We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crab & Lobster Inn
Nearby Hotels
Seaview Hotel(Seaview)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
The Wight(Sandown)
US$101
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
82
62
51
45
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
62
51
45
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightfresh lobstersouth coastmixed grillcobb saladlovely publovely mealreal alecoastal pathisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having heard that it is in the Good Pub Guide, we went just for dinner. It is a bit difficult to find but once there: the position is brilliant, overlooking the sea; the service was friendly and attentive; and the food was wonderful. We went for the seafood platter for two, and it did NOT disappoint! It was nicely cooked and beautifully presented. We left well satisfied. Thank you.

Room Tip: Not applicable because we did not stay there.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here September 2013, and it was absolutely lovely. We had originally planned to stay in a hotel on the other side of the island, however it was awful and therefore randomly picked The Crab & Lobster. So glad we opted for it as it did not let us down. Rooms were great, we stayed in the Little Forelands. Breakfast was included in the price and was also really, really nice. Along with the pub food too! Great location, I would highly recommend! I wouldn't stay anywhere else... We will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. See you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The disaster was that it was a bank holiday weekend and they had a major problem with the gas supply in the middle of Sunday Lunch. The staff and management seemed calm and were doing their very best to keep the service going through what must have been a nightmare for them, the food we had was great ,service great ,and reasonable price. Well Done everyone involved including the gas technician.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brackmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your understanding and yes unexpectedly situations can arise which are out of our control but our main focus is always our customers. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having read about this pub in several Isle of Wight guides on previous day trips it was on our must do list when we came over for a weeks holiday. Having phoned to book a table and room the person who answered the phone booked the table but claimed not to be able to book a ro as he was bar staff, we were asked to call back!

We arrived at the booked time 7.30 to see a board outside advertising a special of Lobster and champagne, lobster options were also on the specials board. We chose this restaurant as my wife specifically wanted a lobster, but upon going to the bar to order a seafood platter for one featuring half a lobster we were told that there were no lobsters. Surprisingly the polite lady who showed us to our table had not mentioned this, and the adverts still remained on the specials board and outside!

As we had already purchased drinks we decided to ask for a compromise of the seafood platter reduced in price by the cost of the lobster, despite raising this with the less than customer focused landlady she refused as this breached company policy, she did however offer to "bulk" up the platter with other food but for the full price. An interesting twist from a sea food restaurant - clearly the lobster being the most expensive part of the platter.

We were not the only people to be dealt with in such an officious manner, the heavily pregnant woman on the table next to us was being treated in a similarly unpleasant way, I only hope they also take the time to comment on this forum.

This whole issue could have been so easily stopped/resolved at many points
1- when booking the table ask if the customer would like to eat lobster and ask for a deposit to ensure one is kept for you
2- to have been told upon arrival that Lobster was sold out
3- to alter the signage to say lobster was sold out
4- to show good customer service and permit some changes to the menu where item are unavailable, I accept the policy for the company may need to not allow substitutions at the customers whim, but if out of an essential ingredient it would be good service to try to accommodate reasonable requests.
5- remember in a service industry even if you feel the customer is being harsh he pays your wages.

Despite receiving the drinks free of charge at my request, not offered (card statement yet to be checked) we left, and found a restaurant with much better service in Ryde, see my other review.

I have no idea how this pub has won its awards , but would not visit this pub again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBatBBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Believe your recollection of events is somewhat misleading. The staff at the Crab and Lobster are completely customer focused and every sympathy/apology was given at the point of sale because we had sold out of lobster a few minutes before, whilst you were in the queue at the food till.

We are as you know a very popular, busy, seafood pub restaurant and occasionally do sell out of items on our menu. However, we do not tolerate how you behaved that evening towards members of our staff and think your description of you being harsh, an understatement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have eaten here on many occassions , love the walk from St Helens to Whitecliff Bay and call at crab & lobster on the way for lunch. Unfortuanetly this year the sandwiches were left lacking of filling , had tuna mayo and cucumber but mainly cucumber hardly any tuna at all should have mentioned at the time but dont like to complain. Like i have said have eaten here before and never been dissappointed will try again in July when we visit with family hopefully it will be back to usual high standards

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is our policy to table check once your food has been delivered to ensure satisfaction and I am guessing this was not carried out. We apologise for this. When you come back in July please make yourselves known to us as we were unaware of your dissatifaction at the time and of course value your repeat custom. We will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews