We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in picturesque location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in picturesque location”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed here on business, the location is stunning, excellent food and service. The hotel rooms are well appointed with good showers. They have two restaurants the Michelin starred Burlington which was fully booked and the Bistro where we ate, the food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    276
    96
    48
    33
See reviews for
196
906
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for the second time taking advantage of a dinner bed and breakfast offer. Everything was as good as it could be. The room was pleasant with a nice view and the bathroom looked to be recently refurbished. The weather was surprisingly good we had a pleasant walk to the abbey and back in time for drinks on the terrace. Evening meal was good varied menu from which we had three courses accompanied by a reasonable value house red which was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast of smoked haddock was wonderful, my wife had salmon and scrambled egg which was equally good. Service is really very good though at times can seem OTT. It is not possible to knock the place. Back to reality.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate my Husband's birthday, having wanted to stay here for many years. It is in such a lovely location near Bolton Abbey and the buildings and grounds are very attractive, with quirky rooms to eat and relax in. We really enjoyed a meal in the Brasserie restaurant - the vegetarian options were good and not predictable as in other establishments. We used the pool, steam and sauna and this added to the experience. Our bedroom was very nicely decorated and overlooked the gardens.
The highlights of the stay were the attentiveness of the staff, the location and the huge choice and quality of the breakfast. Every member of staff we encountered provided very good customer service.
The only downside was the cost of the drinks which were a little overpriced considering a 'discretionary' 12.5 service charge is added to meals and drinks.
We got our overnight stay at a very good price on a rare offer, and despite enjoying it very much, I am not sure it is worth the full cost on their website compared to other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here quite a few times over the last two years when we go up to Yorkshire to see my mum. The service, accommodation, location and food are all top notch and you are made to feel like a guest rather than a customer. The two restaurants give you options for what you feel from the excellent tasting menu to a simple brasserie. The pool, spa and gym are good and the local cycling and walking are amazing. You are in the middle of no where yet only a short drive from Harrogate and Skipton. We spent New Year's Eve there this year and it was a very special evening. If you get the chance to stay here do it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

On arrival we were met at our car by a member of staff with an umbrella as it was raining very heavily. An outstanding welcome by the receptionist included a brief tour of the hotel. Our twin room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Room service was good. The Health Barn offered afternoon respite from the weather. The pool was refreshing and drinks were enjoyed in the relaxation lounge.

The open fire in the entrance hall was warm and welcoming on our return. Dinner was superb and very good value I deed. We chose to eat in the Brasserie but other options were available. As vegetarians we were well-catered for and the menu was imaginative and tempting.

We slept very well in comfortable beds and woke to sunshine! Breakfast was busy and seemed slightly under-staffed. The food was very good with eggs served as requested with plentiful coffee, toast and pastries.

Overall service was excellent, food delicious and location is stunning. Excellent value for money. Will definitely return. Travelled as friends but would also be a good place to travel solo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally-ann61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the devonshire arms for one night, and purchased the "Evening with Adam" deal online for dinner, bed and breakfast. On arrival we were shown around the hotel and then to our room "Park Top". This was an upgrade from the room allocated online so we were really pleased. We went over to the spa in the afternoon and enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. The spa is small so with more than 5 people there it seems crowded and there are only 4 loungers around the pool. We decided to upgrade to the tasting menu, and had the wine flight as well. This added quite a lot to our bill but we felt it was worth it! The food was lovely, well presented and the service was brilliant. Some courses were a little rich but still enjoyable. We felt that the special offer was great value for money! You need to be willing to spend if you want to enjoy everything but we felt it was definitely worth it. The bed was very comfy, and we had a view over the garden.We can't wait to come back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauren_bailey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The "Dev'" is a really great Country House hotel by any definition. From the log fire in the hallway (not always lit nowadays to conserve natural resources!), the reception table, the plentiful and willing/friendly staff, the very comfortable bedrooms, the beautiful grounds and Yorkshire fells that surround the place, the occasional helicopter that brings guests for lunch or an overnight stay, through to the fact that it is so very closely linked to the Wharfedale valley as well as the Chatsworth estate, both owned by the Duke of Devonshire, all make you think that you are staying with friends, very wealthy friends, but friends who want you to enjoy their home and environment.
All are welcome at the Dev (I refuse to use that name anymore - it is demeaning) including guests' dogs who are made very welcome by the provision made for them in your room - at a £10 per night extra charge. If you do not like dogs (they are not allowed in the two restaurants and the Spa) then don't go, although the house dogs have disappeared from the scene as a guest complained because of an "accident" - more's the pity.
The standard of the various rooms is very high, toweled robes, luxury bathroom provisions, satellite TV, bed linen, although I would not describe it as luxurious - I am sure some people would!

My wife and I have been going to the Devonshire Arms for 11 years now - how I discovered it for our 25th Wedding Anniversary I cannot remember - and my son has promised me a helicopter trip from Solihull to the Dev if I live till my 70th Birthday. However, I hope to go there quite a number of times before then!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Fells is recommended but the suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
18.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
10.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing