes between what my partner and I ate. Every single course was excellent in presentation, taste and texture. And after a good night's sleep, breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, this was an extremely pleasant stay and I would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrietheabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,725 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range: £151 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing