We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Xoron Floatel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xoron Floatel
Ranked #4 of 10 Bembridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

just returned from 4 night mid week break on Xoron,has to be one of the best short holidays we have had in years.
when we were looking for somewhere to stay we didn't want a normal B&B or hotel as we have done them before and there all the same.
We wanted something different that we would remember and that's what we got staying here, the boat has great history and original character, the cabins were clean and very comfortable and what a way to fall to sleep to listening the sound of the sea outside.
in the mornings the breakfasts were great too.
the views from the lounge are amazing (very jealous)
Paul and Wendy were great hosts and very informative.
staying on Xoron made our simple break into a Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it was so nice to meet you both, I miss your sense of humour, ( very dry ) your comments about our Isle of Wight zoo had me in stitches,
we Both hope you come back soon as you said you would, next time bring your motor bike you never stopped talking about, I would love to see it, and yes your right it would fit on our roads much better than the Tank you turned up in.
Many thanks
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not really into leaving reviews, especially negative ones, but if a few more people did it may have prevented us making the mistake of staying here, enough to say that we had booked for 3 nights but "bailed" out after the 1st, tired accomodation, damp smelling, cold, stained ceilings, uneven floors, health and safety risks, the worst breakfast EVER
I cannot understand the other reviews, ussually tripadvisers get it right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Well Phil,
Not the best comments we have had, What a pity you never said anything to us about your disappointment,
Had you mentioned your disappointment on arrival, we would have made no charge what so ever, you told us after breakfast your wife was unwell, and would prefer a large hotel rather than a boat,
I'm not even going to comment on your views on décor, but to say the boat is cold most ask us to turn heating down, uneven floors yes it a BOAT, all the other guests on with you raved about Wendy's breakfast, as do most,
your review was upsetting but we will get over it, Many thanks Anyway
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at xoron and what a lovely time we had.Forget all the sterile boring guest houses and go for something with character ,history and fun.Wendy and paul are great hosts,friendly and informative.If we come back to the isle of wight there is for us only one place to stay, xoron float hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andyfrank13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
you were very quick to write those words you only left yesterday, but again thank you for saying such nice things about us both, we do appreciate every review we get, especially if they are as nice as yours, we hope you come back to the Island soon.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely stay in this comfortable B & B - particularly loved spending time in the lounge watching the activity on the water - very relaxing and great, friendly hospitality from Wendy and Paul. If you fancy a 'quirky' b & b give this a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShirleyRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, the activity in the harbour you refer to in your review, fascinates me for hours on end, I could sit and watch the boats, and ships all day long,
But Wendy won't let me, she says I have to help her all the time, its just not fair, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. please tell everyone you talk to, its good for business.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I grew up on the IOW but now live in Perth, Western Australia & as always when in the UK had to re-visit the island. I found the Xoron by 'surfing the net' & am so happy that we chose to stay here early in August this year. We thoroughly enjoyed everything the Xoron had to offer, not the least of which was the wonderfully warm hospitality of the owners, Wendy & Paul. We were welcomed as if we were part of the family. The breakfasts were really good fare & also a time to socialise with the other 'crew' members. The museum on the lower deck was fascinating - I often felt as though there was someone actually standing there watching me! We would have no hesitation in coming back next time we visit the UK, or indeed recommending our friends. Carole & Ian Wilson

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you Carol & Ian,
its taken a while to respond to your kind words, it was very nice to meet you both, and your tales of growing up on the Island. it was our pleasure to look after you both.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We found this place on the Isle of Wight website, and fancied something a little different to the norm. Both the Mrs & me had a very enjoyable stay on the Xoron. Although being very quirky, it was loads of fun and I spent most of the 4 days ducking being a 6ft 5in tall bloke. Every morning we was served up a lovely plate of 'full english' by Wendy which set us up for the day ahead.
Both Paul (Wendy?) and Wendy were fantastic hosts, full of info about the island and plenty of banter to go with it. We even managed to watch England qualify for the world cup in the guest lounge.
If we was to visit the island again, we would most definitely consider staying at the Xoron Floatel again. Cheers Paul n Wendy!

Alan n Kelleigh

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I am so sorry to take so long to reply to your review, I was locked out of my management console,
However back in now so all is well, Thank for your very kind words, we try out best at all times, but you will no doubt agree Wendy tries harder than myself, but i am with her in the back ground.
she does front of house so much better than Me, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed back in May this year, absolutely loved it yet again, not disappointed at all, lovely and comfortable room, nice breakfasts and the owners Wendy and Paul are a lovely and friendly couple, we will be back soon definitely, and cant wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebbyandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Martin & Debby
Thank you for another lovely review, it was nice to see you both again, look forward to your next visit as my VHF radio is playing up again, and was over the moon when Martin sorted it out for me on your last visit, its nice to have friends like you that are Radio Hams, that know what they are doing,
Once again Many Thanks
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
2.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbourside View
Harbourside View
#1 of 10 in Bembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot Boat Inn
Pilot Boat Inn
#3 of 10 in Bembridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mulberry Cottage
Mulberry Cottage
#2 of 10 in Bembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xoron Floatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xoron Floatel

Property: Xoron Floatel
Address: Embankment Road, Bembridge PO35 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bembridge
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent B&B on a Floating guesthouse in Bembridge Harbour, we have spectacular veiws over the harbour and the solent shipping lanes, with many walks and cycle ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xoron Floatel Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing