We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Bembridge Lifeboat Station
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bembridge RNLI Lifeboat Station which is situated at the eastern end of the Isle of Wight. Visitors Guide always around during opening hours.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Tis is a great Lifeboat station to visit. Its really good that you can get so close to the lifeboat and read about how they do their work. The is also a box of dressing up clothes that kids will love.
There is also a RNLI gift shop which is always a hit with the kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geomedic2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Many thanks for visiting us and for taking the time to write such a positive report. I know that our crew, volunteer guides and volunteers who look after the shop much appreciate it. Our dressing up kit for the children is indeed great fun and the i-pad Beach Smart app and Beach Safety display that we now have are proving very popular.

Kind Regards - Mike (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    68
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

An excellent video was on a loop system, showing the launch, and a very experience steward welcomed us, answered questions and enthusiastically helped children into lifeboat uniforms for photographs. As we hadn't expected to find the station open, it was an unexpected pleasure to be there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit - we much appreciate it and are delighted that you found the experience so interesting and rewarding. Delighted you enjoyed the video.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great to get up close and see a life boat so close and the staff were on hand to answer all our 5 year olds questions ... nice views from pier and lovely cafe at side of pier. If you visit here make sure you have your crab lines as we caught loads off a concrete pier at side of life boat station and we saw a lobster too!!

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit - we much appreciate it and are delighted that you found the experience so interesting and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very interesting ,especially the size of the rescue boat.
generally closes at 1600 hours so check first before visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor2012-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visit - we much appreciate it and are delighted that found the experience so interesting and rewarding. Opening times of the Offshore Boathouse and our RNLI Shop are on our local website (this time of year they are 11am to 4pm). And if you are around Bembridge at 7pm on a Tuesday evening do check the website to see if we are launching for training - its well worth coming along to watch.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the station on Saturday 26th to find it was in the harbour. So we went and was able to go on board! Very interesting and kids were fascinated. Crew were great hosts! Thank you! Was told to come back to the station on Tuesday evening to watch the training launch which we did. Thanks again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge-RNLI, Manager at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive report on your recent visits - we much appreciate it and are delighted that found the experiences so interesting and rewarding. Great that you managed to track the Alfred Albert Williams down last Saturday and therefore were able to actually see round her when she was in the harbour as part of the Harbour Family Fun Weekend. Similarly that you were able to watch her launch for training last Tuesday evening.

Mike Samuelson (Lifeboat Operations Manager, Bembridge RNLI)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bembridge Lifeboat Station also viewed

 
Newport, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Bembridge Lifeboat Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing