We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Bembridge Lifeboat Station
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bembridge RNLI Lifeboat Station which is situated at the eastern end of the Isle of Wight. Visitors Guide always around during opening hours.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very interesting ,especially the size of the rescue boat.
generally closes at 1600 hours so check first before visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor2012-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit - we much appreciate it and are delighted that found the experience so interesting and rewarding. Opening times of the Offshore Boathouse and our RNLI Shop are on our local website (this time of year they are 11am to 4pm). And if you are around Bembridge at 7pm on a Tuesday evening do check the website to see if we are launching for training - its well worth coming along to watch.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    65
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the station on Saturday 26th to find it was in the harbour. So we went and was able to go on board! Very interesting and kids were fascinated. Crew were great hosts! Thank you! Was told to come back to the station on Tuesday evening to watch the training launch which we did. Thanks again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visits - we much appreciate it and are delighted that found the experiences so interesting and rewarding. Great that you managed to track the Alfred Albert Williams down last Saturday and therefore were able to actually see round her when she was in the harbour as part of the Harbour Family Fun Weekend. Similarly that you were able to watch her launch for training last Tuesday evening.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exciting and interesting visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited on Sunday July 20th in the afternoon to fins that the lifeboat was "on a shout" so my son and I decided to wait for its return.

The boathouse is very impressive with a lot of information to take in so our hours wait passed very quickly. A bonus was the enthusiasm and knowledge of Rod, the volunteer who chatted with us about various aspects of the house and boat itself.

It was also a once in a lifetime experience to see the lifeboat return and the procedures undertaken to bring it out of the water, clean it down and then winch it back into position. Would recommend a visit to anyone.

We really enjoyed it and made sure we made a donation and bought a lifeboat for my son from the shop. The guys who run the station and crew the boat are volunteers so they need public support for doing such an admirable job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilAEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive report on your recent visit to the Bembridge Lifeboat Station. I will ensure that Rod sees a copy - I know he will appreciate your comments. Hopefully you got some pictures of the Alfred Albert Williams being recovered, but if not then have a look at our local website and there are a number of video clips in the media gallery that show her launching & recovering. We look forward to seeing you again if/when you are next in Bembridge. Thank you again.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A worthwhile visit. The station is visited by going out on a long pier, with views of Bembridge and the coast as you go. Inside there are lots of interesting details of the RNLI nationally and locally. The lifeboat itself is impressive and beautifully maintained. The volunteers on duty will fill in any detail you need and are friendly and well informed. The shop is small but quite well stocked with good quality (and pocket money) items.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrB876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit - we much appreciate it and are delighted that found the experience so interesting and rewarding. Our volunteers are a very dedicated group and I know that our coxswain will be delighted with your comments on our all weather lifeboat, the Alfred Albert Williams. Thanks.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

On the spur of the moment I checked the website last night and realised that both boats were due to launch at 7pm. We raced across to Bembridge and had such a lovely unexpected evening. Crowds had gathered for the lifeboat launch which we all all agreed was quite emotive! I've seen little lifeboats like old trawlers launching before but this was quite spectacular. The boat itself isquite magnificent and we were in awe of the RNLI guys who hold on to the rail and barely flinch as they rocket down to the sea. Not something I could do!
After the launch most people left, but we stuck around to explore the lifeboat station. So,so glad we did as once the crowds had dispersed the volunteers let my kids dress up as mini lifeboat men, complete with RNLI helmets. They absolutely loved it and it was so unexpected.
We left the lifeboat station but as it was nearing sunset we stuck around taking photos etc, all the crowds had gone and along came a tractor to launch the little dingy style boat. It was well worth a visit, it was a great atmosphere and really interesting for all of us. Thank you to the volunteers who really got my girls involved. A fab evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sponges09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit. We are delighted that you made it in time to watch a training launch and found the whole experience so worthwhile. Also that your children enjoyed dressing up as "mini-lifeboat crew". We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Don't forget that you can keep an eye on what we are doing by having a look at our local website.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bembridge Lifeboat Station also viewed

 
Newport, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Bembridge Lifeboat Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing