We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canvas Cottage ! Fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a canvas cottage over the bank holiday ! They are amazing, all the comforts of home with the freedom of camping. They are very clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. Te toilet and shower facilities are great, again always clean and warm. All the staff we encounted were good, the pool life guards very attentive and friendly. Would recommend this site for camping or glamping on the lovely IOW ! Free breakfast pack a nice surprise ! Bacon, sausage, eggs, milk, butter and bread ! Lovely! We will be back in the summer

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It seems you enjoyed the Canvas Cottage and all that the park had to offer Rebecca & I'm pleased that we were able to surprise you with the breakfast pack which personally I think is a nice touch. As always, happy to read you are all coming back again in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

got there early morning wasn't impressed at all , the lower part of the pitches seemed close together and cramped !! the higher up the field you went they seemed to space out ,but then the pitches were very uneven ,but on the other hand the views were really nice :) spoke to a woman called Kelly to start who wasn't very helpful , ( but then a tall lady sorry don't know her name ) she was really nice and sorted out our pitch early , the entertainment was ok dont expect to much but the entertainment manager Sarah can sing but the same songs were repeated 2 nights later saying that it we've looked around the island and it seems the nicest place to stay !! great views over looking the airport and the beach yes it is a very steep path down but its a nice place when you get down there. One improvement i would make is to level the pitches out at the top end of the field with a small digger

Room Tip: Pitch on A field as high as you can because the views are stunning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

I'm really sorry that you found Kerry to be unhelpful (as this is certainly out of character for her) but was glad to learn that another staff member was able to help you by allocating you your pitch earlier than advertised. Entertainment is really down to personal choice but I'm sure Sarah will be pleased that you've complimented her voice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

had a great stay.
clean and tidy.
all staff were very friendly.
right on the beach.
would b good to have a car so u can see all the great places around.
lovely country sides as well as the beaches.
we booked this as a sun holiday was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

And that's the whole point of our newspaper promotions John! Our Economy accommodation has taken a bashing on TripAdvisor and I do feel this has been unfair as we literally have thousands of guests staying in this grade who've been really pleased with that as well as every other aspect of their holiday, so thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked with Whitecliff bay as there was a very good deal on one of the glamping sites. We wanted to cycle round the IoW so we didn't want to bother with putting up a tent etc. - the bell tent totally exceeded expectations and was roomy (very roomy for 2 people, comfortable for 4 I'd guess), with nice beds and a little kitchen unit, sofa, and TV. Staff were incredibly helpful and kind (we arrived very very late on check-in day after a puncture in the dark). Other facilities (toilets, showers, washing areas) weren't too glamorous but they did the job and were regularly cleaned. Nice to have an area with free wifi, and we were very surprised to see that paving stones were being dug into the muddy ground after it rained the day before! Loved the stay here.

Room Tip: If you can't be bothered to set up your own tent, the bell tent is incredible! One of the few ti...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

I really love the expression "You exceeded our expectations" so thanks for that Jacob as well as for all of the other positives you have mentioned. Our Bell tents are becoming more & more popular with people who want to cycle around the Island & they really are the ideal solution if you don't want to bother putting a tent up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Well have stayed there a few times now. The staff are great.we had some campers pitch next to us well the music started the drinking and swearing went on for about 4/5 hours into early hours of morning no security guards came round these people were so loud I had to complain in the morning thankful they were told to leave.The toilets need cleaning more and others need to respect the toilets they
mess up the toilets (no need) animals.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank shane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I'm so sorry that the selfishness of a few others spoilt your holiday Shane but our Welcome pack does hold the telephone number for Security. If you had called them when the noise first began (though obviously I'm sorry if this was necessary) the noise would have been dealt with straight away. Experience has taught us that our guests don't particularly like to see our Security teams patrolling the park as it feels a little heavy handed however they are always there on duty 24 hours a day should they be needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a super 5 night break at Whitecliff Bay, I have been a few times before times before
and although I know that the value chalets are a little bit dated it all adds to the charm of the place. Although tired they are always clean, adequately equipped and the beds are really comfy
I think the chalets are slowly being replaced by smart caravans but I for one will miss them.
It is a great place for families I was amused to hear a little boy tell his Dad that he was actually allowed to play on the grass!
It is in a fantastic location and the facilities are great, I liked the new look beach theme Culver Club too
I am always impressed with the amount of work quietly going on around the place and the area is always kept tidy

Room Tip: Try to get accommodation up the hill a bit to take advantage of the views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

What a lovely review Elizabeth and thanks for noticing the little things that the majority of our guests miss! I am a fan of playing on the grass with my kids too so I very much liked the story you told! Glad you liked the new look Culver Club & thanks for your room tip which hopefully others will find helpful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at this park a few times before and always found it quite nice. Now we recently went on a "Sun" holiday so expectations aren't set too high here!!

The booking and few times we called to add extras are excellent as always.

Upon arrival at our accommodation we were greeted with a delightful damp smell, faded furniture and a multi tonal carpet (we never did work out what colour it actually was!)

The pillows were only a little thicker than the paper in my printer at home and the heating consisted of 1 wall mounted electric heater.

NO shower in the bathroom, peeved but thought never mind we will just have a bath.... AHH apart from the fact that the boiler would fill the bath with about 6 inches of water and then go cold.

You could tell from certain aspects of the Chalet that they had made an attempt to "polish the turd" however they are still some way from reaching the standard of finished!

Then there is the parking issue. You have to park outside your accommodation which is great if its not been raining as the entrance and exit quickly turned into a mud bath. We have a 4X4 so not an issue but we did find amusement in watching people churn up the ground on a daily basis.

The Beer is over priced in the bars the Nab Bar now closes at 10pm and is the only place on the complex with WIFI (free or other wise).

Entertainment ok (the guide we were given upon arrival was not correct and we missed somethings and watched other things we didnt really want to!) Didnt bother with the pool either.

An ok trip for a Sun holiday but cant see us rushing to book there again!

OHHH and the Jabba the Hut manager that wondered around talking the staff like dirt needs 2 things in his life! A management course and a diet!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I always find it disappointing Adam when reviewers choose to express their views regarding team members in such a way and I apologise that you found it necessary to do so.
As you have stayed at this park a few times before, I'm sure you are aware that our Economy chalets are exactly that - Economy - and this is the reason why we are able to offer them at such a low price for our Newspaper promotions. If you had a problem with your pillows, our Housekeeping team would have gladly supplied you with extra ones however you will not get a shower in this type of accommodation. We also give our guests the opportunity to upgrade prior to their holiday as well as supplying a car park where you could have parked your car if you didn't want to leave it on the grass. I have to say that our bar prices are in keeping with other Bars in the area and the Nab Bar does closes early subject to demand. I'm sorry you missed some of our entertainment due to an error with times that were printed incorrectly & that you witnessed a member of staff being rude to other team members therefore I will now ensure that the General Manager discusses these issues with all of his teams so that they do not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
2.7 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
4.7 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
309 reviews
13.9 mi away
Grange Farm
Grange Farm
#1 of 4 in Brighstone
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Address: Hillway Road, Bembridge PO35 5PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bembridge
Price Range: £7 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe this wonderful holiday park offers something for everyone to enjoy, young and old, couples, groups and families - you’ll find this friendly park offers stunning views and great facilities in abundance. A place where happy holiday memories are made. It’s cracking!Great Facilities◦Secluded sandy beach with cafe◦Indoor heated pool with flume, bubble pool and toddler pool◦Outdoor heated pool with sun terrace and toddler pool (open late May to end of August)◦Sauna and Sunbed - a small extra charge◦Great family entertainment including stage shows and cabarets in The Culver Club.◦Sports lounge with large TV◦The Nab Bar and Restaurant offers a great choice of food served all day◦Indoor soft playground for younger guests◦Childrens’ outdoor adventure playgrounds◦Fun mini golf◦Free Wi-fi in The Nab Bar◦Park supermarket storeCoast & CountryThe location of the park offers the perfect balance between coast and country holidays, with rolling countryside and woodland on one side and a beautiful sandy beach virtually all to ourselves on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park Hotel Bembridge
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing