We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, comfortable and well situated base for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lane End Cottage

Lane End Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lane End Cottage
Living Room Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lane End Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Landing
Living Room
Bedroom
Beach
View from Lifeboat Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bembridge, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurieand...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, comfortable and well situated base for visiting the island.”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Enjoyed evening strolls to watch the sunset on Bembridge beach just down the road. Bembridge village a lovely walk down the lanes with all the shops you need, fish monger, fresh farm produce and even a Boots (handy, if like us you have a young baby). There is also a co-op only 2 mins walk from the cottage and open late. Had a superb seafood platter at the Best Dressed Crab Seafood Cafe built over the water in the Harbour. Cottage rooms all spacious comfortable and clean. Skylight in one of the double bedrooms perfect for watching electric storms! Good sized kitchen with large dining table. Great showers and constant hot water. All very easy and relaxing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I spent two weeks holiday this September in Lane End Cottage and we all felt at home as soon as we arrived. My friends and family (ranging from ages 3-70years) all agreed it was perfect for our needs.

The bedrooms are large, clean and comfortable and there is adequate room in the living areas. We found the TV problematic and the cooker, but have been assured these problems will be addressed. The bathrooms are fitted to a high standard and the garden is an added bonus. You can walk from the cottage to a local shop and to the beach. My granddaughter enjoyed collected shells and stones, playing in the rockpools and on the sand. The lifeboat station is of interest and the beach secluded and not well known. We made good use of the beach hut which is well equipped with plenty of chairs, and we enjoyed the cafe nearby.

It was a pleasure to deal with Peter the owner and Kim the agent. They made the booking and enquirer process so quick and easy. All in all a perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1PGK
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I rented Lane End Cottage for a week away with my two grown up children and my Mother. We all agreed the cottage was very good for our needs. There are four double sized bedrooms. One has three single beds. The other three all have double beds. The downstairs bedroom is next door to a big wet room, perfect for those that have mobility difficulties.
The lounge has three reasonable sized sofas so there is plenty of space to relax. The kitchen / diner was big enough and had pretty much everything that you are going to need. The gas cooker was temperamental and needs some attention. There is a second bathroom upstairs with bath and a very good shower.
Outside the garden is pleasant if you get decent weather. There is plenty of space to park your car at the from of the property.
Bembridge is a lovely village and a great base for your stay on the IOW.
We rented the beach hut which is ok, and spent an afternoon with a picnic but didn't really get the weather to enjoy it as much as we would have liked.
For anyone interested in running, the coastal path (not always that coastal!), can be picked up near the cottage.
Communication with Peter, the owner, was excellent and also with Kim, the agent, who welcomed us on our arrival.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a wonderful holiday, lovely cottage, had everything we needed. We had a minibus and there was plenty of room to park. Nice big table and chairs in the garden and a barbeque which were made use of. Spacious cottage with plenty of storage, we also hired the beach hut which meant we could leave all the beach stuff down there which was very handy as we spent so much time down there, sometimes until about 7.30pm. The beach which is only a short walk away was lovely and spent many hours crabbing and rock pooling. There is a co op just across the road which had a small bakery and a cash machine. Can't think of anything else we would have needed and would definitely come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing