We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place, lovely food!”

Strid Wood Tea Rooms
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: English tea room serving breakfasts, lunches, teas, coffees and homemade cakes.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After a long walk around strid woods and the surrounding area we descended on the tea rooms at Strid wood.
Friendly staff, and fantastic bacon and egg sandwiches with lovely thick bacon and thick cut granary bread, followed by a thick slab of cake and pot of tea.
All was lovely, filling and tasty.
All cakes looked good, home made and tasty.
Well worth a visit and more homely than the "Pavillions" tea room down the road, although that also offers good food.

A pleasant surprise was to discover that if you were just visiting the tea rooms in a car and using the car park but not walking, then you got 1 hours free car parking . Other Bolton Abbey car parks charge.
Bonus if not walking.

We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at Strid Wood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated.

We're particularly pleased you enjoyed our substantial bacon & egg sandwich as well as a thick slab of our cake - we always try to be as generous as possible!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Steve

Joint Owner
Strid Wood Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visit the Strid Wood Tea Rooms about twice a week, after walking my dogs round Bolton Abbey Estate. The team are very friendly - and always have a little chat.
They've worked hard over the last year, to make the tea room cosy and welcoming. The menu is extensive, the coffee is the best in the area - and the home made cakes are always fresh and tasty.
There's a great choice of reasonably priced gifts - with everything just that bit different to what you see on the High Street.
All the photos I've attached were taken within a stone's throw of the tea room in the last 6 months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at Strid Wood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated.

Our regular customers such as yourself are very important to us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Steve

Joint Owner
Strid Wood Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A lovely break from walking around Bolton Abbey. Tasty food, nice tea served in lovely crockery. Definitely recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at Strid Wood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Steve

Joint Owner
Strid Wood Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I took our two young sons here following some good word of mouth. The free hour's parking is a bonus and we had a lovely stroll through the wood before tucking into some delicious homemade cake and coffee. The cafe is bright with a great atmosphere and the boys were given colouring sheets - so we all had a great time and have been back a few times since. Service is friendly and well-pitched.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SimonJWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at Strid Wood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated.

Glad you and your family had such a good time.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Steve

Joint Owner
Strid Wood Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I would like to thank the staff of this idyllic tea room in the most outstanding country side setting i have seen in a long time. The attention and hospitality that we were shown while visiting was second to none. The speed and quality of food is that of a Parisian style cafe.
I completely disagree with the last review based on my own visit. If you want quality sometimes it can take just a little longer.

Thank you all again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Owner at Strid Wood Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Steve

Joint Owner
Strid Wood Tea Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strid Wood Tea Rooms also viewed

Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Strid Wood Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing