We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Boat Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pilot Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Bembridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Piedimonte Etneo, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Food is fresh and you get generous portion sizes. Staff is perfect, they are very welcoming as you step in, very efficient and quick. There were no seats available outside, but inside is cosy and decently sized.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GioSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    39
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

A party of 8 including two youngens and a teenager. Maria made us very welcomed and her service through out very good. The food is excellent. Personally I had the fish and chips. Being Sunday there were no whole fish but when I enquired George the landlord said it was due to freshness. He can't get fish on a Sunday. That made me happy. The tables were clean and toilets also. We didn't stay here so I can't comment on rooms. Overall a fantastic time was had by everyone and clean plates seen even though the portions were good sizes.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ekoocizus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We received a warm welcome and friendly, excellent service throughout our (one night) stay. The room was nice and fairly clean (though there was a pube in the shower). The evening meal was ok but not fantastic. The full English breakfast was top drawer. All in all, a decent place to stay... You'd need a very good reason to stay in Bembridge, though: it's got absolutely nothing going for it! Just a harbour and a few pointless shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bickalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodsworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently went for a long lunch at the Pilot Boat Inn following a recommendation from a friend. I had a crab ramekin followed by fish and chips and it was all delicious - fresh and local fish and great portion sizes!

The staff were amazing - so friendly and funny. I also loved the new wood burner which looked great at the end of the pub. George also gave me a tour of the rooms and I would really recommend staying here - they were clean, tasteful and much quieter than you would expect.

The atmosphere in the pub was great - I was here on a busy lunchtime and so there was a real buzz and the staff seemed to work really well together and have clearly been trained well.

Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I am an islander who brought visiting family to eat here back in January, we were very pleased with with food and service but since returning to the pub this week with work colleagues it's a shame to say we were all very disappointed and feel the quality of food has really gone down hill. A huge shame for the once so lovely place to sit and eat. I'm not aware of new management so I don't understand the sudden poor quality of food. Service wasn't as bad but still gone down hill since the beginning of the year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy123a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Owner at Pilot Boat Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Really strange review! I've been here all week and we have not as far as I'm aware had any work groups in!! W e have however had a record week, over 30% up on same week year before. I imagine this is a review from a competitor jealous of our success, we get a lot of this, sad really but when you are at the top of your game a lot of people try to knock you.
Nevertheless if this is a genuine review please contact me direct and tell me specifics of your complaint and of course I will address!! Funny thing is we have been having rave reviews particularly for our food, over 600 meals served this week, we must be doing something right!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A group of us ate here recently and it was to be honest a bit under whelming , we all felt the restaurant area was really cramped, all the tables feel on top of each other, not enough room to even walk round them and feel too close to the tables next to you. We all thought the menu was ok not a great deal of choice and had no specials on either apart from the soup and 1 starter, the chilli con carne wasn't served with any rice or sour cream etc just a few nachos and unfortunately the haddock was really greasy and oily which was a shame, just thought for the prices you pay here we were a bit disappointed, shame really as there is a good atmosphere in the bar etc ..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimandSarah8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Owner at Pilot Boat Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bit unfair, yes it is a bit cramped at times, but that is because we are so popular!! And we are so popular because we are so good!! Food wise, we are a pub, and the food is all home made, fresh and local, and priced accordingly! We serve big portions, all ancillaries (chips, veg,sauces) all come within the price, we do not unlike other places charge extra for the extras, we do not charge service (unlike others) and our drinks prices are the lowest in bembridge!! (possibly the island). That is why we are so popular! But as always, all points taken on board!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst cycling round the island. There is an outbuilding where bikes can be locked up securely overnight. They also hire out electric bikes which, if we didn't already have a reasonable distance to ride under our own steam, I would have loved to try out.

Friendly welcome from George and his team

Rooms are modern and nicely decorated. Despite my room overlooking the road, I had a quiet and good night's sleep.

The bar served a number of real ales - squirrel is excellent! The bar meals were delicious. A lovely full English breakfast got us off to a good start the next morning.

It had started to rain when we arrived at the inn so we didn't get an opportunity to look around and see what was local to the Pilot Boat. However it is next to the river and is on the route of both the round the island cycle ride and coastal path.

Lovely place to stay.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
2.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
12.0 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbourside View
Harbourside View
#1 of 11 in Bembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Boat Inn

Property: Pilot Boat Inn
Address: Station Road, Bembridge PO35 5NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilot Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boat-shaped pub located on Bembridge harbour with 5 all new ensuite cabins (in 2012), all beautifully appointed, above pub which was completely refurbished in 2011 and serving all fresh, made in house pub food, including homemade burgers, fish pie, local crab salad and fresh off the boat fish. Also sofas, roaring fire, piano, beer, three outside terraces and attractive friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Pilot Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Boat Inn Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing